We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide ancient town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ostia Antica

Ostia Antica
Viale dei Romagnoli 717, 00119 Ostia Antica, Italy
06 5635 8099
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ostia Antica like an insider
Small Group
$52*
and up
Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Present day site of sprawling ruins of a densely populated Roman city at the mouth of the river Tiber.
千葉県
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
162 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Wide ancient town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am very wondering why Japanese tour groups do not come to Ostia Antica. It is so great and it is worthy coming. The ancient town is very wide and I could feel the ancient life. The buildings were preserved very well.

I went there on Sunday morning in January. There were only a few people and I felt like the place is open only for me.

It takes a few hours to walk around. There was a cafe and I could take a rest, looking good landscape. The place is a little far from central Rome. Air was fresh and relaxing.

The place is 5 min. walk from a station. it is easy to come by train.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    275
    43
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You can walk all day long in these ruins of the ancient city. It's really impressive!
I'd recommend a walk through the ruins of Ostia Antica to everyone. And get ready to spend on it at least 3 hours.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Staring back into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We bought a metro ticket for 6 hours and this got us out and back on both trains, the metro to Piramide and the the 9th stop, Ostia Antica on the Roma-Lido train from there. of course if you are staying longer then you need to sort out tickets to suit.
We had problems with the facilities mear where we bought our tickets at the booth as there was no toilet paper at all and no water connected to wash our hands, so consider bringing a hand wash just in case, although there are toilets further on at the cafeteria.
I also pickd up a green coloured book by Sonia Gallico with the Theatre masks on cover to take with us. It is a bit confusing trying to relate to the information about the site as I found the other two books the same. One I had at Pompeii just had the site number and information as you started through the main entry and was easier to follow. Something to consider. there was a man out there asking what language we spoke and I think he was a tour guide drumming up business. Something to consider, although we did sort the site out somewhat as we walked around.
It is an interesting town ruins and the book does give its history, the town planning, the cults, the architecture and decline. There is the necropolis (cemetery) and then the entrance to the town which has statues, mosiacs, frescos some which are deteriorated, temples, arcades, taverns, a capitol building, teatro with its ampitheatre, theatre masks, gods and goddesses statues, wharehouses, arcades with shops, tenement buildings and houses plus much more.
The grounds are park like with huge cypress trees for shade and grassed areas although mowed would be better to relax awhile. There is still renovations going on and pieces that haven't fitted the puzzle yet including many African marble pillars.
It was abandoned over a period of time due to the fact that the Tiber River changed its course due to flooding, wars where property was destroyed. some was rebuilt but once the Imperial seat was removed from Rome to Constantinople and in 402 Ravenna became the capitol of the Western Roman Empire, it declined even more. Also over some centuries the shoreline moved with silting some 4km.
A very intersting site to wander around for some hours.
The cafeteria on site sells fast or premade food, drinks beer and wine.
Note: Some seniors are allwed entry for fre...Bring a pension card.Not sure if it is for certain countries only.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
672 reviews 672 reviews
298 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Easy and interesting day trip from Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

To get there, one takes the metro to the Piramide stop. Then, transfer to the Rome Lido line and get off at Ostia Antica. When you get out of the station, look for the blue pedestrian bridge and cross it. It will be about a 10 minute walk to the entrance of the excavations.
The ruins are extensive. We stayed for 2 hours and this was enough for us. Though it was interesting, we felt that Pompei is still more so. This could be because this particular excavation still needs a lot of work. There were no signs for an audio guide which was not available. There are signs along the way explaining what the immediate area is about. But I felt that they should have been written in simpler and shorter paragraphs. The typical tourist would have a difficult time understanding most of the descriptions.
We did like the well preserved amphitheater and what is left of the forum.
The food at the cafeteria was not tasty at all. There were only 3 toilets for the ladies. Since there were many students on a field trip, the facilities were inadequate.
Altogether, we enjoyed our day trip. It was worth the short train ride to see it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A day is too short a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This has to be one of the most evocative historical sites to visit. There are so many wonderful buildings and artefacts reaching back over 2000 years and you can sense he bustling business of a city all around you as you immerse yourself in the whole wonderful experience. Then go and sit in the museum for 15 minutes. I am sure you will get it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostia Antica also viewed

 

Been to Ostia Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostia Antica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.