We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average standard courses. Overpriced.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Son Antem Golf Club

Son Antem Golf Club
Hwy Ma 19, exit 20 | Marriott Vacation Club, 07620 Llucmajor, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 12 92 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Llucmajor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Son Antem Golf Club boasts two 18-hole golf courses on the Mediterranean island of Mallorca. The resort is located in beautiful surroundings with woods, old olive trees and breathtaking views towards the Randa mountain. The Golf Academy is one of the biggest in Europe.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Average standard courses. Overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

90 to 100 euro green fee or 56 euro twilight rate. Add in 6 euro for each pull trolley. 49 if you want a buggy. For two courses that are at best okay.

Positives included reasonable greens, some nice feature holes and well sign posted. Negatives would be a number of poor standard T boxes, long walks between greens and Ts, poor bunkers, the odd dodgy green and lots of bare fairway patches. Plus the fact that for one of our rounds the pin position information was wrong on many greens. If you go to the trouble of having maps and numbers on the card use them.

On my home course here in Ireland; Moate GC, a visitor can play during the week for €20 and €25 on Sat/Sun and it is a much higher standard.

The courses did not appear busy at any stage. If they drop their prices and they will get more business.

To be fair to Son Antem we did also play Maoiris GC (nearby) and it was €75 - so it seems Majorca is over priced in general for golf.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, Fife
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Top Location in Majorca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Over the past 6 years of so we have stayed at Son Antem as often as twice a year. We have never been disappointed by the standard of accommodation of our rented villas. We have stayed in one, two and three bedroom properties and always the accommodation has been excellent. The setting is very special and only a stone's throw from Palma. There are plenty of cycling and walking options and although we normally visit at the beginning of the year there is enough to keep us entertained. Majorca is a very special island particularly off season. Around Son Antem there are plenty of small pleasant villages to visit with traditionally Spanish bars and restaurants. Son Antem has two good golf courses with a very good golf school and driving range. A car is an essential although the trip from the airport is an inexpensive taxi ride. Worth a stay at any time. Typical Marriot's high quality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Vista Verde”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

A lovely setting for only an average menu. Service was very good. Perfect for food after golf but I wouldn't go out of my way there.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The West course is the higher rated course, but I did not find it as enjoyable as the East. If you play here play east, scenery, course condition, pace of play, hole layout, all better. I dont think the provide the amenites to warrant 100 euro round, it just seems that this is not run even close to many of the other Marriott courses I have played. Course condition on both was ok, greens were very fast which I like, fairway was decent, team boxes a little beat up, traps were crap. Rental clubs are good clubs (taylor made) but 50 euro a pop, a trolly will run you 10 euro, and a buggy 50 euro, so its easy to ring up 150 euro+ before leaving the clubhouse. Even though I find that on the high end, I can live with that, and actually still not be upset about it, but it was the small things they didnt include that really irked me. You have to pay for tees (I have played course 1/4 of the price that give you tees) there is not drinking water on the course, and nobody tells you this you find out after about the 10th hole when you are thirsty and nothing is around not even a working vending machine, saw a marshall one time in two days, no cart service, you get the idea. Seems like some of the money spent on Stihl power equipment and logo'd landscaping carts could be put back to making the actual service to your golfers better. Again these are not bad courses and could be worth the money, but they are a bit mismanaged. my advice for what its worth:
1. Have water on the course, or at least give golfers a bottled water, this is SOP at almost every course.
2.Give people tees, they are cheap and you are not giving a high end golf course when charging for tees.
3. Make buggy and club rental a little cheaper, in fact reduce the price of a round by 30% and people will play 2-3 times more during their stay.
4. Have a cart person out selling drinks and snacks, or have them available on the course, you can charge at a mark up and people will be happy to pay.
5. Have marshalls around to give advice and keep pace of play
I think if these factors were fixed they would honestly improve your sales, and your guests golf rounds.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windisch, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Golf”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

As Written already in the Son Antem Hotel resort review, the Golf course is disappointing. Greens cannot be called that and the bunkers with the little sand and the many small stones can be a health risk.
The their defense: I talked to the Ranger and he told me that they had some insect infestation that damaged the roots of the grass. I do understand this, but I had to pay full price for golf courses that where below standard.

However I highly recommend the restaurant in the club house. Some of the best foods I had recently. Try the different tapas.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Antem Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Son Antem Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Antem Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.