We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Gratiae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domus Gratiae to your Saves list
Domus Gratiae
Via Arturo Evans 18, 00119 Ostia Antica, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€40 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 12 Ostia Antica B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were a group of 5 who stayed here one night after arriving in Rome on am flights. The location near the airport is perfect when you've been up all night and 2 of our 3 rooms were available before noon. We loved being able to walk to the amazing ruins where schoolchildren dressed in togas and stoas were performing in the ancient theater. The rooms were comfortable, the owners were very pleasant and eager to help. A great choice if you're interested in the ruins or just need a comfortable place near the airport.

Room Tip: Our friend on the 3rd floor said his was the best but all of us were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Sorry for delaying with the replay and thankyou so much for your staying with us
Franco and grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here overnight on 18th May and wished had stayed longer. Room was great, very clean, quiet, well furnished and comfortable. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was great. Can highly recommend this place and far better than most hotels we have stayed in. Infact you could use this as a base for exploring Rome with a Roma pass which gives you free connection via the Lido train line (20 mins in). The B&B is only 7 minutes walk to Ostia Antica and the train station. Will probably be coming back here next year. Great value.

Room Tip: Top floor (2nd) is the larger apartment with kitchenette the double rooms are on the 1st floor (but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Direttore vendite at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much Nick
We are very happy that you all had an enjoyable holiday with us.
We hope to see you soon
All the best
Domus gratiae
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I made a reservation at this B&B 10 months in advance; I prepaid 2 weeks in advance and I had an Italian friend call to reconfirm on the day I was due to arrive. However when I got there, they had given my room away and I never understood how it happened. They attempted to put me up in a rather austere room in a nearby house, where no one else was staying. As a single woman traveling alone, I refused because it didn't feel safe. From that point on they could not have been nicer. They drove me to a nearby hotel (see my review of the Ostia Antica Park Hotel) and paid for the room. They drove me to the archeological park, they picked me up in the morning and took me to their B&B for breakfast and drove me back to the airport. They apologized profusely and were very kind. From what I saw, the B&B looked quite nice and would be much better than where I stayed.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is an overflow building that it isn't up to the same standard as the main lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thankyou so much for your feedback , have an happy summer!
Grazia and franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Domus Gratiae for 4 nights at the end May. The proprietors proved to be the most obliging hosts even going to the trouble of supplying us with extras at breakfast which we had indicated we liked
The establishment is spotless and the room although on the small side was adequate and the bed comfortable. We needed boarding passes printed off for our next flight and Fabrizio (the son)kindly let us use his computer and printed off the necessary documentation.
Hosts like this are very rare and we would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: There isn't a swimming pool and I couldn't delete the symbol in the ratings section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Direttore vendite at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
thank you so much for appreciating!! we hope to meet you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our one month stay in Italy. I chose it because of its number one ranking on Trip Advisor, its convenience to a train station to go to Rome, and its close proximity to the airport. It is also a very short walk to the Ostia Antica ruins (closed on Mondays).

It is run by a lovely couple who live in the home, and their son Fabrizio who lives next door. The couple does not speak English, but the son does speak it sufficiently. However, don't let a language barrier deter you from staying here. Franco and his wife Gratiae (I hope I spelled her name correctly) could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

Our primary concern with any place we stay is the cleanliness. This place is absolutely spotless, the rooms and the common areas. We stayed here with another couple. The rooms were similar. They were spacious by European standards with a lot of closet and bureau space. The bathroom was a decent size, and had the typical small shower stall.

The breakfast served is simple, but of very good quality. The home made cake was delicious. Franco will serve you unlimited espressos or cappuccinos.

As an added note as to how nice the owners were, I had some business in the town with a man who spoke no English, and I speak very little Italian. Without my asking, Fabrizio volunteered to accompany me and translate. It was extremely helpful to me and Fabrizio graciously took an hour of his time to assist me.

We give this B&B the highest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Have a nice summer we wish you all the Best
Franco and grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed for two nights on our way into Rome - this allowed us to explore Ostia Antica at our leisure.
The hosts are incredibly kind and welcoming, our room was lovely and very clean.
Breakfast was nice - great coffee made amiably by our hosts. The only downside was the lack of wi-fi in the dining lounge, but really that was okay.
Fabrizio was who we communicated with via e-mail, his parents are the onsite hosts - their English is not great (Fabrizio's is excellent), but the kindness and enthusiasm overcame any language difficulties.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are only two or three rooms, as you'll see from the website. We were in Cornelia, and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Best summer holidays!
Franco and grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I spent three nights in this very nice B&B.
First of all the owners are absolutely welcoming and very kind and attentional .
The room was very clean with all you need, television, Wi-fi, air-co, and very comfortable beds.
Private bathroom with wc, shower, hair dryer and daily change of nice white towels, which is
a luxury in a B&B ! Room cleaned daily.
The place is very quiet and safe .
On top of that they make a good cappuccino !!!
I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela m, Direttore vendite at Domus Gratiae, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Carol
thank you very much
all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Gratiae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Gratiae

Address: Via Arturo Evans 18, 00119 Ostia Antica, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ostia Antica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ostia Antica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in Ostia Antica close to the archeological site and the castle. Family conduction, absolutely clean and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Domus Gratiae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Gratiae Ostia Antica, Italy - Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Gratiae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.