We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Location, Very Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Cipriani - CLOSED

Ristorante Cipriani
Via del Forno, 11, 00119 Ostia Antica, Italy
+39 (0) 656352956
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Charming Location, Very Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was recommended to us by friends who have lived in Ostia for 20 years. The come here often and i was very impressed by the food. The Bacala was excellent as well as the Pepper and Parmesan spagetti. The rest of the food was very good as well and the charming location inside the old town next to the Castello di Giulio II was very special.
Any excellent way to recharge after a few hours walking around Ostia Antica

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Solid first meal in Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good first meal, but definitely not the best in Italy. The location was great, as it was a few steps way from our hotel room. Also, the service was overall pretty good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, TX
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Family Run For Sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A great lunch was had by the three of us. Let the waiter and cook plan your meal.
Simple good Italian food and bread in a small home like setting. Just walking around the neighborhood is a treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the way to Ostia or airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in Rome and it is conveniently located on the way to Ostia (beach and ruins) or the airport.

I love this restaurant. It is family owned and you get great service from owner and cook Fabrizio and his family.
The food is awesome. They serve fairly traditional Italian dishes but with a high-end touch. Mr Cipriani has studied as a chef in Rome's top restaurant and likes to bring a new and very tasty spin on traditional dishes.
The desserts are also home-made and to die for.
The price is very reasonable for the quality and I believe they even have special pricing for lunch.

While located 10 miles out of Rome proper, the restaurant is conveniently on the way to many popular tourist destinations of the area and makes for a great lunch or dinner stop in a busy day.
In fact, it is walking distance from Ostia Antica roman ruins and on the way if you are heading to Ostia to hit the beach or just going to the airport for your flight home.

I visited Cipriani on many occasions and always loved it. My last visit recently was no exception.
Best restaurant in Rome, in my opinion!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Talented Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

One of the best places we dined at over three weeks in Italy. We had linguine with tiny claims, spinach ricotta ravioli, and rabbit. The two pasta dishes we had were the best of the trip--excellent. The rabbit was tasty, but unfortunately a little dry. For desert we had the tiramisu, and panna cotta with mixed berries. The tiramisu is different, yet very good, and the mixed berry panna cotta was excellent. We sat outside which was really interesting. You are actually in the middle of a pedestrian roadway while the neighbours are outside and socializing with one another, the staff, and even the guests. The hostess was very helpful. A unique experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Cipriani also viewed

Ostia Antica, Province of Rome
Ostia Antica, Province of Rome
 
Ostia Antica, Province of Rome
Ostia Antica, Province of Rome
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Cipriani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.