We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sir David Boutique Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sir David Boutique Guest House to your Saves list
The Sir David Boutique Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Popham Rd | Small Bay, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was looking forward to my stay as my parents had recommended The Sir David after their visit and it exceeded my expectations.

Claire was most helpful in various e-mail communications even before my trip and the good service was consistent throughout my stay.

Such a great location and amazing views, rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Even though the guesthouse was at full capacity it was so quiet and peaceful and I had such a relaxing week.

Have recommended to all my friends. Thanks Claire.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Ah! Thank you so much for your positive review. Much appreciated.
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Our main focus is always our guests best experience...
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
29
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in room 1 with a sea view . Lovely guest house with excellent helpful staff , nothing was too much trouble for them . This guest house is spotless with a good breakfast and a well stocked honesty bar. The level of furnishings and detail is excellent . Downhill 100 yards and you are on the beach. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Would you mind sharing with us why you gave only 3 stars for location?
This would be helpful.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived a little early and we were met by George, fantastic welcome, we were shown around the hotel and its amenities, George went to make coffee for us whilst we admired the view sitting in the lounge..stunning is all we can say..

Beautiful hotel, attention to detail, nothing too much trouble we were watching the Sharks game on the large television and the receptionist brought us nibbles very thoughtful...and they won too!

Very professional set up, staff really helpful and go the extra mile.

Well worth a visit

Room Tip: We were in room 1 with a fantastic view only problem the lounge is just outside the door if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Wow, what a lovely review. Thank you so much.
We are so happy you had a fabulous stay with us.
George has asked me to express his sincere thanks to you as well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Sir David, truly provided what we were looking for..... "a break" - Relaxing didn't take much, it just came naturally as we walked through the doors of this stunning guest house, we were received like family. The rooms are tastefully decorated and provides for a good nights rest, breakfast overlooking the ocean was peaceful and certainly set the stage for a great day in Cape Town.

I cant think of anything else one could look for whilst in Cape Town, stylish / friendly / good food / clean and excellent value for money.

See you soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid1, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive feedback. It is much appreciated.
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a wonderful night at The Sir David for my hubby's birthday. We strolled along the beachfront until sunset, wandered to a 'on the Rocks' a great restaurant and strolled back to our room after some fine wine. The rooms are beautiful, modern and clean and the staff are amazing. The breakfast/ sitting area is modern and relaxing with fantastic views. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid1, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback!
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at the Sir David recently again whilst on business in CT.
Such a lovely place with friendly staff and management made me again feel part of a family rather than a paying guest!
Appointment of the rooms are excellent and the rustic setting is close enough to quickly get to diners and shops but far enough out of the bustle.
Highly recommended stay for business or longer holiday periods.
One of my favourite places to stay when in that area.
Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid1, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback!
We loved having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Only stayed overnight at The Sir David, but it was great. I liked the room the most as it was cozy and comfortable. Very crisp, clean bedding on a comfy bed. Nice bathroom with a spacious shower. A very nice room to stay in, and it overlooked the pool. Most importantly, overall I just felt comfortable in the room.

I found the "main" building (breakfast area and relaxation areas) a bit cold (as in, not cozy), but that is because I think the sophisticated look of the place calls for tiles instead of carpets. But carpets is a personal preference. Apart from that, it is still very clean with good finishes, and looks quite smart.

Breakfast was nice. Nothing majorly special, but served it's purpose and was satisfactory.

We were warmly welcomed by Claire, and offered a nice Cappuccino on arrival, and she helped us with any questions we had.

So overall, a very nice place to stay. I'll be back :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSirDavid1, General Manager at The Sir David Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your constructive feedback. We value our guests reviews as they assist us in maintaining a high standard of service.
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Have a super week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sir David Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sir David Boutique Guest House

Address: 1 Popham Rd | Small Bay, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sir David Boutique Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sir David is a four star Boutique Guest House situated a few meters from the idyllic Smallbay Beach in Bloubergstrand and is perfect for families, pleasure seeking tourists and business executives.THE SIR DAVID, is a mere 30 minutes drive from the city centre, famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and Cape Town International Airport. Relax in luxurious beachfront accommodation and take in the beauty of Cape Town with uninterrupted views across Table Bay to Robben Island. You are guaranteed an unforgettable beach break, whether you are visiting Cape Town on holiday or a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sir David Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sir David Boutique Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.