We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porcupine Ridge Guest House to your Saves list
Porcupine Ridge Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Vanaxe Estate | Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Sabie B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Porcupine Ridge is fantastic. The views from the verandah are lovely and the waterfall on the estate is breathtaking. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean with delicious breakfasts every morning. Janet and John are brilliant hosts and make you most welcome in their home.
Porcupine Ridge is the ideal base for exploring the Panorama route and nothing is too far away.
Make sure you visit Harries Pancakes and Pioneers restaurant

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Janet and John are natural B&B hosts. They have a wonderful establishment in a great location with amazing breakfasts. The rooms are well decorated, good sized with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Janet and John have paid attention to detail to provide excellent accomodations and to cater to their guests' needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed with Janet and John for 3 nights in Sabie at the start of our holiday to South Africa. They received us with great hospitality. Furthermore both Janet and John gave us good tips for walks in the area. We had lovely talks about kruger park and other things we should go and see!
Breakfast was superb and the location is also superb with a beautiful view..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed here in August on our way to Sabi Sands for a Safari,Lovely Rooms ,Food and Accomodation,really nice Hosts and our Four Legged Guide George showed us all the sights,
We will stay here next time we pass through,only Five Rooms so book up early,you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Where do I start with a review about Porcupine Ridge guesthouse? My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon, and it was definately in the top 3 places in which we stayed during our trip (10 guesthouses in all). That's saying a lot, as some guesthouses were twice as expensive and came very highly rated beforehand, and yet couldn't compare to the wonderful experience we had while we stayed here. Even before we left home, I felt I already knew Janet as she had been incredibly helpful in answering my many questions about the Mpumalanga region, driving times etc.
We decided to stay at Porcupine Ridge either side of our safari trip to Sabi Sands and it proved to be the ideal base, just an easy 40 min drive from Paul Kruger gate. John and Janet kindly allowed us to leave most of our luggage at the guesthouse so we could travel light for the 2 nights on safari as well. The guesthouse was built recently as an extension onto the original house and it's set in stunning landscaped gardens, which are really peaceful and relaxing. The room was very spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you'd expect, including a great shower and well stocked mini bar. There's a guest lounge with satellite tv, should you feel the need to catch up on sporting action or news while you're away, and we really enjoyed sitting here each evening and chatting with John and Janet, who are originally from the UK themselves. They really do go out of their way to make you feel at home here, with lots of little gestures such as the little gold nugget they give each guest when they leave to remind them of their stay. They were the perfect hosts, in being friendly and helpful but not overbearing should you wish to do your own thing whilst staying here either.
Breakfast was a feast that set us up for the day each morning, with muesli/cereal/yoghurts/fruit salad and a full cooked breakfast, all served with fab views out over the garden and woodland beyond. I mustn't forget to mention George their lovely dog, who literally takes you on a walk up behind the house to a stunning waterfall and back home again on a circular trail! It's a must and from reading the guestbook, it seems everyone that stays here has done the same and thoroughly enjoyed it as well! Sabie is only a few miles away, and is a handy option for pub grub, but we opted to drive 30 mins away to the Artists Cafe, having read about it in numerous guidebooks. It's a little eccentric, as the restaurant is in an old railway station hich has been filled with memorabilia and art of all kinds, which will certainly keep you occupied between courses! The food was great though, with a partly italian themed menu, and was a really different experience which I'd definately recommend. Janet also recommended that we tried Blue Mountain Lodge as a special treat on our last night in South Africa, and it was also very good, if a little more expensive, but very worthwhile on a special occasion, with plush surroundings and a gourmet menu.
We also toured the Panorama route from here, and it's all very accessible, and most of the highlights can be seen in a day trip, though we had more time so we relaxed and did it over 2 days. Blyde Canyon and the surrounding waterfalls are not to be missed, and provided some of the most breathtaking views of our entire honeymoon trip.
A stay at Porcupine Ridge is highly recommended for anyone going on safari to Kruger/Sabi Sands, and for touring the Panorama route. We hope to be lucky enough to return to South Africa to go on safari again in the future, and we'll cetainly be staying at Porcupine Ridge again on that occasion without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porcupine Ridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Address: 5 Vanaxe Estate | Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Ridge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful four star country house, tucked away in the mountains at the heart of the scenic Panorama Route, yet only 5 minutes from Sabie village and 40 minutes from Kruger National Park. The friendly ambiance invites you to relax and unwind, surrounded by rambling gardens and glorious mountain scenery. Porcupine Ridge has five luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms, guest lounge, dining room and large covered verandas. Hiking, birding and waterfall on the Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porcupine Ridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcupine Ridge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.