We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aika Hotel Bozcaada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aika Hotel Bozcaada to your Saves list
Aika Hotel Bozcaada
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Namazgah Caddesi N.8, Bozcaada, Tenedos Island, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 87 Bozcaada B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a little gem when it comes to Bozcaada. Umit and Claudia are warm and hospitable and were professional in everything from emails before our arrival to making sure that we got to the island ok and of course attending to us during our stay. Umit makes a pretty mean G&T as well!
The hotel has a great position. It's clean, the beds are comfortable (think we slept more than we explored!), the staff will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable, the garden where you can chill is private and relaxed and overall I would highly recommend that one choose Aiki when heading to Bozcaada. Was pretty sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I visited Bozcaada this Summer and spent a week in Aika Hotel. Couple, who is running hotel is very international, and you can see it, by high standards of service. For me,the cleanliness of rooms is the biggest priority, and Aika Hotel meets the highest standards. I came with 3 older kids, and we had a great experience. I wish we could stay more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you don't have a car and want to stay in the town part of Bozcaada, I can highly recommend staying at Aika. This was our 2nd time to the island, and I certainly don't think it will be our last. The owners, Ümit and his wife Claudia, were so hospitable, picked us up from the dock and gave us recommendations for the island. Their daughter is quite adorable and always made an appearance at breakfast. They really went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

Our room in the townhouse was immaculate and overlooked the quaint streets in the Greek section. We had access to a fridge so we would buy a bottle of wine after wine tasting around town and enjoy it later.

I'd also highly recommend renting a bike to explore the island if you are relatively fit as there are quite a few hills heading west to the beach areas. We had to walk the bikes several times up the hills, but we still enjoyed the views and the countryside vineyards.

For a good drink and fun conversation, I'd recommend visiting Yesim, owner of the Oda Bar near the restaurants in the port area. We went here 3 nights in a row and had a blast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although it was our first visit to the Aika Hotel, we were so happy and found it relaxing to stay at this very nice place. We definitely felt at home - because of the friendliness of the owners and the clean white and minimalist design of the hotel. We stayed at the house which was at the Greek part and every day had a short and sweet walk to the excellent garden of the main hotel which we took nice fresh breakfast. All of the staff including the owners was very helpful. No more words to describe the hotel, best way to understand it is to experience it! Thanks a lot to Mr. Ümit and Ms. Claudia for their friendly and polite approach.

Room Tip: If you stay at the rooms on Greek house, you will have a nice walk for breakfast to the main hotel e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 days at Aika Hotel and everything was just perfect. Umit and Claudia are absolutely wonderful and took the best care of us. They always greeted us with a smile and helped us feel like we weren't just guests filling a room. They were able to tell us everything we needed to know about Bozcaada and helped us when our flights to and from the island were cancelled. The breakfast is delicious and consistently good. The staff are very attentive but never intrusive. Our room was just right, great facilities and air conditioner too. We would stay at Aika again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife, son and I are just back from a week at Aika Hotel, Bozcaada. We found exactly what we were looking for! And more! Our desire was for a quiet, clean island hotel, well run and stress free. Claudia and Umit gave us all of this and more. We felt more like family than we did like paying guests. These are hotel owners who clearly enjoy the work they have chosen for themselves. They like people, they are interested in people and they are part of a marvelously gracious Turkish culture.

From our first contact by email to a heartfelt hug on departure, we were taken care of. On arrival, I inquired as to the possibility of cooking classes. Within an hour, I had an invitation to spend the next day in the kitchen of one of the most interesting restaurants on the island, with the chef and his staff. Every day we had a report on which beach would be best (depending on the wind). We enjoyed the terrific breakfast in the garden-the staff is kind and attentive, and returning at the end of the day to smiles and a few quiet moments.

Rooms are of good size and spotless, the shower is great-important to me! There is nothing about the hotel that I would change. It's an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! We were on the street, and it wasn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Two years ago, we had never even heard of Bozcaada and now this is our third trip back to this little island in the Aegean and our second time staying at Aika Hotel.

The first trip was only a short day trip with friends but obviously long enough to wet our appetites for more. We absolutely had to return to Bozcaada's beautiful sandy beaches and see more! So we did return a few weeks later by ourselves and heard about the Aika Townhouse in the Greek part. We chose it for its cozy island home feeling.

This year, we went from a view of the Greek Church to a view of an old Hamam at the new hotel a two-minute walk away in the Turkish part . The new villa is more of a traditional hotel compared to the homely townhouse but the rooms are essentially the same quality with the same kind of simple, modern decor. Also, the new location has a beautiful garden to escape to and it’s also where breakfast is served until a late and reasonable hour of 11 or 11.30 in the morning. Most of the ingredients come from the owner's garden right down to the tomatoes, cucumbers and even jams. And dont be surprised when the owners sit down and offer you complimentary wine from their vineyard, that is the Aika tradition apparently.

The hotels on Bozcaada are not cheap compared to some other Turkish towns but in comparison to a vacation to any popular European beach destination, this island is still a bargain and much more picturesque, green and laid-back than what we have seen in a long time. Be prepared to haggle the fish prices at the port restaurants and try to go by car to reach some of the more secluded and breathtaking beaches about 5 to 10 minutes from town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aika Hotel Bozcaada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aika Hotel Bozcaada

Address: Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Namazgah Caddesi N.8, Bozcaada, Tenedos Island, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Tenedos Island > Bozcaada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Bozcaada
Hotel Class:3 star — Aika Hotel Bozcaada 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Greek Quarter, the Aika Hotel Townhouse is ideal for couples, families or small groups wanting to rent an individual room or the luxury of the entire house. Situated on a quiet cobblestone-paved street of the island's Old Town, this brand-new bed & breakfast charmer opened in late July 2010. All rooms are equipped with elegant furnishings, en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV, and AC along with panoramic views of the nearby Church as well as a shared living room and refreshment-stocked kitchen. Breakfasts are served with homemade jellies, fresh-baked breads and only the finest homegrown ingredients making Aika the perfect “home away from home.” Aika Hotel marks a welcome addition to the Bozcaada hotel scene as a family-run hotel project that will add several new facilities this year- both in town and near the famed Aquarium beach. This summer, Aika Hotel is set to open brand new a in the historic Hamam neighborhood only steps away from the restaurants, cafes and outdoor market surrounding the main port. This tastefully restored villa will offer eleven additional suites and a pleasantly shaded garden-courtyard overlooking the domed-roof Old Hamam to enjoy a few days -or more- of boutique Bozcaada island living at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Aika Hotel Bozcaada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aika Hotel Bozcaada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.