We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it says on packet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Luis to your Saves list
Hotel San Luis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in S'Algar
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not what it says on packet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My comments will totally endorse those by teignmouthtraveler and "over subscibed".
As a hotel the staff, cleanliness and catering are really very good but the one thing that has made me decide never to go back is the fact that other non residents can use the hotels facilities.We booked through First Choice, and to the best of my knowledge, I do not remember seeing, I maybe wrong, it stating that people staying at other locations can have use of all that you have paid a lot more than they have for. Thomas Cook have some apartments close by that are really quite cheap to rent for a week or so, and Trip Advisor has reviews on those apartments saying they are the "worst ever stayed in", "filthy bed linen ", "dreadful toilets" etc etc etc. Now all of those people can take a short 150 yard walk and have everything at their disposal that you have, all inclusive. Drink, food, entertainment, everything. So you ask why spend £300 pp a week more to stay in hotel to sleep as you spend so little time in room?
The pressure on bars, restaurant and general running of hotel is for all to see.
One major downside of this arrangement manifested itself last week in the soaring temperatures.It was really annoying to see people from apartments come in through back gate early in the morning, place the ever trusted sunbed towel, then nip off back to apartment to re-emerge later in the morning and watch the hotel guests, that have paid a lot more for their holiday, scavenge around trying to find somewhere to lie.I dont want to have to get up at 7.30 to try to compete with this, I am on holiday..... Also there is an acute shortage of parasols, bearing in mind that the pool is quite small and due to non residents inclusion, the beds are so close to each other if you do turn over you can elbow the person on the bed next to you, and so parasols in soaring temperatures are a gift from above, but you have no chance if Mr apartment has beaten you to it.
I would love to go back but sadly I wont unless things were different, but as resort has no supermarket for people staying in apartments as such then I cannot see this ever changing and if I go back to a lovely part of Menorca again I would go to say Punta Prima.
There is so much that is good about this hotel, in fact I arrived on my birthday and they sent a small box of chocolates up to my room,the staff are amazing and friendly, the rooms are of a good quality and kept spotless, the restaurant is more than adequate, run by a brilliant maitre' de and his staff, BUT if you consider booking in here be prepared to be packed in like sardines around a swimming pool, queue for food and drinks and get really bad seats for the entertainment because the person causing those issues are paying a lot less for their holiday than you are. I just wish I had seen a Thomas Cook brochure before I went then I would never have book holiday through First Choice. Seems they want, from next May they want to put in their Premier range of hotels. Will not be worth what it will cost you to stay there.
Big shame

Room Tip: Read the brochure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director Comercial at Hotel San Luis, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for writing this review. Rest assured that we will forward your comments to all staff involved.
We are very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations due to the Hotel being very busy. We want to note that next season apartments customer will not be allowed to use any facilities at all in Hotel San Luis.
We hope to have the chance in the future to enhance your perception of Hotel San Luis and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    307
    105
    38
    24
See reviews for
257
428
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived on the 12th July travelling as a family, my husband, 2 boys 18 & 16 yrs & myself. The reception staff we're brilliant & our room was available straight away even though we arrived well before 12. The food was amazing. Plenty of variety & the fish & fruit we're so fresh. All staff we're polite & friendly especially the maid who cleaned our room most days -she was lovely. The only reasons I'm not giving it 5 out of 5 are as follows: on a couple of mornings people in adjoining rooms we're noisy & the sound really seems to carry. Secondly I really don't like cigarette smoke it affects my eyes & although inside was no smoking outside was not & this meant we had to often move during the entertainment which was outside.
All inclusive was great, not much in the way of snacks although crisps & ice creams available however we pretty much never needed anything as so full from main meals. Lots of sunbeds, two lovely pools & the entertainment team work so hard our lads especially enjoyed the water polo. Husband & oldest sun also went on the guided bike ride which they really enjoyed.
All in all we had a fab time & I would recommend this hotel. The area doesn't have much although we enjoyed swimming in the sea. If you want good food, relaxing but some stuff to do this is the place.

Room Tip: Sea view worth extra plus ask to be 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director Comercial at Hotel San Luis, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,
we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and want to thank you for writing a review giving us feedback of our service.
We would like it very much to accommodate you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The big spoiler of this hotel is the ammount of people that are (quite legitimately ) to use it ,If you are staying in the locality you can use the all inclusive facilities ,many different packages and wristband colours to be seen ,this places the greatest pressure on the restaurant and it`s staff and the bars ,in particular the pool bar. Queues form all the time and it would not be unusual to see twenty groups of various sizes waiting to be allocated a table in the dining room and to wait quite some time to be served at the pool bar ,I don`t blame the staff they are doing their best.The food quality is not anything special the evening meals are better than the breakfasts which were quite poor ,daytime snacks non existant.and the pool bar does not open until eleven A.M.Bottled water is not part of the deal but they will fill bottles from the tap (no chance of doing that ) the rooms are very good comfortable and well appointed and the cleaners really do keep the whole of the hotel spotless .The general staff are all well meaning eneough and the receptionist are particullarly friendly and helpfull.There are limits as to what you can do in the resort as it is small ,if you do walk anywhere else then I suggest proper footwear as the paths are very rocky.A boat trip around Mahon harbour is a must .All in all a pleasurable stay in an average hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director Comercial at Hotel San Luis, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for writing a review and helping us in our goal to improve our service day after day.
We are sorry there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We want to point out that next year AI guests from nearby apartments will not be allowed to come to Hotel San Luis. Also, we want to note that there are snacks available during the day in AI service: pastries and cakes at the Lobby Bar, crisps and ice creams at the Snack Bar by the Pool, and sandwiches and rolls at the Sporting Bar.
We hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the future and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just back from San luis staff very polite and helpfull. Room very nice clean. Food was very nice. Entertainment good all resort was spotless. Just a few things need looking at put a table on balcony. Need to do something about noise from next room. But will be going back . Is a good 4 star

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director Comercial at Hotel San Luis, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,
we are delighted to hear you liked our Hotel and the service provided. We will forward your suggestion about providing a table on the balcony to the responsible person.
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to accommodate you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived on the 1st July for a week's break, the hotel was very busy and fulfilled our expectations. The entertainment team worked their socks off! We met some fab people who enjoyed the activities with us and that made our stay most enjoyable, shooting, archery, boules and darts. The buffet style dining suited us and there was an abundance of choice to suit all, the dining room was very busy at 1900 when it opened but the staff work so well that this was not a major issue.
There were a couple of minor grievances, namely although we arrived at 1030 our room which the reception said would be ready at 1200 was not available until nearly 1300, which was not to helpful as we had been travelling since 0230! Also the WiFi which I had paid 15 euro for the week in my room only worked for the first couple of days and you had to login every time you turned your computer on! I did get a full refund for this but it was a bit of a nuisance as there were work issues that I needed to deal with. As for the pool area it is a little cramped, but there were plenty of sun beds available, if you want prime position then you will have to reserve them! The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.. Could do with a fridge and tea making facilities, that would make it perfect! Will we return? MOST DEFINITELY

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director Comercial at Hotel San Luis, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you very much for writing this comment, it helps us to improve constantly when we receive feedback from our guests.
We are very sorry our wifi did not meet your expectations during your stay, but during 5th and 6th of July we had problems that were totally referable to the Internet Providing Company that were solved as soon as it was possible.
We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and are very happy that you liked our Hotel and the service provided!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and i spent 11 days from June 8th to the 19th June this year on all inclusive and had a splendid time.
Our room was sea view on the 4th floor, which was first class.
The staff were excellent and very helpful, the food was first class, with plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
I notice on one review that is said there was a poor choice of food, i find that astonishing as you could have meals for a week and never have the same menu if you so desired.
The entertainment consisted of professional artistes for some of the evenings and the hotel young staff for the rest. Both were very good. Facilities were excellent with Tennis, Bowls, Saunas, Massages, a large all weather soccer pitch, and many more.
We had no problem getting sunbeds next to the pool, but the nearest beach was about 15 minutes walk along some very rugged terrain - but the small bay was well worth the walk.
The local bus stop to Mahon was 3 minutes stroll down the road. Took about 20 minutes to get to the capital and only cost 1 euro 60 single for each of us. From Mahon there were regular bus services to any other resort on the island.
Before i forget there was a very nice Lido 5 minutes stroll down the hill. An excellent pool, and snack bar, but the sea was too rough at times to venture down the steps into the sea unless you were a very strong swimmer, which was a pity as we both like the sea.
S'Algar itself was very quiet with a couple of shops - small supermarkets - and two or three bars with meals and entertainment.
I would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone, especially if they wanted a relatively quiet, relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, 4th floor or higher marvellous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director Comercial at Hotel San Luis, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a nice time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from this hotel (all inclusive 2 week break). Got the worst food poisoning off my life after being here for 5 days. Ill for a week of the holiday. The hotel was alerted and asked to clean the room, but noting was done.

The company that we booked through said that the hotel had had experts in to check the food/ kitchens etc recently and everyting was OK following earlier similar problems.

Well, that is a very strange translattion of OK. There were seveal instances of re-uesed food; partially cooked food and unhygenic cleaning of tables, (same cloth used) as well as we observed staff refilling jugs of water that had been left by previous diners.

The cleaners of the bedrroms were hard working, but they were not given fulll equipment to do the job to a proper standard.

The site is crowded (it was a good site previously, but one part of it has been let out/ sold to another operator) so there's about 15 inches between the sunbeds.

Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Keep away from the kitchen areas, including the noisy fans that run nearly all the time. Top 2 floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luis

Address: Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luis 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel of modern construction is only 400 m from the sea at S'Algar, and close to the nicest coves of the island. It has 228 bedrooms: 6 junior suites, 5 adapted rooms, and 12 connecting rooms. All of them have air conditioning, terrace/balcony, full bathroom with hair dryer and cosmetic mirror, T.V., telephone, safe, and on request a mini bar.The ground floor has a variety of rooms, T.V. & video room, conference room, Internet-Corner, bar and a buffet restaurant. There are two outdoor swimming pools -one of them heated -, and a large solarium, La Pasta Restaurant and pool bar.The hotel offers day and night entertainment, for adults and children. Access to the Hotel S’Algar’s Spa that offers jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and a massage and relax area. The hotel has a sports area close to the hotel including paddle, tennis, football 7, miniclub, gym… Our sports monitors also organize diary activities like hiking, excursions in mountain bike, archery & riffle shooting, Yoga, Aerobic, snorkelling, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel
San Luis s Algar
Hotel San Luis Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.