We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in pleasant surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
The Street | Tuddenham, Tuddenham, Ipswich IP6 9BT, England
01473 785377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English, Contemporary, Bistro, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food in pleasant surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lunch on a Saturday for four people. Unfussy quality decor and warm on a cold winter's day. The choice of menu - from a baguette to a full three course meal - suited our varying appetites. The set courses were particularly good value. As it was snowy we all chose comfort food and my slow cooked lamb shank on mashed potato was superb! We all started with homemade soup, lentil and red pepper- delicious. Puddings tempted most of us even though we probably didn't have room - bread and butter pudding with a whiskey custard was preferred by the men - I went for a mini creme caramel served with quality coffee.
House wine included a decent Pinot Grigio, available in several different glass sizes.
Service was prompt, efficient, friendly yet unobtrusive.
Would highly recommend and will be returning very soon- perhaps in an evening so can be hungry enough to tackle a full pudding....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    58
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Scrummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having got lost walking from a nearby village, we were definitely ready for lunch by the time we arrived at The Fountain, and we weren't disappointed.

We skipped the starter and headed straight for the mains; a warm goats cheese and sundried tomato baguette and a cassoulet respectively.

The baguette was nice - not too big (baguettes served with chips are often too much carbohydrate, especially when put together with copious amounts of cheese, but this didn't seem that way inclined). The cheese was good quality and there was a HUGE amount of it - I'd actually say a little too much (I didn't think that was possible) and I ended up taking some of it out (never fear, it made a nice topping for the veg side to the cassoulet).

The cassoulet went down very well too. We'd had it before, cooked vegetarian by a native French relation, so had high hopes and it didn't disappoint. The local sausages were tasty, the pork belly extremely well cooked and the bacon subtle but effective. An excellent dish.

We also shared a side of sweet potato fries - not to be missed.

For pudding we opted to share a portion of the chocolate and chestnut cake, and they very kindly swapped the vanilla ice cream for the 'mince pie' ice cream we'd seen elsewhere on the pudding menu. Both were, quite simple, superb. The cake was rich and moist, with a berry coulis to lift it and stop it being too sweet. The ice cream was rich and flavoursome. Yummy!

Even when washed down with a local beer, a soft drink and an amaretto, the bill still came out very reasonable indeed.

If you're looking for a traditional style English pub, you might be disappointed. Equally, if you are after a quiet romantic meal, this may not be the way to go with the tables packed tightly together in large open rooms. But as a place to go with friends for a relaxed meal, or as a place to start, break or end a walk it's ideal. We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

had a great dinner on two occasions would recommend to anyone bit far out from where we live but well worth the drive

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superbly flavoursome delicous food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

First visit and i was not dissapointed!!
Great warm friendly staff who catered for our needs from the off.
My partner and myself both could not fault any of the delicous food we had.
The brisket hash cake starter with poached hens egg and jus was mothwatering!!.. We both opted for the rib eye steak, cooked to perfection.

Being a former chef im usually very critical, excellent to see everything on menu clearly is fresh and homemade.. Nice to see a small but well thought out menu, which would please most tastebuds.. Looking forward to returning again, on par with Milsoms Dedham.. Bravo

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat near Ipswich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

At first this place looks just like a pub, in fact it is a pub but to be more accurate it's a large restaurant with a small bar at one end.
The atmosphere was very warm, cosy and welcoming. The menu offers a good choice of dishes and wines all year round and the food is cooked to perfection. The service is spot on, efficient without being subservient. All at a very reasonable price too. When I went the bill was about £37 per head for three courses:a good bottle of Sancerre; mineral water; coffee and liqueur.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.