We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmeras Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Las Palmeras Apartments to your Saves list
Las Palmeras Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Urbanizacion S'Algar, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, set out lovely. Bunalows great, one bedroom, everything you need for self catering and all have pool views. There isnt a lot to do if you want to get out and about but its a lovely place. Theres a couple of restaurants and supermarkets where you can get everything you need. Also a bakery. These are in a little square about 10min walk away from hotel. Beach is about 20 min walk its nice but small with a restaurant/bar but its not easy to get to as its down a narrow path.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Kerry C,

Tahnk you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Las Palmeras.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    105
    41
    8
    9
See reviews for
171
77
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a bungalow at Las Palmeras it was ideal for two of us,we stayed AI,but there was a small hob ,plates and cutlery if you wanted either bed & breakfast or self catering.
The whole complex was very clean staff very friendly.The food was plentiful and varied lots of salads all in all plenty to eat.
The walk to the San Luis was easy entertainment there was varied only marred for us by the rudeness of the entertainments guy! also the people staying at the San Luis did not like the coloured bands from other hotels being there.
Bus stop right outside hotel for bus into Mahon which has got to be a must to visit lovely place.
Looking forward to going back in 2014 x

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jawa49,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We have forwarded your comment about the entertainment boy to the Human Resources department.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just got back from a weeks holiday with our Family of 6, having 4 boys aged 16, 15, 13 & 9. We also travelled with our friends with a family of 4, 2 boys aged 15 & 9. All the reviews on this site are spot on with this complex - being clean facilities & accommodation, friendly service, good food, plenty of space and not being too overcrowded.
We stayed in block 23A & 23B which literally overlooked the pool area which, so we was told, is the biggest pool on the island!
You will love this place when you arrive! The apartments are really spacious and very clean having a seperate kitchen area with a kettle provided along with a microwave (that's if you need it!) and all the crockery etc.
We stayed AI and, although you could say it was repetitve in its style, the food was good overall. Breakfast (8.30am - 10am) always consisted of fried eggs (the best in my opinion) with bacon (yes it was good!) and choices of mushrooms, tomatoes, small hotdog sausages and beans. There was always a good selection of fruit and cold salads and cereals together with the "help yourself" toasting of bread option.
Lunch (1pm - 2.30pm) & Dinner (7pm - 9.30pm) consisted of various hot & cold meals with the best dessert option when the Profiteroles were on offer - you can imagine that they all soon got swiped!!
We spent all but 1 of our days around the pool area which was never overcrowded and you would sometimes have the pool to yourself with one or two in!
Sunbeds were plentiful and the area was always kept spotless. There is a pool bar were you can get all your drinks plus the option of salted crisps and ice cream & lollies.
In comparison to the sister hotel (which is only the 10 minute walk away) this is a very busy venue with a smaller pool with lots more sunbeds in a smaller area than ours.
We walked down to the hotel in the evening for the entertainment but there was only 1 person serving on the outside bar and became a chore in getting your drinks in - in comparison with the Las Palmeras where getting served was much much easier.
We walked to the beach at Alcufar (approx 25 mins away) and was really worth the walk as this is a very picturesque place where you can swim out far from a shallow, secluded bay.
All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing & peacful place to put your feet up then this is the place. What's good for the teenagers is that they can choose to go to the other hotel where they can get free tennis, table tennis, football & a large chess game to pass there time.
Try the Pizzeria at the Apartments if you are a pizza lover. You won't be disappointed. AI customers will have to pay though a 25% discount off the price......& the steaks are also out of this world!
We will consider to return to this beautiful place in the not to distant future.
Also nearly forgot to mention Paco & his very hard working team. You were really made welcome at this place as soon as you arrived and the service was never a problem to them.
Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: All apartments on this complex are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Gary4_13,

We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your holidays in Las Palmeras. Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you all soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

S'Algar is an excellent, quiet resort.

Las Palmeras is for families not couples or solos. It is isolated from the beach by a vertical hike of over 1000 metres. I stress vertical! Not good after an evening meal in one of the two open restaurants in the town or the very busy main San Luis hotel some 600 metres away, especially when the road train shuttle finishes early in the evening.

We paid extra for a garden bungalow. These are a linked terrace with a strip of grass between them and the noisy family pool. You are separated by a full wall of floor to ceiling sliding doors, so not good for privacy. the words garden bungalow have clearly not travelled to this corner of Menorca.

We asked the rep to move us to Los Naranjos, which was supposed to be part of the same group, nearer the beach/town Los Naranjos. She was very useless and told us to speak to reception. They informed us that it was no longer in the same group. Had to pay for the accommodation again but worth the expense to get away from Las Palmeras.

Room Tip: Well worth the walk to the next cove to see the tortoises at Picalo Mondos in Alcaufar. It is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Tamonty,
Thank you for your review.
Everyone is more than welcome at Las Palmeras (couples, solos, families...)
Regarding the noise in the bungalows, the are right on the swimming pool are, perhaps next time you would like to try a standard or sea view apartment, located just behind, so they are more quite.
We are really sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We hope to have the chance to acommodate you again and henance your perception of Las Palmeras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

As an older couple we felt it wasn't for us in some ways, but the staff, especially the manager were so helpful and extremely pleasant. The apt was good and had everything we needed. The complex extremely pleasant. First few days spoiled by drunken Brits, but given it was "all inclusive" some people feel they have to abuse this. The food was plentiful and lots of choice. Would definite recommend but we felt S'Algar wasn't for us, we walked to Punta Prima over the cliffs as we like the beach and it was worth the walk. Alcafar was a nice little village in walking distance also. We didn't hire a car this time but it is worth hiring a car to get around more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Kathhal,

Everyone is more than welcome (couples, solos, families,...) in Las Palmeras.
One of our goals is to offer peace and comfort to all our clients, it's not usual that clients are ennoyed by others.
To hire a car is a must if you want to explore and visit all the lovely spots that the island offers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just got back after a weeks stay at La Palmeras. Paco is a great manager and nothing is too much trouble and he has fantastic staff who work very hard. The reviews for this hotel are very true...it is spotlessly clean both inside the apartments and the pool area. Very large pool area with plenty of sunbeds available each day so need for reserving them with your towels. The food on the AI basis was great, always fresh and a varied variety each day..even my fussy daughter loved the food. Paco would also arrange for a picnic lunch for you take if you were away for the day. The free train each evening was great and one night we had missed the last one back from the San Luis hotel and the train driver took us back to Las Palmeras in his car.....how kind was that. I would definitely recomend this hotel as it was a first rate hotel with first class manager and staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer982,

We appreciate your lovely comments about your stay in Las Palmeras. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with your family.
We will forward your comments about the good service to the staff.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just got back after a 2 week break at las palmeras, this is our 4th year in a row and every time it gets better.
Paco the hotel manager is first class and nothing is to much for him and his team. The resort is spotless, I've never seen such a clean and well maintained resort. You have the best of both worlds at the las palmeras, if you want peace and quiet you can stay at las palmeras, if you want activities and entertainment you can use the facilities at the San Luis where if your AI all the drinks are included also. The Sports bar there do toasties if you only want a snack.
Can't wait to go back again next summer.
Thank you again Paco and your team for a job well done

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at Las Palmeras Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Vince R,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Las Palmeras once again.

We will forward your comments to Paco and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmeras Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmeras Apartments

Address: Urbanizacion S'Algar, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Palmeras Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Las Palmeras Complex is situated in the upper part of the Resort, next to the wonderful Nature Area of Rafalet and 600m from the center with it's shop's, supermarket, diving center and the small bay of S'Algar. The complex has 72 apartments with 1 double bedroom. They are all very bright and have a pleasant terrace, double bedroom with 2 single beds next to each other, a living-dining area with 2 sofa beds (80 x 170 cm), kitchen and fully equipped bathroom. They are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, an equipped kitchen including a refrigerator, glass-top stove and microwave, fully equipped bathroom featuring a bathtub with shower and hairdryer, Wi-Fi (fee) and safe (upon request, for a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Las Palmeras Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmeras Apartments Hotel s`Algar
Las Palmeras Apartments s Algar
Las Palmeras Apartments Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmeras Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.