We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's always the bathrooms....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The West House Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added The West House Country Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The West House Country Hotel
West Street, Llantwit Major CF61 ISP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Llantwit Major
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's always the bathrooms....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's always the bathroom that lets a hotel down.... This was a pleasant small room but the ensuite shower room was shabby to say the least. Nowhere to hang towels as the towel rail was no longer there - just two holes in the wall. Paint peeling above the shower - and one wall covered in mould with dirty streaks where condensation had run down the wall. The hotel itself is pleasant but looks as though the place is struggling financially - chipped walls, damaged table tops in the bar, gloomy lighting, Our room overlooked the back garden but the paths had not been weeded, and the garden needed some tlc. And why a plastic sheet on the bed - surely not necessary unless in a family room?The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely but please put some money into the place as it could be lovely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We inadvertently placed you into a room that our handyman had left unfinished. He had removed the towel rail which had been pulled off the wall and was installing a new extractor fan which had been on order. The one in the bathroom had stopped working and had been the cause of the condensation running down the wall. We immediately transferred you to an another room once we realised that the room should have been out of service. If this was not clearly explained and an apology extended to you at the time, then I hope you will accept my personal apologies. Bathrooms are very important and form part of our extensive improvement plans. We have upgraded 18 of our 21 bathrooms, the last few scheduled for the new year. The Bar and lounge are also due to be refurbished, but we are having a lot of objections from our regulars who like the ambience the rooms offer with its furniture and old used look. Everything is subjective, however we do intend to change it in the new year.
The few weeds in the gravel path had been exposed once we had removed a Marquee from our walled garden. The inclement weather precluded us from removing them immediatelly.
I trust that you were not inconveinenced to much and that you were happy with the room that we moved you to.
We are always making considerable ongoing improvements to our hotel. All our carpets are new, the majority of our bathrooms have been upgraded and we continue to invest in our hotel and strive to offer good service and value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    13
    12
    1
See reviews for
13
18
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my family the other night. Rooms were mediocre, television didnt work. The cooked breakfast was dreadful with cold food and tiny portions. Staff did not seem interested in rectifying this.
Iwould not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have many different room types starting with our standard rooms, to our classic, four poster and executive (with platinum tiled bathroom). Whatever choice all our rooms offer good value. We do find that guests use the TVs to view Movies from their laptops and change the settings. We check all TVs after a guest has checked-out to ensure they are set back to normal. I appologise that we had not reset yours, our staff would have attended to it right away if we had been made aware. I cannot recall anyone complaining about our breakfast offering before, in fact it is quite the opposite, so I am most disturbed that you had reason to complain particularly about it being cold. I can assure you that we would most certainly have done everything possible to rectify the matter for you had we been made aware at the time. Maybe some confusion existed I am not sure, but my staff advised me that you only mentioned the matter to them after you had eaten the breakfast and that you did not require anymore. They told me that they were not quite sure what else they could do. I am sorry if we let you down but I can assure you that our aim is to provide all guests with the highest level of service that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Good service but you buy a room in a hotel and together with the bed the room makes you feel like your on benefits. We checked and all the rooms looked the same poor standard.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our level of service to you.
With regard to our rooms we have many different types, designed differently, so I am not sure what you actually checked when you say they are all the same. A few of our standard rooms generally have similar bedspreads and are smaller in size, but represent exceptional value. Our room range covers the standard rooms to classic, to four poster to executive, the costs vary from £55 to £120 giving guests a good value for money choice depending on their requirements.
We are always making considerable ongoing improvements to our hotel. All our carpets are new, the majority of our bathrooms have been upgraded and we continue to invest in our hotel to strive to offer good service and value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here after a wedding.
Small, but clean, unexciting room, reasonable shower but in a very small bathroom.
Good breakfast although only available for one hour!
Overall, pretty unprofessional set up in a tired venue. The young staff were charming but lacking motivation

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments. I acknowledge your further comments and appologise for not having met your expectations in some matters. Our standard rooms, as you say are clean and functional. We offer many room types and prices, the standard rooms represent exceptional value.
We are always making considerable ongoing improvements to our hotel. All our carpets are new, the majority of our bathrooms have been upgraded and we continue to invest and strive to offer good service and value.
With regard to the breakfast which you enjoyed, I have acted on your valuable comment and extended our breakfast times over the weekend. The weekdays remain at two and half hours.
Our supervisor was ill on the day in question, but our younger staff are quite competent. Although it was very busy they thought they could manage without calling in for additional help and became slightly stressed. Normally all staff are helpful and freindly. I have spoken to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

stayed one night after a wedding. food at reception uncooked { vegetables }or nouveau cuisine as they like to call it.choice of wine limited. room clean ,breakfast only 1 hr from 08.30 - 09.30 also check out by 11.00 !! ? these people are living in the past and need to come up to present day standards.had to ask for help finding room at desk since info not forthcoming from owners.polystyrene tiles on ceiling in room.!! { fire hazard or what ?? } kettle in room not working.view was a high stone wall approx 6 feet from window however for one night could live with it.overall impression was of a hotel where rules and times were to suit them not you and you should feel priviliged to stay there.could do with a modernising in facilities & change in customer service attitudes.would'nt stay there again.

Room Tip: don't bother find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Manager at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The vegetables and all meals are discussed with the Bride and Groom before the day, together with any special requests. We accept that not all guests like their vegetables cooked the same way so we are always ready to respond on the day to a guests special request if possible. We have a very extensive wine list of nearly 80 wines, again it is the Bride and Groom's choice on the wines that they wish to offer their guests.
We have reacted to a number of requests from guests to extend our times for breakfast on the weekend, I am glad to say we have now extended our times. Some of our standard rooms have have special ceiling tiles, which many feel, adds some character, they are fire resistant.
We are always making considerable ongoing improvements to our hotel. All our carpets are new, the majority of our bathrooms have been upgraded and we continue to invest in our hotel to strive to offer good service and value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and had 2 rooms in our party. We had booked 2 double rooms when we arrived we were given 1 double and 1 twin. It seemed as they knew one room was single occupancy they changed the room. There were no other double rooms available but we were given it for single rate. The rooms are small but clean with a power shower.they kept the bar open until we had had enough. Breakfast was very average. All in all average b and b in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Manager at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I cannot check back to determine the reasons but appologise if you were given a twin bed room instead of a double for your single occupancy request. I trust that the lower rate we did charge you for the room, partially compensated for this. We are continually training our staff and investing in improvements to the hotel. We are also focussed on providing a high level of service to our guests, well above what would be termed average. It would appear we failed to do so in your case for you to feel we were only average. I am sorry and appologise for not meeting your expectations on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed one night. Room and bathroom was okay, but could do with a little money being spent on it - looking tired.
Food was excellent.
Quiet location, but handy for where I needed to be.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our restaurant. We use mainly locally supplied products and cook everything fresh. More and more people are appreciating our offering.
We are making considerable ongoing improvements to our hotel. All our carpets are new, the majority of our bathrooms have been upgraded and we continue to invest. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The West House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West House Country Hotel

Address: West Street, Llantwit Major CF61 ISP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Llantwit Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The West House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Hotel Country
The West House Country Hotel Llantwit Major, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West House Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.