We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night rest Between Moving House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge to your Saves list
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
41 Gull Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One Night rest Between Moving House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After all the packing we did preparing to move provinces and relocate in Cape Town we really needed a comfy, warm, clean and lovely place to stay. And Sunset Lodge in Bloubergstrand was all this! The linien was crispy white and soft and the smell of lavender was welcoming and calming. The rooms we warm on arrival and we even got to have a super early breakfast before all our work began. The breakfast was Yummy and we really neede it so it was even better :) A longer stay is definitely on the calendar for the future :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room (room 4) it was clean, spacious, cosy and comfortable. the main bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
45
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Sunset Lodge for 4 nights and can really recommend this guesthouse.I was warmly received by John the owner. I stayed in room 2 and it had breathtaking seaside views from the room and from the balcony. The room was very comfortable and cosy. I highly recommend the breakfast served and the attention to detail was much appreciated. I had a wonderful stay and the two ladies that work in the kitchen made a delicious breakfast (generous portions as well) excellent job ladies the service was outstanding from owner to the staff will be going back soon.i must say this from all the bnb i have stayed at the one get five stars

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulbagh, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at the Sunset Lodge in Bloubergstrand, Cape Town for a midweek break and was warmly received by John the owner. I stayed in room 2 and it had breathtaking seaside views from the room and from the balcony. The room was very comfortable and cosy. I highly recommend the breakfast served and the attention to detail was much appreciated. I had a wonderful stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Room 2 with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wonderful service and nice food. The standard set ih high and please do maintain it as it is fantastic. A very lovely place to have some time to relax

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I recently stayed at Sunset Lodge for 4 nights and can really recommend this guesthouse. John and Sylvia were really very helpful and friendly and Sylvia made a delicious breakfast (generous portions as well) even though I had to leave quite early in the morning. The place is neat and well run. It is perfectly located to go for a run and catch some fresh Blouberg-air.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Many thanks for the kind words and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Early breakfasts are all in a day's work and it is essential that business people can get to work properly fed, no matter what the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We as a family stayed @sunset lodge over the Easter weekend. The accommodation and breakfast was excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful. John, the owner, was always providing us with outstanding advice about the weather and area. Everything in the lodge was very tidy and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for these kind words. It is important to us that our guests get the most out of their stay in Cape Town and supplying local knowledge is an essential part of this. However please note that we can't influence the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 5 days at Sunset Lodge. We had such a great time, the breakfast was wow... The staff was so friendly and so was John and Sylvia. Though our room was the smallest and facing the land, I so much enjoyed it. Once you leave the room,the sea view.... Doodles down the road was our best hangout spot. Will surely call back with some friends and my son and recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge

Address: 41 Gull Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge is an upmarket residence located in the quiet seaside village of Bloubergstrand. It has panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and is adjacent to a tranquil green belt. The finishes throughout the Lodge are of an extremely high quality. All bedrooms have large orthopedic mattresses, white cotton percale linen and fitted carpets. All bathrooms are en-suite and fully tiled. The larger rooms have private furnished balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.