We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Peter Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloubergstrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Peter Hotel
Save
You added Blue Peter Hotel to your Saves list
Popham Street | P O Box 1, Bloubergstrand 7436, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bloubergstrand
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at the BP for 3 nights , had an absolute ball , All staff fantastic and well trained.Bedroom and views fantastic.Great pizza and breakfast.Front desk staff the best.Pickup from the airport well planned and executed.Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
16
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Go for the views. Food not good unless you are hungry. Very basic. Service not unfriendly but indifferent. Place needs an upgrade and a good clean. Typical student vibe of the 80's. Also lots of families with little children. Will be back when someone takes over and makes it look like the Bungalow. But then with decent food because the location is nice. Until then rather go to Eden on the Bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Slept at Blue Peter while i was on a business trip in Cape Town. Beautiful location and view right next to the sea. Totally relaxing atmosphere and a chilled out vibe. The ambience of Cape Town at its best. There was a live jazz band on the specific day I visited. I certainly will visit the place again just for the mood and scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is been around for more than 30 years and it has the most amazing views!

The breakfast at the hotel is buffet style and is mediocre (if its included in your room stay it is fine) but dont pay for it...

But the restaurant downstairs has AMAZING pizzas - Rock and Roll is my favourite.

The Blue Peter is a place for young and old and the perfect place to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband stayed over for one night on business. As travelers all over the world this was shocking!! Cape Town is the destanation to go to in SA. Blouberg is lovely and we have stayed in meny B&B's there and was always very nice. Been the only hotel there he asked me to book for him. At R1200 for seaview room, no water! ! Shower was broken and if you know how hot CT is in summet!!! NO aircon just a fan!!! A mini bar with nothing in it!!! No bottled water!!! Ask them to pls get a taxi for him, got there late missed flight!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have not stayed at the Hotel, however this is our 4th visit to Cape Town and the Blue Peter is a must do on our list mainly for their excellent Pizza's and view.

Their outside eating area has unrivaled views across the bay to Table Mountain. It has a great atmosphere and a chilled out vibe.

As I said at the start their Pizzas are the best in the area. Excellent value. Even if you do not eat, in our opinion, this is THE place to have sundowners.

The Blue Peter is sat among mainly residential premises so unlike nearby Big Bay it is a quieter place to eat, drink and relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wonderful views of Table Mountain from across the sea, great place for afternoon cocktails and a pizza, as long as the wind is not blowing hard. We have not stayed there so can't comment on the hotel, but the ambience is great in the bar and garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Peter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peter Hotel

Address: Popham Street | P O Box 1, Bloubergstrand 7436, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bloubergstrand
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Peter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.