We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge to your Saves list
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 Power Street | P.O. Box 884, Sabie 1260, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A big thank you to the new owners Greg & Kate who made us feel so welcome. The Zebra room is great, spacious and with it's own jacuzzi, very happy with this choice. A very quiet & relaxed atmosphere. Greg will cook you a great dinner if pre ordered the day before. A very comfortable & value for money stay, would highly recommend the Sabie Townhouse. ( By the way don't let the word Townhouse deter you It is a spacious Family lodge).

Room Tip: Zebra room is large and also has an outdoor spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Recently taken over by great hosts, this beautiful place is a real find on your way into/out of Kruger Park or the beautiful sights of God's Window etc. Fabulour views, pool, sitting room and wonderful breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble - sherry in the rooms and milk in the fridge. The bedrooms/ bathrooms are a little dated but clean and well stocked. Would love to be here in the summer to enjoy the pool and surroundings. We arrived as guests and felt we left as friends. They deserve every success in their new venture as the know exacty what the ingedients of a great B&B are.

Room Tip: For a family, there are two bedrooms witha Jack and Jill bathroom providing excellent value for mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed two nights at Sabie Townhouse. It's a bit outside of Sabie town, but a really lovely place. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits at the beautiful garden. The breakfast was awesome. The weather was not the best when we stayed at Sabie so we couldn't enjoy the pool and the beautiful garden. The rooms were quite nice and big with coffee and tea all day. We got a few good tips from Murray.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just had a too short,but extremely comfortable stay at Sabie Townhouse.Greg and Kate
were most gracious and friendly,the room was fantastic and the breakfast delicious.
The location is beautiful with an interesting garden an lots of birds.

Horst and Helge

Room Tip: Take the Zebra suite with the hotub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Irene and Murray's establishment as our first stop on our SA vacation. We were late arriving due to a United Airlines foul-up and had to navigate our 5 hour drive from Jo'burg airport in the dark which again was unplanned. However, our hosts stayed up for us, followed up by 'phone, and were most gracious and helpful on arrival.

Hotel's architecture and rooms different than the average and very nice, breakfast super, and always a pot of tea and scones after a day's exertions. Great local knowledge and plesant to dialog with.

Highly recommended and the best wishes to Irene and Murray.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here when travelling solo 2 years ago and loved it. This time visiting with boyfriend and it was like coming home! Rooms are great, breakfast is great, owners are great, helpful and friendly. The house is amazing and it's nice to relax with a cuppa, enjoying the view. Will definitely recommend and hopefully return one day :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and friends stayed here for the Sabie classic mountain bike race. The Sabie townhouse is very central and close to the start of the race. The rooms are fine and the breakfast very nice. The owner was unfortunately pretty rude to all four of us in separate incidents which spoiled our stay. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabietownhouse, Owner at The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I had given our guests our check-out time but unfortunately didn't follow through with them when they arrived - my fault entirely and perhaps if we had all been aware of such a late check-out then this could have been avoided. My apologies to all concerned.
Irene - The Sabie Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge

Address: 27 Power Street | P.O. Box 884, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greg and Family offer guests a warm personal welcome to our lovely, distinctive home, constructed of river stone and local timber, peacefully situated overlooking the stunning natural beauty of the Sabie Gorge. Without exception, the many guests who have stayed with us comment on the uniqueness of our home and that photographs just do not do it justice. From the verandah you can catch a glimpse of the hyrax enjoying the early morning sunshine, watch our resident sunbirds sipping nectar from strelitzia and hibiscus flowers, hear the occasional fish eagle calling and we have even been lucky enough to have a hippo wander by! Or you may like to take a short stroll across open bushveld to sit on the rocks and admire the gorge and river below. The emphasis of our spacious rooms is to offer guests comfort and a place to relax and feel at home. All have a separate private entrance and the majority overlook the lush gardens. Children are welcome, so we have family suites available and we are the only wheel chair friendly guesthouse in Sabie. Sumptuous breakfasts are served either in the dining room or on the verandah overlooking the swimming pool. We offer warm and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.