We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cormoran Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kibuye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cormoran Lodge
Save
You added Cormoran Lodge to your Saves list
BP 08 Kibuye, Kibuye BP 08, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful setting, very quiet & secluded (the road to reach it is very bad though, be prepared!). The rooms are really nicely done, rustic but comfortable & practical with big balconies to make the most of the views, it was beautiful sitting out there at 7am with a cup of coffee. The lake looks fairly clean & most people do swim. It could maybe do with a few more sun beds for relaxing on, as although its s small place (8 rooms) people do come for the day so can get busy. The one area which needs improvement & would get this place 5 stars from me is the food. Firstly it takes forever to come, & then it's a bit hit & miss, my pizza was practically inedible but other people's dishes were good. Breakfast is fairly basic but fine, you can pay extra for eggs, it would be nice if this was included as it usually is in other hotels in Rwanda. Overall a good stay & would definitely go back as its so relaxing!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are working as educational volunteers for a year in Rwanda. We are based in Kamembe that is on the southern tip of Lake Kivu. Kamembe is home but it is neither pretty or romantic.
I decided as a birthday treat to take Mary, my wife, for a birthday treat to Kibuye and to splash out on a little bit of luxury.
The hotel is fantastic. The rooms are first class in my opinion and the views of the lake are to die for. On the downside is the service in the hotel; not exactly unfriendly but just not what I would expect.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whichever place you may have visited before, this is one of the most outstanding lodgings you can find in all Rwanda, uniquely situated at the shore of Lake Kivu where nothing will disturb you. Constructions were made with extremely low impact on natural environment unlike seen with other accommodations in Kibuye. The impressive variety of plants in the huge garden attracts lots of birds that add to the wonderful atmosphere of staying in the wilderness. Rooms are perfectly designed and furnished so that one feels extremely comfortable as from the first moment on. The restaurant is among the best within the region, almost on a par with Moriah Hill Resort and menu offers wide range of dishes inclusive of local ones. As for sports, one can choose among jogging, swimming, snorkelling and canoeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in this beautiful place and agree with many of the earlier reviewers: the view is superb, and the rooms are very nice, but the service is not particularly friendly and when it comes to the food it is terribly slow. The food itself is OK but not great. Also, access to the dock to swim in the lake requires a decent sense of balance. Overall, we had a very good time here. Note that there are only 7 rooms so the place is often fully booked it seems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As the majority of people have commented, the location of this hotel is perfect! Individual lodges all overlook Lake Kivu and at first we thought we were about to have a perfect stay!

However, the service was very slow; it is worth noting that there were only 3 couples staying In the hotel so it was not busy! We are well travelled so we appreciate that service is not the same everywhere, but this was slooooow! Unfortunately when the food did arrive, it was poor! Not well presented and not tasty! Even the breakfast we had was very basic; just a basic continental ..... although for the prices paid for the room you would expect some sort of hot food to be offered!

We also had a long drive the next day and had a packed lunch provided. We hardly ate this lunch (our driver/guide also left his)

In summary, the location is perfect but the rest of our stay was definitely lacking the service and food we experienced in the rest of Rwanda.

There are some nice hotels being built in the area ... perhaps the competition may improve the standards here?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I'm trying to compare the five Rwanda hotels I stayed in to one another, not to American or European hotels. Standards are markedly different, and US and European travelers should adjust expectations accordingly.

That said, the Cormoran Lodge is lovely, nestled in the hills alongside Lake Kivu. It is composed of six or so separate, private cabins, each with a sizable balcony and unobstructed water view. All finishings are wood or stone and very clean.

The restaurant offered a wide selection of Contintental standards. Service is incredibly slow, as it was at every place I visited across the whole country. We combatted that pace, and hunger pangs, by calling restaurants about two hours before we arrived, specifying what we wanted, and notifying them when we'd be there. While we still had to wait for food, the waits were nothing like the one to two hour marathons we endured if we didn't call ahead.

Were I to return to Kibuye, I'd make a point of staying at the Cormoran
Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were staying at Bethany centre ans made a boot tour in Kivu lake. We saw this nicely located hotel and decided to go there for dinner. It was not an easy drive because there were not enough signs for the night drive. The food, however, was great and the ambient as well. We were 4 people and ordered pizzas and some fish brochettes and were happy with the food. The Location is really great and looked very tempting. All buildings and rooms done in wood constructions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cormoran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormoran Lodge

Address: BP 08 Kibuye, Kibuye BP 08, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Kibuye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kibuye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and peace with quality service at our charming wooden lodge on the shores of beautiful lake kivu in rwanda. all our rooms or cottage offers a beautiful view of the lake kivu. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cormoran Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.