We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juara Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Juara Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Juara Beach Resort
Kampung Juara, Juara, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Juara B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Normall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A best location, but poor services and attitude. Their staff all are not friendly and the foods is totally not nice, especially the toufu are sour. By the way, a nice place to relax. Their tour guide also act very arrogant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went there for 3 days 2 nights. Pick-up from Tekek to Juara by four wheels car.
One chalet is shared in 2 bedrooms. Rather spacious. Working aircon. Bathrooms was clean but basic. This is not a 5 stars hotel and it doesn't pretend to be but it is a fair accommodation, a bit expensive.
The food is OK but not outstanding.

It was the 4th time we went in Juara beach. Globally, it is getting worse and over the years, the place have suffered: the beach is not as nice as before (sand is black in some place, due to pollution), no more coral reefs and sand flies (first time I see them here). It is still a nice place to go, but if it follows this trend, left a few years only before it becomes very ordinary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went to Juara Beach resort for a few days of relaxing after a business trip to Singapore. While the management is lovely (pick up from airport worked fine despite a 6 hour delay) and the bungalows are very basic but okayish given the price, I was disappointed of the following:
- The food is not as spectacular as some people described it. My recommendation would be to have a drink in the hotel restaurant and then go eating in one of the 3 small eateries that are located 3 minutes away in "town" just before the jetty
- Sand fleas!!!!
- The coral reefs in the bay are dead. They must have been beautiful some time ago but now all is dead.
- Every second day, a new Malaysian tour group of 15-20 people arrives, while some may be lovely, overall their package seems to be more for a beach/snorkelling outing with barbecue dinner and loud thumping music. Don't expect tranquility. Management did turn down the volume after I had asked (late at night.....)

What I loved:
- The remote location is lovely
- Go do a jungle trek (there is a very nice one just behind the turtle station, around 2 hours, beautiful waterfall included)
- Visit the lovely volunteer turtle station
- Beautiful beach

Room Tip: Be careful about the "sea view" bungalows. There are two so-called sea-view rooms of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Juara Beach Resort with our 3 kids. Enjoyed the location, rooms are decent for the rates buT we were shocked by the very poor standard of service and help we got from the staff. No smile, not a word in the morning (a mere "hello" would have done...). Very few people speak English among the staff , most are not trained and a few can get very rude soon as you ask for something they don't understand.
I agree with some comments I've read about being treated like a 2nd class customer. The owner works with groups of chinese tourists he pampers, and the other guests are forgotten. We asked for information about a tour around the island and are still waiting for the info. In the end, we signed with Bushman Resort, at the other end of the beach and decided not to have anything to do with Juara Beach anymore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is 5th time I went to tioman, stay in Tekek, Paya, Genting before this. The boss is not talkative, but won't impolite. Food is good, except the BBQ dinner. BBQ dinner variety is ok, but taste bad. The food they selling here is exceptionally low price (breakfast starting from RM4.50)

Juara is the biggest beach in tioman, but the beach is not that "clean". Not dirty I mean, the beach has a lot of tree leaves etc, so it doesn't look that good.

Overall satisfy staying in Juara Beach Resort. But Paya Beach Resort is better, in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for 3d2n with my bf. Agent: William 0127350132, provided very good service via phone until we reached our destination. The room is okay, very basic bed and toilet.

Breakfast (fried kuey teow and some tasteless coffee/milo/tea) and lunch (lunch pack- fried rice+ fried drumstick, during our second day out snorkeling), luckily dinner quite okay, served ordinary chinese dinner food. Lots of mosquitoes so must request mosquitoes spray to spray in room. No night life nor very happening activities over there as said its without 'modification'. Fishes, coral and water just so so if compared with Redang Island I think although people tend to comment that everything in Redang is going to 'extinct'.

If you wanna travel mainly for chill and relax, Juara Beach definitely the best place. But if you want something more happening, alright still it's better you find out yourself ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriend and me decided to end our trip through Malaysia and Singapore with a visit to Tioman,starting with the eastern part of the island. We arranged with the bus company who connected Singapore with Mersing the possibilities for a pick-up to Juara beach in advance. The guide on the buss made several phonecalls to Mr. Wong, the owner of this resort. After our 2-hour ferrytrip to the island, indeed a 4-wheel drive was waiting for us. Mr Wong was not the most chatty type, but we didn't mind as our journey was long enough and we didn't feel like talking. The 20-minute drive to the resort is bumpy and steep, a lift therefore is necesssary! The resort itself is well maintained, rooms are basic but ok. Each cabin has a little balcony with laundry-line, mini-bar, televesion with a few channels and shower with toilet. Orientation of the bungalows is also good, made in a green 'street' wich goes deeper towards the island. The palmtrees make privacy of the guests is guaranteed. As we were warned there are a lot of sandflies, we feared worst. In reality however during our stay mid-september, this was really ok. Food was great with enough variety. The beach however was poluted, probably from past high-season? As there aren't rocks in the sea, you can easily swim in it. A trip to the marine park in Tekek is not recommended. If you want to snorkel in nature, go to Renggis Island on the west coast of the island. The purpose of the Marine park is just to attrack tourists, the biologicial aspects are most unclear as you may just throw food in the water to feed the fish.
The whole atmosphere of this resort breathes family-business concept. Mr Wong is the pater familias who runs this resort, whereas some good friends/family members are operating as staff. They leave you in your own private sphere, respecting a well-deserved break from hectic mainland-life. The resort is not categorised in the most luxury class, but if you just want to enjoy jungle and seaviews, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juara Beach Resort

Address: Kampung Juara, Juara, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Juara
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Juara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Juara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juara Beach Hotel Juara
Juara Beach Resort Pulau Tioman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juara Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.