We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most memorable weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Timamoon to your Saves list
Timamoon
Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“most memorable weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

words cannot desrcibe the beauty of Timamoon, truly authentic and romantic lodge with a view to die for, the service recieved was remarkable as well as the food. i wish we had more days at Timamoon. the sunset was breath taking!

the decor in the rooms are very different and unique, adding a very cosy feel to the rooms with the fire place.
my partner and i will never forget our time there and will deffinetly be back.

lots of love.

Angelique Christoforou

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi both of you
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for all your positive comments. Glad to read that you loved the food and that you will be back!
From all of us at Timamoon who enjoyed your visit to us!
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
114
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in celebration of our anniversary in March
The gravel road leading up to Timamoon is narrow and at times we lost traction, with some sharp turns difficult to negotiate but it is lined and canopied by trees and intersected by streams and a cross over the Sabie River on a rickety bridge just serves to set the tone. Certainly not recommended for any vehicles with a low suspension!
At reception we were greeted by three beautiful Great Danes. For those fearful of our canine friends, they were secured behind a little fence but only too excited to receive some attention from the new arrivals. The Moon River villa is privately tucked away among lush vegetation with spectacular views over the surrounding forest and Sabie River creating the perfect intimate setting. The room’s decor and furnishings have been deliberately chosen with seduction in mind, silk sheets, soft lighting and rich hues with interesting objet d’art collected by the owners’ travels throughout Africa and Indonesia. Fortunately, before the first libation, we took note of the entrance to the bathroom as the door frame is an old Indonesian frame which has been fitted post building and has a lip on the floor and a low ornate frame, which you need to take care not to trip over or bump your head on. It does, however, fit so well with the character of the room. Whilst the dim lighting in the lodge creates a very romantic ambience, it does not make for smooth make-up application. Perhaps one bright light in the bathroom is an improvement the owners may consider...
The rim flow pool has panoramic vistas to the valley below and was welcomingly refreshing considering the daytime temperatures reaching between 25° and 28°C. Loafing on the perched daybed was blissful and serene and our lazing only interrupted by birdsong, wafting butterflies and the occasional disagreeable insect visitor.
For those people who prefer to be more energetic, unlike us spending hours just languishing, lounging and relaxing in the beautiful lodge surrounds, there are a number of hiking trails on the doorstep and other adrenaline inducing activities nearby.
The service was unassuming and discreet, although if you were not choosing to sip delicately on a bottle of wine, drinks orders could be on the slow side. Having said that, the dining experience here is intended to be savoured and not rushed. We had only read rave reviews on the cuisine here which had led us to have high expectation and it was one of the things we eagerly looked forward to. But to provide a balanced and honest review, we were disappointed in the dinners, with the exception of the last evening. I had a herb crusted fillet on the first night and whilst the steak was cooked to perfection, in my opinion, the crust ingredient flavours did not combine well. The accompanying potato bake was bland. My husband tried the Mediterranean quail and privately grumbled about the slimy texture and peculiar taste. On the second evening we both tried the avocado tempura, and the batter was on the soggy side. We also both tried the mushroom risotto which was too salty for our liking. Desserts were always delicious and all the meals were beautifully presented. On our last evening, we were far more pleasantly surprised with the meal.
If your idea of five star luxury is air conditioned lodging, around the clock attentive service, all the “modcons” of TV and entertainment, and none of natures less desirable insect creatures (there were a few wasp nests under our thatch) then this is not for you. Timamoon sets its own slow, calm pace with its own distinctive and incomparable romantic feel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for such a detailed review and for all the comments you made. Delighted to read that it was a truly romantic experience.
The rooms do have a view odd pieces as we have collected these from all over the world and the Indonesian panel which is the entrance to your Moroccan style bathroom does have decorative panels that you have duck under, but that is probably the charm of the place. I think your last sentence really sums up well what Timamoon is all about. Again thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Hope to see you again some day
Regards
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My Fiance' surprised me last wkend and took me away to Timamoon where he proposed :-) What a beautiful stunning place - the service was fantastic and the food magnificent. We stayed at Moonriver lodge where we made use of the awesome pool overlooking the Sabie River - the view wowww. We were very sad to leave, but excited to go back again :-)

Thank you to all the staff at Timamoon for making our special wkend a great experience...

Rob and Sam

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Congratulations to both of you. So your man is a real romantic, secretly booking to come to Timamoon to propose. Hold onto him!!!
We would love to see you again one day for one of your wedding anniversaries!!
Regards
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The magnificent view along with the excellent service of the Timamoon staff made our romantic weekend getaway at the lodge an unforgettable stay. The breathtaking mountains and the warmth of the rooms all work hand in hand to give anyone an experience of a life time. The treatments are professional and out of this world. Timamoon will certainly see us again!!!

Room Tip: Moon River is an abselute must to anybody!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Jacques & Angelique
Thanks for your review on Timamoon.
So pleased to hear that you loved your stay and will be back. Glad you liked our spa treatments, it is nice to have these done in the privacy of your own villa.
Hope to see you soon
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked for two evenings and what was meant to be the "most romantic experience on the planet" turned out to be a complete nightmare from the time we checked in - at reception we were met by the owner Gaylyn who informed us that there was an electrical problem which led to continious power outages in our villa and no hot water (not very romantic when having a cold bath with your better half and trying to make the dinner reservation in time) Hot water became available later that evening but by then the evening had already been spoilt.

Maurice (Gaylyn's husband) played electrician as they were unable to get an electrician out to repair the problem as it was a public holiday (as an establishnent charging 5 star rates an electrician and any other contractor should be on call irrespective of what day it is - the CLIENT should not be inconvenienced) The power outage at night led to my wife having a fall and she stumbled her way to the bathroom - mentioning the incident to Gaylyn at breakfast the next morning brought horror to her face in that she was more concerned about the bowl that had been damaged and not once showed any concern for whether my wife was ok - mindboggling!!

I approached Maurice on the second day assuming that with it being a working day the electrician would be on site to do the repair, the response was that it would not be repaired that day as a cable would have to be sourced from Nelspruit (2 hour return trip) - Once again you are charging 5 star rates, get into your PORSCHE and drive the two hours and get the job done, what do you not understand about looking after the client first and foremost ??

We were at Timamoon on a discounted deal (yes,still paying R2500 per night) and we were treated exactly like discounted clients, the lack of customer service was appaling. The owners (who reside on the premises and were home on the second evening) were nowhere to be found at dinner hoping that they would not have to deal with us as we were leaving the next morning

On check out (handled by Skye, the office assistant) we were charged for 4 items from the mini bar - we did not utilise this facility and yes you may erroneously overlook one item when doing inventory but 4, seriously !! And i am not finished yet, the final straw came when 5 hours after checking out i received a voicemail message from Gaylyn asking to give her a call. I thought here comes the apology and the customer service that had been sadly lacking the past two days.Upon calling her i was accused of stealing an ornament from the villa and that she wanted it back as it had great sentimental value, ARE YOU KIDDING ME ???? I suggested that she check with her cleaning staff as the chances were very good that they may have misplaced it in another villa or had a good idea of what had happend to the item, but no i was told to look in my luggage and return the ornament.She then lost it completely and went into a frenzy about how she was going to open a case of theft against us,she then disconnected the call (how unprofessional)

We have travelled the world for the past 25 years and have yet to experience such shocking and unprofessional service and this from the owner herself, she has no clue of how to treat a client and sadly we had to experience this in our own country. The true test of such an establishment is how the host goes about resolving issues when things go wrong for your clients - they failed dismally!!

The only positive was the food,well done to the chef,Lilly Visser,who did a fine job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I believe viewers reading the above review will try put it into context based on the other reviews that Timamoon has received. I will try and explain some of it:
These were guests who complained that the night before in a previous establishment that the power had gone off 4 times and they had "checked out". The area was experiencing very bad storms and the power lines at Timamoon had crossed creating very serious problems. Eskom responded very quickly and professionally on a public holiday and tried to help but, the damage was so bad they said it could not be fixed until after the long weekend. My husband (the owner) and some of themaintenace staff, managed to temporary solve the problem so that everyone could have a hot bath and lights before dinner. The power was on for all of the next day, however, at about 6:30 pm the power went again and, again my husband and staff managed to restore the power within an hour. They received a lot of abuse while working on the problem by only the one guest who stood over them yelling and complained that "my wife is in the middle of blow drying her hair!" We were fully occupied that long weekend and the majority of guests were most understanding as all did have hot baths and lights every night. I would like to also point out that It is also very difficult to check a minibar when all the hotels drinks have been removed from the hotel fridge and the fridge then filled with the guests own drinks hence the mistake, which was rectified.
As we have very valuable personal artifacts in all the villas that we have collected on our travels over the years, the villas are checked before and after guests check in. The staff did notice that an item was missing and immediately asked the guest where it was and was simply shrugged off.
In the 14 years that Timamoon has been operating, I have never had any of my lovely things taken. To say the least, I was not surprised when I phoned to ask the guests if they could please check their luggage that I was immediately threatened with Trip Advisor.
As the owners of Timamoon we are totally committed to service but sometimes there are circumstance beyond even our control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I took my husband here for his surprise birthday weekend. It was lovely. My only negative comment would be that we weren't able to unlock the bathroom door, and because there were no windows that you could open in the bathroom it was rather stuffy. The outside shower was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi There
Thrilled to hear that it was a romantic weekend away. That it was we want all our guests enjoy.
Point taken about the bathroom door, we took the key away as guests would always forget to lock the door or even shut it!! But it is apparant we must work on another solution.
would love to see you both again soon
Regards
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The room was out of this world , literally ... The view was absolutely amazing . It is a long trip up a bumpy road , to get there , but it is worth it . We were also lucky , to see Red Duiker at the premises .

The food was well presented , and tasted wonderful . It deserves a michelin star . Of course the service was excellent too . It is the best food we had on our two week stay in lovely South Africa .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi there
Thanks for such a positive review. I will report back to the chef with your comments! Delighted to hear it was the best food of your entire trip that says something.
It is special to see our little red Duicker as they are a rare species. If you ever make it back to SA come visit again
Regards from all of us at Timamoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timamoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.