We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 years in a row, always AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Can Xuxu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Can Xuxu
Save
You added Finca Can Xuxu to your Saves list
Carretera Cala Tarida, S/N | Eivissa, 07830 Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“4 years in a row, always AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I am travelling around the World for business and leisure from the last 15 years and if I have to tip 3 top places for leisure, one is in Ibiza and is Can Xuxu...

Going to Ibiza every single summer since 10 years ago and when finally I found Can XuXu is my only choice for the last 4 years, after staying in several hotels, boutique hotels, etc, around the Island.

If you are looking for a peaceful, quiet, awesome sunsets, easy going sunrises (no noise around!) and the real Ibiza flavour, this is the place... And I really like the options, from a smalll boutique room to a Balinese Villa... and only around 10 rooms available so it is like you are in a big property by yourself!... Really an experience.

Miguel Silva Constenla
@MSilvaConstenla

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    24
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

If you enjoy being made to feel that you should be grateful for staying here - then go!

If you enjoy the arrogant owner swanning around and clearing sunbeds away early so that he can have private poolside dinner parties with his friends - then go!

If you enjoy tiny rooms with broken air conditioning and no views - then go!

If you enjoy not being able to walk anywhere - then go!

If you enjoy being told you cannot have your own water in your room but must instead pay almost 5 euros for a tiny bottle - then go!

If you enjoy not having a refrigerator in your room - then go!

If you enjoy dirty sunbeds frequented by two smelly dogs - then go.

If you enjoy being shouted at and told you are a liar - then go.

All in all it was pretty awful. The owner is rude beyond belief. The place is pretty(ish) but there are much better places around. Alexandre needs to stop running the place as his private hang-out and instead start running it as a hotel.

Truly, truly horrendous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandre n, Propriétaire at Finca Can Xuxu, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
‎There comes a time in my life, when I walk away from all the drama and people who create it.
I surround myself with people who make me laugh send me back good energy and these who forget the bad, and focus on the good. Love the people who treat you right, pray for the ones who don't like you.

Life is too short to be anything but happy. I can not win all the time, falling down is a part of life, getting back up is living.

This is my chance every day running a place like can Xuxu and working hard to share this gem with good people. I am very sorry that you haven't understood what we offered you.

Being arrogant will not bring you anywhere except reaching unhappyness.

kind regards

Alexandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

If you want to spend your holidays there, make sure you doublecheck any bills before settling or you end up paying more than stipulated in the reservation confirmation. And don't ask the owner A. Narakas once you've noticed the cheat for a payback of the difference - he simply does not seem to be aware that he acts unlawfully.

Furthermore make sure not to leave any valuables in your room (no safe available). Or you risk that some of your valuables magically disappear out of your room and are never seen again...

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Excellent hotel... Relax, quit and amazing view
All staff are so nice and helpful.
The owner Alexandre is such great host and helpful to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I'm almost inclined not to tell anyone about this little paradise, and keep it to myself, but that's not fair. This place is such a wonderful haven of beauty and tranquility, and it left us breathless when we first arrived. With only nine rooms, you're ensured your privacy and a feeling of exclusivity. Both the rooms and grounds are stunning, everything has been designed with passion and love (and extremely good taste). Staff and service is super, the breakfasts lovely, lunches and drinks by the pool simple but perfect. Even the dogs are gorgeous (and very entertaining!). We will definitely come back here next time we're in Ibiza!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Can Xuxu is an amazing Finca nested in the middle of an established Mediterranean garden.
We were lucky enough to stay in one of the Javanese antique pavilions and we loved it. Ours even had a private pool and a Balinese day bed.
The decor of the pavilions is very South East Asian chic. The other rooms are more Mediterranean.
The staff are really friendly and relax yet efficient.
The highlight of the day is the breakfast served by the pool and this is the only time you really meet the other guests (all very cool and trendy) as there is plenty of space to ensure privacy and quietness. I would definitely recommend the jams, homemade by the mother of the lovely owner, Alexandre.
In summary, a place we will return to for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Just back from Finca Can Xuxu and have to say (thought I don't want to spread it around) that it is BLISS. Very rustic location (dust paths to it) but the finca is so beautifully restored, the pool is heaven, the rooms gorgeous - although ours the Green Room was very dark (as is typical of an old finca) which was a little oppressive, but we conquered the darkness by leaving our door open. The door also opened out to a terrace with chillout sofas, so when other guests sat here we had to close over our door. The other rooms are brighter and more private.
The owner /host is a perfect gentleman and is brilliant at making you feel at home. He can booked tables/boat trips/onsite massages/ gym etc. for you, which is very handy. The finca is closest to San Jose which is a great centre for an Ibizan holiday. There is a lovely cafe/bar Raco Verd opposite the church in the town and they have wi-fi (a bit hit and miss it has to be said, try the seats nearest the bar) great juices, coffees, milkshakes and you can grab a sandwich here too. At night it turns into a great music bar, definately a place to have a drink or two. There is also a fantastic tapas restaurant - il Destino -facing the church square, the food is very good - another San Jose must.
Can Xuxu itself doesn't have many rooms so very often you have the pool to yourself and it feels like you own the place (one can but dream). Fresh flowers in the room every day, bathrobes, fresh croissants, coffee and orange juice under the olive trees in the morning (or try the fresh fruit salad - delicious!) You can have lunch too on request. There is an honesty bar with beers and juices for pool side drinks but (being Irish) I prefer to have access to a full bar. Nothing beats a cocktail in the sun!
Not exactly the place for a bunch of kids - unless they are extremely well behaved! The rooms don't have mini-bars or stereos/TV's but if peace and tranquility are what you're after in a simple luxurious setting it may be the place for you. I would certainly recommend it. Just don't tell too many people!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Can Xuxu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Can Xuxu

Address: Carretera Cala Tarida, S/N | Eivissa, 07830 Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAN XUXU is..........An address to be whispered among friends. Can Xuxu was a Finca acquired by my family 20 years ago which gently and slowly evolved into what is today. Can Xuxu is today one of the most hip and stylish villa around the island, combining comfortable luxury with modern, ethnic and Mediterranean flair. After 20 years of enjoying the unique laid back Ibiza style with my friends, I realized it was the lifestyle that I was dreaming of. Now I share the wealth with my friends...-Alexandre Narakas Atmosphere and StyleOriginally build in the 19th century, Can Xuxu is situated on one hectare on the hillside of a landscaped, luscious tropical garden and has been entirely restored. The property kept its original flavor, a beautiful combination of Ibizencan style and ethnic modern Asian touches that create a unique harmony. All around the property you can see one of a kind pieces that I brought back from my many trips around the world. The Finca is an oasis of peace and tranquility, where the scents of orange blossom, rosemary and lavender blend to indulge your senses. The Finca has rooms with private terraces, suites with chill out corners with sea view. It is the perfect alternative with the vibes of a villa with luxury services. LocationCan Xuxu is located on a hill, on the Westside of the island near San Jose village, 2 km away from some of the most beautiful beaches of Ibiza with a magnificent view of the island of Conejera and the sunset. The Finca is only 20 minutes away from downtown Ibiza and 15 minutes from the local airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Can Xuxu Hotel Ibiza Town
Finca Can Xuxu Ibiza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Can Xuxu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.