We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silence is golden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luis

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Luis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Luis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in S'Algar
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“silence is golden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

have just returned from a great holiday at the san luis. The hotel was lovely. very spacious rooms cleaned every day. flat screened tv with english channels. We was on the 5th floor overlooking green fields where the horses were trained and also the sea to the right (without having to pay extra for views). The resturant was spotless and there was always plenty to eat. There was different activities to do every day ie. bowls,archery,rifle shooting,tennis. there were a couple of bars, the pool bar and the sports bar which did snacks of toasties during the day.(which wasnt brilliant but filled a gap if you was peckish). the hotel does cater for the older clientel ie.saga so it is definately for the holiday maker who wants peace and quiet. The village itself was quiet it only consists of one gift shop, a couple of bars,a supermarket (which was closed for the season) and a lovely little bakers which did some great sandwiches.The buses didnt run very often and not at all on a sunday.The entertainment was a bit hit and miss the best was the temptations tribute show.The staff were all friendly and very helpful and always had time to chat. Overall we had a great time and will go back.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    229
    88
    32
    22
See reviews for
189
316
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked this 2 days before we went, so didnt get time to study the hotel that much, but when we read the reviews, we then knew it was gonna be for the elder generation. I travel around 5 times a year abroad and go all inclusive every time and never i come across an all inclusive that dosn't start till 11.00am!! The food was basic and cold, they are very tight with the water and will only give it you if you are sat dining. The entertainment was rubbish, the singer they had on didnt even no the words to half the songs he was singing!!! walls are paper thin, therefore i could hear the old bloke snoring next door with my ear plugs in!!! would i return-never!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I have just arrived back from a week at this hotel. Firstly I must state this is OUR opinion .Others may see things differently.
Although this is classed as a 4 star (sun) whatever. I would maybe give it three and a half.as cleanliness does not make it 4 star.It is classed as "all inc" maybe not quite true either.
OK...Here are the reasons why ...starting with the Drinks...We knew from the start that they would be localy brewed...and the beer was quite good, the spirits however are something else.I like
spanish brandy, and there was a good selection...but all inc.guests were only allowed two brands
Sobrano.....which is not bad..and the stuff they brew on the island which is...shall we say an aquired taste..also ANY cocktails had to be paid for The other drinks ie vodka, whisky gin etc
with mixers were quite weak.and all the soft drinks...coke ,sprite etc were flat.
I tried a vodka and orange juice ...once...yuck.
FOOD...Breakfast was ok...usual cereals bacon scrambled eggs, sausages(franfurters) good selection of cold meats ,,cheese etc...they also had a cooking station to have fresh cooked fried eggs anyway you wanted...omelettes made to order etc tea and coffee,chocolate etc from a machine...which was surprisingly good...croisants and sweet rolls etc
The juices were....not nice....either to sickly sweet or to weak orange apple tomato.from a 4 * hotel I would expect FRESH juices.
LUNCH...Once again... aduquate very good salad bar plenty of selection..soups were quite nice but very little variety. usually a choice of at least 3 meats 2 fish 2 potato (chips being one always)and pasta/rice It says you can use the pool bar for lunch,we gave it a try ...once
ONE slice of pizza??? and a choice of maybe 3 pasta dishes anything else.....pay for it
DINNER.....Once again ..salad bar soup (usually no choice) I would say there was a decent selection of dishes....(chips every night so you wouldnt starve) meat /fish /pasta /rice. and always a selection of veg,There was also the cooking station which cooked fresh beef.lamb.chicken etc Drinks were served on arrival at your table ,,,but I STILL dont like COLD red wine.
Also, they were pretty good in replacing the hot serving dishes once it was nearly empty,so the food was kept hot most of the time.
Overall..I would say the food lacked some flavour ,and over the week we were there , the menu didnt change that much.....but you wont starve.
I think this hotel certainly caters for the "brit abroad"
FACILITIES...A very good complex for "sport" just across the road from the hotel...Bowls.Tennis, Boulle (petanka) Putting green etc the trouble is ..the local Bowls club
use thie rinks on 4 days...so we had choice of 3 days and had to pay for it.
Mountain bikes could be hired also...for a charge...as long as they were not being used by "the wheelers".
STAFF....EXCELLENT....Could not fault any of them cleaners/barmen/reception...and of course RAFA....the animacion rep who does EVERYTHING
ENTERTAINMENT....Better than I expected..live music nearly every night..(after the bingo lol)
some of it not to the taste of everyone....but on the whole they were pretty good...special mention to the tribute to THE TEMPTATIONS..4 guys who were excellent.
There were also quizes some nights.
POOLS....COLD.....One was suposed to be warmer than the other....it wasnt. The thing we did like in and around the pool area is ....the quiet....no loud music blaring and no noisy reps trying to get you to "join in"
This hotel is also a "SAGA"hotel we found on arrival so has excellent disabled facilities,including a "chair" to hoist into the pool. I have never seen that before anywhere.
Finally..In our opinion this hotel deffinitely caters for "the brit" and the "older adult" ones at that. its certainly not a place for kids..apart from the pool and a very small play area across the road there is nothing for them.Even the surounding area is not "child friendly" there are only 2 hotels in Salgar...and the other closed the night we arrived...so be warned..be sure that everything they say you can use in the blurb.....is open or running...the other hotel transfered all their remaining guests to the San Luis ...then closed early.so we couldnt use their facilities as stated.THE ORIENT restaurant which we could "use"was also closed.
Never the less both my wife and I enjoyed the holiday....and the hotel
WEATHER......2 DAYS WARM RAIN.....The rest, slightly breezy, glorious sunny 72c days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic weeks holiday at the San Luis Hotel. This hotel is exceptional. It is spotlessly clean, all the staff are very friendly and the meals are second to none. Breakfast is lovely, with all the fresh fruit you could ask for, cereals, full breakfast and we recommend the omelettes (freshly cooked whilst you wait), oh and the scrambled egg is the best we have ever tasted. Evening meals also have a vast choice, its impossible in my opinion to not find something you like amongst the selection offered. We ate lunch at the poolside restaurant where you could have starter, a main dish of either pasta or pizza (again freshly cooked and excellent) and dessert if you had room for it. Pools were lovely (although a little cool) and there are plenty of sunbeds although can imagine in the main season these get filled quite quickly. Not a problem though as there are plenty of areas to sit and relax in the sun and grass where you can lay a towel. Rooms were absolutely spotless. Complimentary shower gel/shampoo and soap so you really dont need to take your own unless you want to. No tea making facilities but not a problem, just take a travel kettle, tea bags and get water at meal times to make a cuppa before the all inclusive starts. The area in general is lovely. S'Algar is a holiday village but very pretty. A short walk and you can be in Alcafur, a little village with a beautiful cove with excellent swimming and snorkelling opportunities, or take a further walk of 45 minutes to Punta Prima beach. Lovely walk and very scenic but you need to wear sturdy footwear as path quite rocky in places. There is an excellent bus service with the bus stop only a very short walk away from the hotel. For 1.60 euros you can go to Mahon (the capital) and if you wish get connecting buses very easily to other parts of the island. We recommend the Boat trip from Mahon Harbour. Well worth the 11 Euros each. We hired a car for 36 Euros for the day which enabled us to see a bit more of the island. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel was spotless clean and kept that way throughout our 7 day stay! The staff in all areas were exceptional and spoke very good english....and were very relaxed helping me with my limited spanish! The buffet meals were really good! Always something for everyone. The pool area again was spotlessly clean and a tranquil place to relax in the october sun! The all inclusive deal we had was great! Entertainment was on nearly every night and varied for tastes but i enjoyed most evenings! No complaints at all....will be going back asap!

Room Tip: choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went for 7 days end of September with wife. First time at this hotel and resort. very quiet but just what we asked for at the travel agent's. The hotel is very clean, the staff exceptionally friendly and the food more than adequate both in choice and quantity. Our arrival was delayed by 4 hours and arrived close to end of dinner BUT manager made arrangements for us to eat. We went AI and despite what some others have said i found the 12 hour rule fine, i also agreed with the 'rules' regarding sun beds and over indulging in the bar. I never had to queue despite the hotel being full and the entertainment was very very good. The day time activities were great and the lead staff member ,Rafa, was a really nice young man who kept everyone entertained. Only minor criticism is that it is a saga hotel and a very small minority of the older guests, i am 52, were rude and impatient both with the few families in the hotel and some staff members, which is not right under any circumstances. An example of this being I was also admonished by another rude and objectionable guest for speaking on my balcony at 2330, however the matter was resolved rather quickly and effectively . I will be returning to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Go sea view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from San Luis with my wife after a fantastic weeks chill out break. All aspects of the hotel, from staff, cleanliness, food, entertainment where without question first class. The sports facilities offered [bowls, boules, mini golf, archery, rifle shooting, shuffle board and darts] first class.Evening entertainment was very good. The area is a typical holiday resort with bars, shops and a super market close by. If you want to explore more of the island you can hop on a local bus 1.60 euros to either Sant Luis or Mahon [only single tickets] taxi to Sant Luis 10 euros. Local church is in Sant Luis service 11am on Sunday. The tour around the habour , the cheese and wine factory and the horse show is a must. So don't leave the island without going to these.
All in all this is a Hotel and island for those couples who need to recharge their batteries.

Room Tip: Select a room that has a sea view. There are rooms that look out onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luis

Address: Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel of modern construction is only 400 m from the sea at S'Algar, and close to the nicest coves of the island. It has 228 bedrooms: 6 junior suites, 5 adapted rooms, and 12 connecting rooms. All of them have air conditioning, terrace/balcony, full bathroom with hair dryer and cosmetic mirror, T.V., telephone, safe, and on request a mini bar.The ground floor has a variety of rooms, T.V. & video room, conference room, Internet-Corner, bar and a buffet restaurant. There are two outdoor swimming pools -one of them heated -, and a large solarium, La Pasta Restaurant and pool bar.The hotel offers day and night entertainment, for adults and children. Access to the Hotel S’Algar’s Spa that offers jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and a massage and relax area. The hotel has a sports area close to the hotel including paddle, tennis, football 7, miniclub, gym… Our sports monitors also organize diary activities like hiking, excursions in mountain bike, archery & riffle shooting, Yoga, Aerobic, snorkelling, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel San Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel
San Luis s Algar
Hotel San Luis Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.