We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IBEROSTAR Son Antem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added IBEROSTAR Son Antem to your Saves list
IBEROSTAR Son Antem
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Ma 19 | Salida #20, 07620 Llucmajor, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Mallorca Marriott Son Antem Golf Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Llucmajor
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights on an all inclusive basis. I travelled with my sister and my two girls aged 7 and 3. We got an excellent deal from Alpharooms.

Location: This hotel is approximately 15-20 minutes from the airport and about 15 minutes away from the nearest beach (C'an Pastille/S'Arenal). As neither of us were confident enough to drive, we had a few day trips out to the beach via taxi. This was approximately 20 euros one way. We didn't mind that it was a bit out of the way, as we wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday but it does work out costly to travel by taxi (there are no bus services). There is a car hire desk in the hotel (Sixt) for those wanting to hire a vehicle. A minibus service to C'an Pastille/S'Arenal, would be a great addition to this hotel.

Rooms: Our room was exceptionally clean and modern with air conditioning. Soap, shampoo, bath soak, conditioner and body lotion provided and replenished regularly. Towels changed every day. In our room we had two double beds and luxury pillows -no problem getting off to sleep! Very well maintained and decorated. TV with English channels - ITV, BBC, etc. Iron, iron board and hairdryer as well as a free safe. Although there were two adults, there was only one bathrobe in the room but this was not an issue because it was too hot for them anyway! I am sure they would have brought another to the room if we wanted one. As we were all inclusive we had a fridge with water, Lager and Coke. Lots of wardrobe space. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The walls are quite thin and I did worry about the children disturbing others but otherwise, I couldn't fault the rooms at all.

Meals/Restaurant: We stayed on an AI basis and we felt this represented excellent value for money. Breakfast - a good selection of fruit, cheese, ham, croissants, bread, jam, cereals, etc. Eggs cooked fresh - scrambled, poached, fried, omlettes etc. There was usually streaky bacon and chipolata sausages, beans and tomatoes. Lunch consisted of a good selection of salad, ham, cheese, pasta, selection of breads and then paella, pasta, fish, chicken nuggets, chips. Show cooking every day at lunch and dinner and the menu changed daily. Desserts usually a choice of 2-3 cakes and fresh fruit. In the evenings there was a barbeque every night with a selection of fish/chicken/sausages/baked potatoe/sweetcorn/burgers etc and then inside there was always pasta/paella/ selection of vegetables/chips or potatoes/salads/cheese/pate/
selection of breads etc and desserts the same as lunch time. There was even freshly cooked lobster one night. There was always a good selection and we all enjoyed the food. The only problem here was that the food wasn't always kept hot enough but from the responses I have seen on trip advisor, it does look like the hotel are addressing this issue.

Drinks: I was impressed by the AI drinks menu - almost everything was included apart from champagne and a 20 year old cognac. All the named spirits were included. As far as I know, there were no snacks available on the AI plan and there were only small tubs of ice cream included from the pool bar. It would be nice if the children could have at least had a choice of an ice lolly/ice pops.

Gardens/Outside area:The surroundings were beautiful and very well maintained. It was a really lovely safe place for the children to play and run around in. There was a lovely little adventure playground next to the pool. The pool area was well maintained and the lifeguards (especially the young lady) kept the area very clean and tidy. Sunbeds were usually taken up by around 11.

Kids: There was a kids club just being set up as we arrived. The kids really enjoyed being with Paco, Veronica and Sebastian. The kids were always kept in the shade and amused with a variety of activities and games. You could see the children playing whilst relaxing around the pool. I could see that the kids club was developing and more kids were joining in every day.

Entertainment - not available every night. The kids loved the spanish dancers and I really enjoyed the chillout music. There was a very relaxed, chill out feel in the evenings. There wasn't a mini disco every night but we didn't miss it to be honest. The kids were happy to just make friends and run around outdoors.

Staff: All the staff we dealt with were brilliant. From the cleaners to the managers, they were all very friendly and welcoming. Check in staff were efficient, knowledgeable and very helpful. Restaurant staff were excellent. Kids club staff brilliant. I have read a review where someone has said there were no lifeguards but when I was there, there was someone present every day.

From the other reviews, it is clear that there have been some teething problems since the hotel changed to Iberostar but from what I could see, the staff were extremely pro-active, helpful, hard working and pleasant and it looked like they were interviewing for more staff and there were new staff being trained in the restaurant.

All in all we had a fabulous time at Son Antem. I would highly recommend this hotel and would most definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    173
    76
    16
    12
See reviews for
175
193
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel seven times over the last twelve years, whilst it was in the hands of the Marriott chain, I'm reasonably well placed to give a view on how the new Iberostar management compares.

Overall it seems that a lot of the nice things / value add items have been stripped out and whilst on their own they aren't significant, together they do mean something.

This is the crux of the matter; if you have been to the hotel before then you will notice changes and you will notice that the hotel is not as good as before; if you haven't been before then this hotel is still good - just not anywhere near as good as it was before.

So in terms of changes; these are some of the things that we noticed:

Staffing - it seems the Marriott staff have been retained so that means great people like Marga and Carlos at breakfast and Stoycho to rely on for all your in-hotel needs. What we did notice though was that staffing levels seemed to have been cut dramatically. We would wait 10 minutes at breakfast for teas / coffees, often at reception only one person was manning the front desk; only one lifeguard was on duty at the pool etc.

Food - The presentation of the food has been improved massively. Aesthetically, I would give the buffet top marks but it was lacking in variety versus previous (an example of this at breakfast being that you used to have four fruit juices on offer, now it's just two etc etc) and also the quality was lacking - breakfast just didn't taste good this year. This was a recurring theme across a number of people we met in the resort, they had enough of the food (breakfast and dinner) after a few days of staying in the hotel.

Housekeeping - when we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready (despite advising the hotel numerous times of our arrival time). This was ok though as we pack swimming stuff in our hand luggage; so off to the pool we went. I checked again at 12pm and again at 2pm and still no room. Finally at 4:30pm we got the keys to our room. We always get the same flight time to Mallorca and this has never ever happenned before. Housekeeping should be prioiritised so that rooms for new arrivals are made ready earlier.

Also each day after being by the pool we would play the how many towels have we got in our room game. Some days it would be two, others it would be three and then on some days we would get four but no flannels - always a fun game to play with the kids as you walk back to the room (we had four people in the room)!!!!

One nice thing that has now gone is the evening turndown service and the little chocolates that used to be left on your pillow. Another example of Iberostar cutting the niceities (along with the weekly meet the management drinks reception which again has now gone).

Holidaymakers - this is where we noticed a big change. The resort has more of a package holiday feel about it and this is certainly the case with a number of the guests from England. Not the usual sort of clientele that you would expect. I guess another example of it not feeling as special as before...

Summary - We absolutely love this place and in a way these changes are really heartbreaking for us as we've only been to this resort for holidays over the last twelve years and it has always felt special to us. A lot of the specialness has now gone and so we wouldn't be going back. I wish it wasn't like that but that is the truth.

So in summary if you have been before, I'd recommend not going again. If you haven't been before then maybe it is worth a try.

Room Tip: Rooms 289 and 291 have large balconies overlooking the main entrance to the hotel. Pool facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Son Antem, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we are sorry to hear that your recent experience at our IBEROSTAR Son Antem was not as enjoyable as your previous holidays, we are grateful for the time you spent to write your impressions as this helps us know how to improve in our services to deliver unforgettable holiday’s experiences to all our guests.
It is true that the hotel has gone through some changes since we took over the management of this beautiful establishment in the Majorcan countryside, however we do our best to guarantee the high quality standards imposed by the company on a global level; Nevertheless we understand that clients from previous years may not be familiar with the changes and new management of the hotel, like for example the fact that our hotel now caters also for All inclusive guests.
We deeply apologize for the delay that you experienced at the time of check in. Our normal Check in time starts at 14.00, we will pass on your comment to our head of department in order to guarantee the following of this standard as well as an unbeatable room service from our housekeeping team.
On the other hand we are grateful for the highlight on the presentation of our buffet offer, for IBEROSTAR the gastronomy is one of our prime pillars and our professional chefs do their utmost to prepare a wide range of local and international delights in order to please all palates, we will continue doing our best to ensure that every dining experience allows our guests to savor different flavors at every single meal.
Once again, thank you for your visit and your constructive critics that we will definitely take into consideration to improve in our daily work, hoping to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future and ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.
Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 5 days at this resort, was a bit worried after reading the negative reviews but we really enjoyed our stay. Located about 15 minutes drive from Palma airport, car rental would be advisable, as it is in the middle of the countryside. Check-in was very fast, the receptionist was very professional and gave us a lovely room with a nice view of the golf course. We were asked if we needed help with luggage but as we were travelling light we did not require assistance.

The room was very big, lots of storage, balcony, great bathroom with robes etc. The breakfast buffet gets busy around 10, but on one day we went at 8:30 and it was nice and relaxed. Great selection of food and drinks, you can even have a glass of bubbly if you wish. The pool has lots of sun loungers but many of them get reserved with towels from early in the morning. One the last day we received a complimentary bottle of wine which was a nice touch, but no wine glasses or cork screw. We made a call to housekeeping and a very friendly member of staff named Mateo arrived with 2 glasses and opened the wine for us.

A few things that did not impress me: No slippers in the room (something you expect from a 5 star hotel), no complimentary water in the room, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, the walls are very thin and you can hear noise from the room next door (no soundproofing), the towels at the pool were not very good quality and had lots of rips in them, it is also not clear where to get the pool towels from - no sign and there is also a lack of life guards on duty at the main pool.
Overall, the hotel is fabulous and we had a very relaxing time and would definitely return. As previous reviews have stated they hotel is understaffed and I think if Iberostar want this hotel to succeed and get a good reputation they need to hire more staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked a short stay at this hotel before our villa became available. It was the highlight to our trip and we enjoyed the hotel. The food and service were amazing. An international mix of up market clientele and a great treat. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms may be nicer if you are staying with a family and for longer than a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

There have been quite a lot of negative reviews recently, and prior to my visit I was a little worried the hotel would not be as I expected.
It was quite the opposite. Firstly check in was quick. Our bags were taken to our excellent room by the porter promptly and politely. The standard of accommodation was very good with a large room which was clean and comfortable.
The standard of food is excellent in the restaurant. We were greeted with politeness and efficiency upon requesting a table. We sometimes needed to book ahead but we were a party of 6. We were always accommodated on the terrace as requested.
As a hotel guest you have access to the spa and pools which are excellent.
Overall, this is a great hotel and I would recommend this. I understand expectations from a five star hotel are high, but in my opinion this hotel meets those expectations. Car hire is essential, as expected if you stay in the countryside. I look forward to booking a return holiday at this hotel. Well done Iberostar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lovely 10 days. The staff were helpful, the food was very good with lots of choice, the hotel was quiet with low key entertainment, the beds were large and comfy and the aircon quiet but very efficient , the pools and facilities, bar, gym, golf and running were great. On the negative side the bar bill was pricey and the cleaner woke us up at 8.50 a couple of times until we found the DND sign and left a tip then all was fine. Overall we would go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After reading other reviews before visiting I was a bit concerned. No need to worry. The hotel was very well maintained and spotless. All the staff I spoke to were very helpful and happy to assist. Our room had a pool view and was very quiet as any entertainment finished nice and early. My only criticism was the running and jumping at the pool. The Life Guard didn't seem to have any authority but kids behaving so badly is really down to poor parenting. Overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IBEROSTAR Son Antem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Son Antem

Address: Carretera Ma 19 | Salida #20, 07620 Llucmajor, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Mallorca Marriott Son Antem Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Llucmajor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Llucmajor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Son Antem 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Son Antem 5-star hotel is in South Majorca, very close to Palma and the best beaches on the island. In a charming natural setting, the hotel is in a traditional Mediterranean style and features beautiful rooms and a refined atmosphere. Discover this resort on a wonderful island with mild Mediterranean weather where you can play golf or just relax in the magnificent hotel spa. You are offered everything you need to get away to the Mediterranean in this Majorca golf and spa hotel with 151 ample rooms (including eight ample suites), which were all renovated in 2012. A perfect place to enjoy a fantastic holiday with your partner, friends or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your IBEROSTAR Son Antem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallorca Marriott Son Antem Golf Resort And Spa
Mallorca Marriott Son Antem Golf Hotel Llucmajor
Marriott Vacation Club Llucmajor
Mallorca Marriott Son Antem Hotel
Marriott Lluchmayor
Llucmajor Marriott
IBEROSTAR Son Antem Spain/Llucmajor, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IBEROSTAR Son Antem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.