We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing warmth and hospitality at this delightful guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porcupine Ridge Guest House to your Saves list
Porcupine Ridge Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Vanaxe Estate | Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Sabie B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing warmth and hospitality at this delightful guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Had a one night stay at Porcupine Ridge and it has to be one of the most pleasant stays I've had in any guesthouse. Everything was done to make us feel welcome and comfortable and the house and surroundings were just lovely. If in that part of the world, then without a doubt, Porcupine Ridge is the place to stay. Thanks Janet and John - you're great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

This is a comfortable and quietly situated property a few minutes from the centre of Sabie. The hosts are friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the surrounding area, sightseeing, restaurants, etc. The rooms are clean, attractive and fairly spacious. This is an excellent base for exploring the Panorama Route/ Blyde River Canyon, and a good stopping off point on the way to/from Kruger NP.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Porcupine Ridge is our favourite get-away spot for the weekend in South Africa. After staying here several times, I still can not believe that the guidebooks have not picked up on this hidden gem yet, just outside Sabie on the road to Kruger park (45 minutes).

Located on the grounds of a previous gold mine estate, Porcupine Ridge offers immaculate rooms and fantastic nature scenery literally at your doorstep.

Friendly owners Janet and John are spot-on when it comes to their hospitality and respect for guest's privacy. Breakfast on the terrace that overlooks the fabulous gardens doesn’t get any better and nature walks on the surrounding grounds are a superb way to start your day.

This is the type of place you want to come back to - more than once!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have never felt so welcome in someone else's house in so little time. The second you meet John and Janet, they make you feel like family. The rooms are great with plenty of room and very comfortable, and the views are spectacular. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone as their first choice. you will not regret it the in the slightest. You'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano, italia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

our stay in porcupine ridge was "special", the room are spacious, clean and have all confort. the owners are very kind, they explained us all the place to visit, gave us a map , cooked a wonderful breakfast. The house have a very big and beautiful garden, dogs and cats are affectionate and educated. the location is optimal to go visit blyde river canyon and close to kruger park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Prior to traveling to the Kruger Park area, we stayed at Porcupine Ridge for a few days so that we could visit the many natural wonders around the Sabie Valley. When looking at locations, I had hoped Porcupine Ridge would central to our travels in the Valley. It was perfect!
Upon arriving, we were greeted by John who seated us on the veranda and immediately offered us refreshment. Our room was lovely and included a small refrig with snacks and drinks. A decanter of port sat on the desk. Coffee and tea makings, and biscuits were on the table nearby. We had mentioned that we thought we might have time to visit some of the waterfalls in the area before dark. John suggested we hike up the hill above the guest house, to see the waterfall there. "George would be happy to take you." And he did! (See attached pictures).
By the time we came back, Janet was home from her annual bushwalk at Kruger. John and Janet head into Kruger every month or so for a week-end. (What heaven to be so close to the park.) As such, they have an incredible amount of info to share on the park and also the surrounding area.
Breakfasts were great - wonderful mixed fresh fruit, good coffee, yogurts, eggs, bacon, delicious whole grain bread, whatever you could want for a great start to the day.
The gardens at the guest house are absolutely beautiful. The main portion of the house dates back to the estate of a mine owner in the area and the gardens planted at that time by his wife were locally renowned. Paths meander through the gardens as they terrace down from the house. Breakfast in the morning or a drink at dusk on the veranda overlooking that garden...pure relaxation!
John and Janet are perfect hosts. If, I prefer to say, "When," we get back to the Sabie / Kruger area, we will definitely stay at Porcupine Ridge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Porcupine Ridge is fantastic. The views from the verandah are lovely and the waterfall on the estate is breathtaking. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean with delicious breakfasts every morning. Janet and John are brilliant hosts and make you most welcome in their home.
Porcupine Ridge is the ideal base for exploring the Panorama route and nothing is too far away.
Make sure you visit Harries Pancakes and Pioneers restaurant

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porcupine Ridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Address: 5 Vanaxe Estate | Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Ridge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful four star country house, tucked away in the mountains at the heart of the scenic Panorama Route, yet only 5 minutes from Sabie village and 40 minutes from Kruger National Park. The friendly ambiance invites you to relax and unwind, surrounded by rambling gardens and glorious mountain scenery. Porcupine Ridge has five luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms, guest lounge, dining room and large covered verandas. Hiking, birding and waterfall on the Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porcupine Ridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcupine Ridge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.