We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good compromise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Praia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Praia Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Praia Mar Hotel
Avenue Sao Marcos, Quadra Comercial Number 04 s/n | Ponta da Areia, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65073-310, Brazil (Formerly Best Western Praia Mar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Sao Luis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good compromise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

A bit run down, don't expect luxury, but still perfectly OK. The swimming pool area is nice with children. Direct access to the beach is enjoyable. Restaurant is good.
A good choice for a family in quadruple room without spending too much.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    59
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
48
37
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel is well located - to give you an idea, the hotel's backyard is the beach (although it is a polluted beach, as are all other beaches in the city). However, the hotel desperately needs to be refurbished. There is mold growing everywhere, huge "water bubbles" on the wall due to the elevated humidity, old and stained porcelain in the bathroom, and the cleanliness of the rooms is quite questionable, to say the least. The sheets and towels had big yellow stains. It is really a pitty, because the place has potential, but it is definitely not worth the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Don'y choose any specific rooms, choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We (a couple) expected much more from this hotel, since it belongs to an international hotels chain ("Best" Western). Our room was spacious, the bathroom was OK, except for the little cockroaches that lived inside the bathroom door (as you can see in our pictures) and the space for bathing was tiny, even for a small person. The sink used to choke and the water coming from the tap in the early morning was dirty (slightly yellow). The furniture is old-fashioned and the wardrobe door used to jam. The safe was very old just like its key system, but it worked. The TV set was OK. The best thing about the room was the view (there was a balcony facing the sea).
The breakfast was good, with many options of juice, bread (including a delicious cheese-bread), cakes, etc, in a restaurant in front of the sea (nice view). The room service was good: fast and helpful. By the way, the staff was very good. Lunch was very nice, too: nice food, in taste and quantity.
The location is nice: in front of the beach, and close (by taxi) to good restaurants, malls, others beaches and other points of interest (historic centre). But it is a good idea not walking around the hotel alone (night and day).
The fitness centre was a disappointment: the equipment was old, noisy, with no maintenance. The swimming pool was clean, with a good size for the available space, but some updating of the accessories is needed.
In general the hotel needs a modernization, since it has a good location, space, staff and service. And, of course, it must get rid of the cockroaches!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We arrived and were serviced with a smile, the staff was excellent at check in. The room was not quite what I would expected but It grew on me becaus of the price per night. The hotel is on the beach and the exterior of the hotel is aged. the interior lobby is updated and clean. The pool was great! Perfect for small childern and adults. The Pool bar staff were also very nice. Morning breakfast was great, I was used to 4-5 sar hotel breakfast bust for the value the buffet was great. (earlier to breakfast the better). I ordered room service one day, and something did not agree with me. Can't say it was the food, but the dish was beef with many mushrooms...I woud stay away from that dish if you are not use to rich food. The Room's were tiny, I had a triple 1 double bed and 2 singles, with luggage and all your stuff it soes get cramped. The hote rooms on the website does demonstrate some features.. The better rooms I am sure are more expensive ans limited. The cleaning maid did an OK job, but you need o wear you sandles/flip-flop always in the room or in the sower. The bathroom is very small and could use a reform. The water from the shower was very hard and metal smell. We had to move from the third floor to the second due to heavey rain and a small roof leak. they were very accomidating to make the move. Some of the rooms have updated Air Condtioners, I prefer them because you can control via remote. All and All the over all stay os fine for the price and I would reccomend staying in you plan on saving some money. They have a Salon and Massage, I would say it was ok for the price... 2 stars.. hotel I would rate 2 1/2 stars 4 Stars for the Price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We arrived in Sao Luis without a hotel, we went to a B&B and left immediately it was so horrible, we went to an internet cafe and found the BW and booked it.

We arrived at the hotel and while it was light years better than the B&B we had been too we were disappointed. It is old, run down and out dated.

The room was ok cleanliness wise, but sparse and not at all "comfy". The beds were hard and the sheets rough. The pool was ok, but small, there is basically nothing available for lounging by the pool, the 3 lounge chairs they did have were very uncomfortable and awkward and one wsa broken. They supply absolutely nothing to sit on the beach, and the hotel is not located on the best part of the beach.

This hotel was NOT worth the money they are charging.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Praia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Mar Hotel

Address: Avenue Sao Marcos, Quadra Comercial Number 04 s/n | Ponta da Areia, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65073-310, Brazil (Formerly Best Western Praia Mar)
Location: Brazil > State of Maranhao > Sao Luis
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sao Luis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Praia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Luis Best Western
Praia Mar Hotel Sao Luis, Maranhao, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.