We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Luis to your Saves list
Hotel San Luis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in S'Algar
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went for 7 days end of September with wife. First time at this hotel and resort. very quiet but just what we asked for at the travel agent's. The hotel is very clean, the staff exceptionally friendly and the food more than adequate both in choice and quantity. Our arrival was delayed by 4 hours and arrived close to end of dinner BUT manager made arrangements for us to eat. We went AI and despite what some others have said i found the 12 hour rule fine, i also agreed with the 'rules' regarding sun beds and over indulging in the bar. I never had to queue despite the hotel being full and the entertainment was very very good. The day time activities were great and the lead staff member ,Rafa, was a really nice young man who kept everyone entertained. Only minor criticism is that it is a saga hotel and a very small minority of the older guests, i am 52, were rude and impatient both with the few families in the hotel and some staff members, which is not right under any circumstances. An example of this being I was also admonished by another rude and objectionable guest for speaking on my balcony at 2330, however the matter was resolved rather quickly and effectively . I will be returning to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Go sea view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    307
    105
    38
    24
See reviews for
257
428
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from San Luis with my wife after a fantastic weeks chill out break. All aspects of the hotel, from staff, cleanliness, food, entertainment where without question first class. The sports facilities offered [bowls, boules, mini golf, archery, rifle shooting, shuffle board and darts] first class.Evening entertainment was very good. The area is a typical holiday resort with bars, shops and a super market close by. If you want to explore more of the island you can hop on a local bus 1.60 euros to either Sant Luis or Mahon [only single tickets] taxi to Sant Luis 10 euros. Local church is in Sant Luis service 11am on Sunday. The tour around the habour , the cheese and wine factory and the horse show is a must. So don't leave the island without going to these.
All in all this is a Hotel and island for those couples who need to recharge their batteries.

Room Tip: Select a room that has a sea view. There are rooms that look out onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a week at the San Luis with my wife. Weather was great. Hotel was very good and could not be faulted. Rooms and facilities are far better than most.Two excellent pools and stacks of sun beds.
Buffet meals are above average. They may be slightly bland on occasions but this is far outweighed by the quantity and choices. Maid service, waiting staff and bar staff are the best I have come across. Nothing is too much trouble and it is fast service with a smile. Worth paying extra for a sea view and all inclusive. Good sporting facilities. An old age group when I was there. I was one of the youngest (I'm 66) therefore very quiet and hardly any kids.
Highly recommended you want a quiet relaxing holiday in October.Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing 1 week stay at the San Luis with my wife and 81 year old Mother. The weather was fantastic for the time of year. The Hotel is spotlessly clean & staff very friendly, food very good with lots of choice (creme caramel best ever), evening entertainment was very good. In fact we could not fault the place at all and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the San Luis in September 2012. The hotel was veryclean, staff were friendly, and the
food was very good. Entainment was ok. The hotel has two pools, both outside, but the water was guite cold. It is not a place for children as there is not much for them todo. We went on the Coast to Coast tour, it was ok, but not worth the money. Around fifty per cent of the holiday makers were from saga, which fits with the location and facilities offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

just returned from a very relaxing week . the hotel is just what we wanted very clean and freindly . the bedrooms are spotless as is the hotel. staff are very helpful . the food is fine always a choice even fussy eaters will find something. pool clean and tidy. if you want a lively holiday its not for you, but we enjoyed the rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here the last two weeks in september and paid the extra for a sea view room 629, its well worth paying the little it cost as the non sea view rooms look out onto the carpark,coach area and a bit of waste ground.
The room was lovely and clean and kept that way by an extremely efficient maid.
All the staff were very pleasant and the hotel is very nice.
Meals were well cooked and very tasty with a huge range every day to choose from.
Our only niggle is the two lifts are very small,you can just about squeeze four people in if your not too worried about personal space

Room Tip: sea view costs a little more but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luis

Address: Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luis 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel of modern construction is only 400 m from the sea at S'Algar, and close to the nicest coves of the island. It has 228 bedrooms: 6 junior suites, 5 adapted rooms, and 12 connecting rooms. All of them have air conditioning, terrace/balcony, full bathroom with hair dryer and cosmetic mirror, T.V., telephone, safe, and on request a mini bar.The ground floor has a variety of rooms, T.V. & video room, conference room, Internet-Corner, bar and a buffet restaurant. There are two outdoor swimming pools -one of them heated -, and a large solarium, La Pasta Restaurant and pool bar.The hotel offers day and night entertainment, for adults and children. Access to the Hotel S’Algar’s Spa that offers jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and a massage and relax area. The hotel has a sports area close to the hotel including paddle, tennis, football 7, miniclub, gym… Our sports monitors also organize diary activities like hiking, excursions in mountain bike, archery & riffle shooting, Yoga, Aerobic, snorkelling, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel
San Luis s Algar
Hotel San Luis Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.