We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clue in the name and staff miserable too” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Misty Mountain to your Saves list
Misty Mountain
PO Box 116, Sabie 1260, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Blackburn
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“clue in the name and staff miserable too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We arrived in a bank of low cloud following a fruitless stop for the view at God's window, the window cleaner had gone awol. The main hotel building was just warm enough but the stove in the cottage had to be lit with all speed to clear the dampness from the room. The bedclothes had to be thrown back to air the bed and no firelighters or clear instructions for using the stove were provided. Misty Mountain could learn a great deal from the experience at Knysna Hollow, see my later review. Dinner was utterly charmless a request to go a-la-carte was dismissed out of hand and after a long wait the service was part shoulder-check, do you have to bump into me every time you pass or serve, part surly. One out of eight hotels during our tour where I found the service poor. Considering the weather, lighting the stoves in anticipation of our group arrival, might have warmed the welcome.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Blackburn

Thank you for your review. We take all constructive criticism very seriously and value all meaningful inputs from our guests, both positive and negative. Unfortunately due to your decision to remain anonymous with no details of the exact date of your visit or the room number of your unit , it is very difficult for us to establish the details around your visit, to deal with your specific complaints or to remedy any of problems that you encountered in the future or for future guests. I would however, like to begin by making the following general comments:

1. Sadly, the weather is out of our control. We have an annual rainfall of 1500mm thus dampness is a common occurrence here. Predicting the weather here is also extremely difficult and we are known to have 4 seasons in a day up here in the mountains.

2. There is no excuse for poor service and I apologise if you feel that you had a poor dinner experience.

However, I feel that I must challenge you on a few points you have made:

1. The fireplaces/stoves in the rooms are there for the very reason that you mention – to warm up the rooms. Most guests find it fairly obvious how to light the fire, especially when there are matches right there for you to use and the fire is set. From a safety perspective, fires are not lit ahead of guests accessing the rooms and I am sure that you can understand that. You would have noticed the fire warning signs in the rooms advising guests about how/when to light the fires and also reminding guests of the fact that we are situated in a high fire risk area. But if you had found the fire difficult to light, why did you not ask for help at reception? We would gladly have assisted.

2. As far as the bedclothes are concerned, I’m not really sure what you are suggesting here or how we are reasonably expected to change the climate in which we live. Our housekeeping manager is diligent, but it gets damp here and there is little we can do about that. Sheets are thoroughly washed and dried in our laundry before the beds are made.

3. From what I can deduce, you were part of a group, so I can only assume that you did not make a direct booking with us, but rather through a travel agent or tour operator. Again, I can only assume then that your travel agent/tour operator booked you on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and that is the reason why the a la carte menu was not available to you. Did your guide not discuss this with you en route to or on arrival at Misty Mountain? And if you had had an issue with this, why did you not revert to your guide for assistance?

Misty Mountain prides itself in its friendly service and many comments in TripAdvisor can attest to this. And where a guest has complained we endeavour to deal with it immediately and rectify the problem. But it is extremely difficult to deal with negative TripAdvisor comments when we don’t know anything about the reviewer or their visit except for a pseudonym and the month of the visit. Sadly, despite some positives, TripAdvisor provides a platform for anonymous trashing of hospitality properties without any accountability on behalf of the reviewers. It’s a real pity that you didn’t discuss your experience with us before you left!

Lisa Sheard
Owner/Manager
Misty Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
40
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in stone cabins with fireplace heat. Wood is provided and the heat was needed in October-late spring. The location is on top of wooded areas with a good view when/if the fog lifts. The restaurant is o.k. and the only game in town since the facility is remote from anywhere else. There are conference facilities and the grounds are attractive and well maintained. Breakfast was o.k. but with limited variety. The bathrooms could have been cleaner with mold in the grout and shower curtains which needed cleaning or replacement.

Parking is easy, with spaces outside the cabins and everything is close. Even with the frequent rain, it is not hard to keep dry given the short distances between the cabins and the main facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your review Ron. Misty Mountain IS indeed an apt name for our hotel! We are sorry that you found our restaurant, and particularly the breakfast, just ok. Most of our guests find our food significantly better than expected for a 3 star lodge. Perhaps you could give us an indication of what additions you suggest to the breakfast menu.

Mould is a terrible problem that we have to deal with in our very damp climate. However, you will be pleased to learn that renovations on these bathrooms has already begun and all should be completed shortly into the new year.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a very nice stay, really friendly staff and excellent dinner. Even the open fire places were ready to be lit. Very good value for money and this only 3.5 h drive away from Johannesburg in a scenic area....................and we had it misty in the mountains too.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Susanne

Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding your stay at Misty Mountain. The entire team appreciates the feedback and your review will be shared with them.

We hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, hopefully when there is less mist and you can get to see the the spectacular views into the Lowveld.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stopped in Misty Mountain on the way to Krüger Park and really liked this place. We booked one of their family cottages which is a beautiful two storey stone cottage with breath-taking views! It inlcudes two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a nice sitting area with fire place. There is a very nice main building with a bar, sitting area and a very good restaurant.
The prices are B&B, and the breakfast buffet was the best we had on our entire trip. It even included some fresh croissants, which made my som happy!
Having stayed in some rather average places in this part of the country I can say that this place is very good value for money. Unfortunately, we didnt have time to explore the surroundings. There´s also a pool. We have to come back next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Betiza

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review and your kind words.

At Misty Mountain we pride ourselves in providing the guest with good value for money combined with excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

The Misty Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not having been to the Sabie area for quite some time I was at a bit of a loss as to where to book my 8 guests and myself into when I was planning their tour to best take advantage of the spectacular Panorama route.

After searching around I selected the Misty Mountain Lodge as our first night out of Johannesburg a good distance to get away from the hustle of the city and to poise ones self to launch into the great outdoors of the Long Tom pass and other exquisite views and scenery in this area.

I could not have wished for a better destination.

We arrived late, after dark, having pre-ordered our meals by telephone en route with a really helpful reception desk, we checked in and immediately made our way to the dinning room at a pre-set table and the happy, smiling and helpful staff waiting to serve us the evening meal and a great meal it was too. Fresh and well prepared. There was a big Birthday party on the go in the restaurant with a lot of toasting and singing going on adding to the festive atmosphere.

Early to bed, early to rise and what a lovely surprise. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and huge, expansive mountain views on the edge of the escarpment above the Sabie river valley.

Breakfast was served on the sunlit verandah next to the free flow pool with superb views over valleys, never ending forests in the distant haze of the morning sun. Beautiful.

Misty Mountain has that charm, that hospitality, the sense of lightness and ease of making you the guest feel at ease. I will be returning time and time again. The real spirit of hospitality.....

Well done Misty Mountain and your staff.

A 5 star destination!!

Room Tip: Stgay a minimum of two nights it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Wildguide

Thanks for your kind comments regarding you and your guests stay at Misty Mountain.

We are extremely lucky to have a team committed to and fully understand the importance of good and friendly service – and as your review says – the true spirit of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was great stay. We went as a group of friends in hopes of just relaxing and getting away from it all. Thats exactly what we got.

Wouldn't mind being there everyweekend.:) Ta for the lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Tiyane M

Thanks for your kind words which we have already shared with the Misty Mountain team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for a night en route from the North of the Kruger to the Drakensberg. Well located on our route with a beautiful position high in the pass. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, though the odd door handle or towel rail needed the attention of a screwdriver. The restaurant was very good and we had a lovely evening meal. The outdoor eating area where we breakfasted was superb. We read reports about the road being close and noisy. Our experience was that traffic was very light between about 23.00 and 06.00 didn't disturb our light sleeper in the family any more than usual.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, Social Media Management at Misty Mountain, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for you kind comments and feedback, the maintenance issues are noted and will be attended to. We trust that we will see you back at Misty Mountain on your next journey to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain

Address: PO Box 116, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.