We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to return to this magical lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cormoran Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kibuye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cormoran Lodge
Save
You added Cormoran Lodge to your Saves list
BP 08 Kibuye, Kibuye BP 08, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would love to return to this magical lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The lodge itself is furnished and fitted to western standards - huge rooms, large bathrooms, stunning lake views from the balcony.

The lodge is easily accessible by the lake but by road is another story. We found that car taxis refused to pick us up as the road is so bad, so we travelled on motorbike taxis, which was quite a hairy ride! It was a beautiful walk though around the lake, and you can walk all the way to town without a problem if you are reasonably fit.

I often dream of this lodge and would love to return!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent a little over 24hours at the Cormoran Lodge based on the recommendation of a friend. She lived in Rwanda for years and insisted this was her favorite place to relax and now I see why. Their rooms are log cabin style built into the hillside along the banks of Lake Kivu. The pictures posted by other travelers are spot on and maybe don't even capture the complete beauty of the place. There are just 6 or 7 rooms so it doesn't seem likely that the place will be swarming with people. I visited during the week and there were hardly 4 other guests on the hotel grounds with me. I didn't swim in the lake but I did take an hour boat ride around which was lovely and affordable so I'd advise you do that as well. The hotel can call someone trustworthy for you.

The staff are very helpful. I think they speak both French and English. The food and drinks were FABULOUS! I didn't really expect my mojito to taste like a real mojito but it did and the cuba libre was so good I ordered a second. The breakfast is included and is pretty simple. Just fruit, toast, cheese, coffee, tea and juice. I think you can order an omelet for an additional cost.

As for the rooms, the bathroom was fabulous! I took 3 showers in less than 24hours because I enjoyed it so much. The bed is comfortable enough. The pillows are a little lumpy but I was able to sleep well. It comes with complimentary bottled water and instant tea and coffee. There is a flat screen that I turned on out curiosity but didn't watch at all.

The only challenge is the road. Coming from Kigali to Kibuye the roads are well paved. However, about 10mins before the Cormoran the road is unpaved, narrow, hilly and rough! I came in a taxi car and felt awful that he had to maneuver this. You might think you're not going in the right direction because it seems so untraveled but don't fret, that's the right road. Taking a moto is probably pretty scary so finding a 4x4 vehicle to take you that last bit of the way is probably the best idea.

Otherwise, this is a great place if you just need some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are basically the same so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We live in Rwanda and Cormoran lodge is by far our favorite get away from Kigali!
The rooms are spacious and clean with a beautiful view on lake Kivu.
There is a dock for swimming, a small sandy beach for children to play. There is also a possibility to take a boat tour to visit a coffee plantation or the bats island.
The food is good but service can be very slow. Order your dinner in advance if you don't want to wait too much to be served!
You need a 4 wheel ride car to go to Cormoran lodge as the road is pretty bad.
Make reservation for the week-end, there are only 6 rooms and it gets filled up!

Room Tip: if you are a family with children you can get a one story bungalow with a connection with the two fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Sunset over Lake Kivu sitting on the terrace at Cormoran with a Gin Tonic is not the worst you can do in life.

Cormoran Lodge is simply fabulous. The food is great, the scenery, the rooms and the service. However, you have to pay a pretty penny to get all of this. I think its too pricy to get full score, sorry.

However, I recommend Cormoran Lodge and I hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful setting, very quiet & secluded (the road to reach it is very bad though, be prepared!). The rooms are really nicely done, rustic but comfortable & practical with big balconies to make the most of the views, it was beautiful sitting out there at 7am with a cup of coffee. The lake looks fairly clean & most people do swim. It could maybe do with a few more sun beds for relaxing on, as although its s small place (8 rooms) people do come for the day so can get busy. The one area which needs improvement & would get this place 5 stars from me is the food. Firstly it takes forever to come, & then it's a bit hit & miss, my pizza was practically inedible but other people's dishes were good. Breakfast is fairly basic but fine, you can pay extra for eggs, it would be nice if this was included as it usually is in other hotels in Rwanda. Overall a good stay & would definitely go back as its so relaxing!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are working as educational volunteers for a year in Rwanda. We are based in Kamembe that is on the southern tip of Lake Kivu. Kamembe is home but it is neither pretty or romantic.
I decided as a birthday treat to take Mary, my wife, for a birthday treat to Kibuye and to splash out on a little bit of luxury.
The hotel is fantastic. The rooms are first class in my opinion and the views of the lake are to die for. On the downside is the service in the hotel; not exactly unfriendly but just not what I would expect.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whichever place you may have visited before, this is one of the most outstanding lodgings you can find in all Rwanda, uniquely situated at the shore of Lake Kivu where nothing will disturb you. Constructions were made with extremely low impact on natural environment unlike seen with other accommodations in Kibuye. The impressive variety of plants in the huge garden attracts lots of birds that add to the wonderful atmosphere of staying in the wilderness. Rooms are perfectly designed and furnished so that one feels extremely comfortable as from the first moment on. The restaurant is among the best within the region, almost on a par with Moriah Hill Resort and menu offers wide range of dishes inclusive of local ones. As for sports, one can choose among jogging, swimming, snorkelling and canoeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cormoran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormoran Lodge

Address: BP 08 Kibuye, Kibuye BP 08, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Kibuye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kibuye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and peace with quality service at our charming wooden lodge on the shores of beautiful lake kivu in rwanda. all our rooms or cottage offers a beautiful view of the lake kivu. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cormoran Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.