We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Star Ibiza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Star Ibiza to your Saves list
The Beach Star Ibiza
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/La Coruna 2-4, 07830 Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Okay, I'll start off with the good bits. The staff in this hotel are honestly wonderful, the location is fantastic, right on the beach and it was very clean. That's sadly where it ended. We booked a room with air conditioning for 5 nights. For 2 nights we had no electricity, let alone air conditioning. When we got to our room we found a lizard in the fridge and no air conditioning. We were then moved twice and the third room was the best: this doesn't say a lot. The toilet was broken so you had to manually flush, the fridge door was broken, still had no air conditioning, there was no sweeping brush in the room (minor issue but with a beach holiday there's a lot of sand) and the shower was broken so it could not be mounted so you had to hold the shower head in your hand. Outside the room wasn't much better, there was no bar, restaurant, tv or entertainment in the hotel (this was during the World Cup) and the only vending machine only sold water. This was booked as a basic hotel by a young couple who have stayed in some pretty bad places but the basics weren't even met in this hotel. DO NOT BOOK IT!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't pay for an air conditioned room because you don't get air conditioning either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the direction of Calas de Ibiza Apartments,we would like to apologize for not being able to reach your expectations.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the problems with the air conditioning as it actually had a point fault and got repaired as indicated by a few days later because they were waiting for a part to replace the machine; other failures of the room ,as soon as you let know the reception, the problems were solved by our maintenance teams.

The Calas de Ibiza Apartments, as published in the official website of Playasol Hotel Group has no restaurant, bar or animation.

We again apologize and we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Calas de Ibiza Apartments with everyone on Tripadvisor and we appreciate your positive feedback about our location and the kindness of our staff .

We invite you to choose again Playasol Hotel Group to see that we have taken note of all your comments and we have corrected all the errors because we want our clients to leave with a good impression of their stay in Ibiza.

Yours sincerely,

Gonzalo Riesco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    23
    8
    28
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at this hotel and as last time was perfect its in a excellent location just by the beach were u can get a water taxi to san Antonio. Rooms were spotless cleab with everything you need and aircon in the bedroom and living area. The staff are very friendly and help u with anything you need and the chap who does the lates never fails to put a smile on your face never met anyone as happy at 2am! For what u pay this is the perfect base for a ibiza holiday with plenty bars and restaurants close! We would recommend relish which is just round the corner and does great steaks. We will definitely be back either this year or next!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all , we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Calas de Ibiza Apartments with everyone on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to see all your positive comments about the location, our cleaning service and the friendliness of our staff, which we are going to transmit all your nice comments.

We hope to see you soon in Calas de Ibiza Apartments.

Yours sincerely,

Gonzalo Riesco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north lincolnshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After staying a couple of years ago in Sant Antonio (which was the worst apartment I had stayed in), my friend and I wanted somewhere to stay which was more relaxed and not full of drunken people.

This apartment was fantastic and upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were really lovely, especially Jordi, who worked on the reception. Nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms consisted of a bathroom, a bedroom and lounge area with a balcony. It had a TV, toaster, some cooking facilities and a kettle which you boil on the stove. The rooms were a little dated, but were welcoming, clean and great value for money.

There were no drunken tourists spoiling the atmosphere and sleeping was no trouble at all.

I was a bit concerned as before we travelled, I had read some negative reviews, although most of them were positive. By our experience you should ignore all the negative feedback. All I can say is that it was a really pleasant experience and so glad we chose this hotel. I would definitely use this hotel again and it is not often I say this.

If you are looking to be rowdy or part of a stag/hen party and you want to be located in the heart of Sant Antonio then this hotel is not for you and to be perfectly honest the hotel would not want you there.

However, if you would like somewhere very friendly, relaxed, clean, accommodation with everything you need, not to be hassled by noise or drunks, and located in a more peaceful part of town but still within walking distance to bars etc.... then this is the place for you.

It really helps to make your holiday when the accommodation is right for you, and in this case it was perfect.

Thank you to Jordi and all the staff for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

On the behalf of all staff at the CALAS DE IBIZA APARTMENTS we are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Ibiza.

We try to improve ourselves day by day and you gave us the reason why we continue hardworking. Your satisfaction is our main goal and we are glad that in your case we reached your expectations.

We hope you will choose the PLAYA SOL HOTEL GROUP as your holiday destination also another time, so that we could see you again in our establishment.

Kind regards,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a nice long week end in ibiza this place was FABULOUS every night we went to a different place in the area, Clean tidy and not expensive as budgeted place we will return again for our next holidays.
We recommend to all of our friends and family.

Room Tip: Well RECOMMENDED, if you travelling for a change of english wether , please consider it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the PLAYA SOL HOTEL GROUP as your holiday accommodation to stay in Ibiza.

We are glad to hear you were satisfied in CALAS DE IBIZA. We try to improve our services day by day and this is a huge motivation for us to read the comments like yours.

Once again thank you for your time to write a comment and we hope we can see you again in our establishment.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Basic but good value for money, friendly staff and fresh towels delivered to your door every morning, nice pool area if you don't want the rustle an bustle of the local beach. Even though its on the wrong side of San Antonio bay it's a nice walk round to main town San Antonio. And if you fancy a cheap pint of sangria try the oasis bay cafe opposite the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the PLAYA SOL HOTEL GRUPO as your holidays accomodation in Ibiza.

We are so glad to hear that you were satisfied during your stay in CALAS DE IBIZA APARTMENTS. Right this is the motivation for us to keep improving our services.

We hope that you come back the next season. It would be a pleasure to see you again in our establishment.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Came here as a couple summer 2012,

The hotel is situated in a great place close to a little beach, lots of bars and restaurants of very good price (ignore Ibiza restaurants are dear) and mini golf a short walk away. Peppers was the best bar we went to, really friendly staff and spent majority of holiday there. Hotel staff spoke little English and hard to find, our room was cleaned daily with bedding and sheets so we can't complain. The hotel has no entertainment or bar and food service it was like a derelict building- luckily there's a shop next door. Whilst we were here we heard a few families had money stolen out of their locked rooms! Pool are is nice with enough sun loungers although lay at the pool you could see the balconies crumbling away.. Accident waiting to happen?
We did a few lovely trips to beaches and boat rides- which is worth it was Ibiza beaches aren't the best!
All in all had a great holiday would defiantly return to Ibiza again just maybe not this hotel.. But you get what you pay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you that you have chosen us to spend your holidays in Ibiza, and you have taken time to write your comments.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in Ibiza and we hope to see you again this season in CALAS DE IBIZA.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hi,we have stayed here before we love the location,and the views over the bay,it is so handy to bars shops and see bus.Maids in every day changing towels etc don't get that nowdays.
I want to thank George and rosa for all they done for us are great Spanish friends.
lorna and len norther Ireland.

Room Tip: great views of the beach on south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at The Beach Star Ibiza, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Iorna196,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our company PLAYASOL HOTEL GROUP for your holidays in Ibiza.

We are really glad that you enjoyed the stay at CALAS DE IBIZA APARTMENTS and thank you for the great motivation you gave us with your positive commentary.

We hope that you visit us the next season; it will be a pleasure to see you again at our establishment.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Star Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Star Ibiza

Address: C/La Coruna 2-4, 07830 Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Star Ibiza 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Beach Star Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calas De Ibiza Hotel Sant Josep
The Beach Star Ibiza Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Star Ibiza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.