We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fillet of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zandbar Restuarant - CLOSED

Zandbar Restuarant
Cnr Porterfield and Beach Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bussum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fillet of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although this looks like a fish restaurant, it makes the best steak and even a better fillet! for such a small price. I've lived in Capetown for 2 months and this was definitely the best restaurant of them all. I ate there for at least half a dozen times.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Catch 22 - Unbelievable...dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Yes, they are falling in the usual Cape Town trap.I thought they had made it, but no...same same old story!
We arrived at about 21:10... Didn't think it was a problem as it is advertised everywhere they closed at 22:00....... Only to be greater at the top of the stairs with " sorry we are closed"..... That's it!!
We scurried across to Primi Piatta and were greated with open arms and had a wonderful meal. What can I say.......won't be plugging Catch22 to all my friends in the future! Seriously disapponted.... Another laxidasical Cape Town restaurant. Change your operating hours to " whenever we want to close"!! Not so misleading!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Keeping up name change - Catch22 gets my vote!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Love Catch22.....and have made it our local fave. We take all our friends there as the atmosphere is good and we have never had a bad meal. The sushi is great - very fresh. The catch of the day - kabeljou (or cob) is divine and beautifully cooked as was the Norwegian salmon. The management is great and very aware of their customers needs, but I do feel the staff may require a bit more training.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chilli crusted calamari - a dish to remember.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Catch22 for an early dinner and had a relaxed enjoyable meal! The mussel starter was good, but the chilli-crusted calamari starter will be remembered for a loong time, for our main course we chose rump steak - very nice. The waiter was very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Changed....now Atlantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Far happier with the new restaurant. Only eaten there once, but the sushi, alt Hugh a small menu, was really fresh and good. We went for a quick dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. Someone needs to update this restaurant to the new name.........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zandbar Restuarant also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zandbar Restuarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.