We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Pompeii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ostia Antica

Ostia Antica
Viale dei Romagnoli 717, 00119 Ostia Antica, Italy
06 5635 8099
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ostia Antica like an insider
Small Group
$52*
and up
Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Present day site of sprawling ruins of a densely populated Roman city at the mouth of the river Tiber.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than Pompeii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really liked that you could see the place in four to five hours. Not like the ten hours to see Pompeii and only see ruins, no real art work or relics there.
In Ostia Antica there were artworks, statues and mosaics to see as well as tombs if you are adventurous enough to look for them. Will definitely return to this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    277
    43
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Day Trip + Nearby Excellent Restaurant Afterwards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Do you like Roman Ruins and the feel of being in the Roman Countryside?
Does the heat and crowdedness of Rome in summer leave you wanting some respite?

Ostia Antica is the old port of Rome, unearth in the 1930s after being burried for some 1.5 millennia. You literally walk through an old Roman town dating back to 7BC and see perfectly preserve mosaics on the floor of houses as they would have looked some two thousand years ago.

Inexpensice to visit, always cooler than the center of Rome with a nice breeze and a pleasure to feel like you are stolling through history with very few people around you.

Avoid Ostia if you can, its a bit of a run down town

Must Do - local friends of ours took us to a gem of a restaurant 100meters from the entrance to Ostia Antica in the old Borghetto around the Castello di Giulio II nearby called Ristorante Cipriani. One of the best food experiences in Italy in the last month that we have been here

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An easy Rome excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Easy to get to by train (it's covered by the standard metro tickets) from Pyramid station.

The area is huge, a great example of a Roman town and lots of mosaic floors which have been very well restored.

Certainly worth a visit if you want to get away from the busy streets of Rome, but remember to take water with you as there aren't fountains everywhere like there are in the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ruins without financial ruin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We originally planned to take the train from Rome to Naples then Pompeii. I have been there before so did not have the need to repeat especially since the train plus other expenses about 100 euros p/p plus three hours travel each way.

I convinced my traveling companions to reconsider and I told them about Rick Steve's recommendation and free download audio of Ostia Antica. In the end they were so happy they had followed my recommendation. We each puchased a day pass on the Metro, 6 Euros unlimited travel. We took the Metro to Ostia Antica, meaning a single ticket would have been 1.5 Euros. We paid the 8 Euros entrance and found the most wonderful setting and ability to wander through ancient ruins. Not only is there shade from the beautiful umbrella trees, but also wildflowers were abundant on our day of visit.

Unlike Pompeii, crowds are not at Ostia Antica. I cannot imagine this will last too much longer with all the attention... so enjoy now. Also unlike Pompeii, you can walk right into the structures, climb staircases, lounge in the amphitheater. There is a nice little museaum and a cafe that will get you through the rest of the day.

We spent hours here until our feet could no longer manage. Older age is getting the better of us.

Because we had the daily Metro pass we jumped onto a westbound train to the seashore and after walking a short distance toward the sea we found a great place to sit at a table, have a snack, drink some refreshments and enjoy the glittering Mediterranean. Yes, I stuck my feet into the chilly water.

So if you are in Rome, thinking that you must see ruiins it is worth choosing Ostia Antica over Pompeii unless you absolutely must go where people suffocated in volcanic ash and gases. Don't get me wrong, Pompeii is an exciting experience, but only if you are near Naples.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hook
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ostia Antica, Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ostia is Rome's ancient sea-port (from which the sea has now receded, of course). It is a few miles outside Rome, and reached by train from the termini with one change. The town is about 1/4 mile from the Ostia station and is very well preserved - as good as Pompeii. It is a large site, and is just as interesting as Pompeii although not so famous, obviously (no volcano!). Ostia has the usual temples, mosaics, a forum, necropolis and an amphitheatre. There is a café, toilets, bookshop and a small museum on site. If you are visiting Rome and are unable to go down to Naples to see Pompeii and Herculaneum, Ostia is a really good substitute.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostia Antica also viewed

 

Been to Ostia Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostia Antica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.