We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time in my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria-PapaGayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria-PapaGayo to your Saves list
Hosteria-PapaGayo
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Panamericana sur km 26 | Cotopaxi Area, Machachi 34999, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Bonn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best time in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed 2 month in Ecuador in September for working in a hospital. We did many tours wirh Gulliver and because of that often visited and slept in Papagayo at the weekends. We liked it very much, so we came back nearly every weekend to escape from noisy Quito and relax in the phantastic quite nature around Papagayo. Of course we started different trips from Papagayo which we all can recommend. If you like horses, don´t miss a three day horseridingtrip through the near Cotopaxi nationalpark. The other tours are also good planed and exciting. ( Ilinizas, Quilotoa, biking at Cotopaxi) After a hard day on the horse or bike, you can relax in the yacuzzi and have a very god dinner in the restaurant. They offer various dishes which are all very tasty and not too expensive.
The service is always friendly, the rooms clean with a really good hot shower (not always easy to find in Ecuador).
You can use the internet for free and meet many different people from all over the world here. When I come back to ecuador this is the first place I will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
46
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

I stayed at the Hosteria Papagayo and found it to be a very inviting and enjoyable place. The proprietors and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. In addition, they went out of there way to provide recommendations and guides for sightseeing/climbing in the area. The food was excellent and the grounds were gorgeous to walk around! This all made for a wonderful trip.....I would definitely recommend this hosteria!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecuador
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Wonderful hosteria in the Avenue of the volcano. for us it was the "base camp" for the climbing (ilinizas, cotopaxi), the service was good, the food was great and we really like the Jacuzzi... for us, It was paradise (its about 1 hour south from quito on the way to baños)... Absolutely recomend! good prices

  • Liked — decor,staff and a cup of wine near the fireplace
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband, son and I stayed at Papagayo for 3 nights and felt right at home. The staff were friendly and fun and were always asking what they could do for us. My son and I rode horses while my husband climbed Cotopaxi. The food was great and our room was very clean and comfortable - best bed in Ecuador! The hot tub was great surprise!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Luckily we were only stuck here one night. True, the farm itself is quite nice, but everything else was awful.

I will clarify that the two stars for service was merited solely by the young Dutch volunteer, who was very nice and made to do everything while the payed employees sat around occupying the T.V area reserved for guests. He just couldn't do it all himself, at least he tried.

The room was bitterly cold, we had a fireplace but the wood was hopelessly wet. Took an hour of furious huffing and puffing to start a mediocre fire.

The food was completely awful, half the items on the menu were missing, we ended up having a massive half cooked burger meant for the pig trough, and 'grilled veggies' which consisted of old veggies fried up and mixed with french fries. The manager lady was really quite rude and surly.

The only enjoyable part of our stay was the weird farm animals. A dog trying to herd Llamas, a duck trying to copulate with a hen, apathetic sheep and a cow doing its best impersonation of Victoria falls.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We booked our 7 day climbing trip through Gulliver travel which I believe owns Papagayo and had a pleasant experience. Food was very good and the climbing guides (Fernando+ Lobbo) were very professional and friendly. Rooms were very clean and staff helpful but needed to be reminded at times. If you are expecting a 5* hotel at $20 a night then this is not for you.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

The grand farmhouse with Spanish architectural details immediately impressed me upon arrival as did the low cost of $15 a night for a private room with private bath. But this initial enchantment quickly began to fad. The first thing I noticed was the hotel was cold and drafty, so the innkeeper suggested we put more clothes on—rather than shutting some windows and turning on the heat. Then we got to room, and discovered there was no hot water. We went downstairs told the innkeeper that the hot water was broken—he said sit down eat dinner and we will fix the water by the time you are done eating. I was surprised the most of the menu items started at $5 (when that is the cost of an average room)—plus they add 12% tax on the meals. The food portion were small but adequate and food was a little odd, but good. When we got back to the room the hot water did not work.

The next day we had signed up for horseback riding, which was rather expensive for activities in that area ($75/day per person). We had paid for two days of riding in Quito and the sales lady in Quito promised us we could get a refund if we decided to only go one day. The horseback riding was arranged by the innkeeper, where he took us up a narrow road up the mountain and dropped us off with a guide who did not speak English. The ride was around 7 hours in the rain mostly at a trotting pace. I repeatedly indicated the guide that I would like to go slower or a shorter route (there was only three of us with the guide who didn’t seem to care much what we wanted). When the ride was finally over, I got off my horse and promptly fainted in front of the innkeeper. Later we approached the innkeeper saying we would not like to go horseback riding again the next day and we would like a refund. He denied us the refunded saying it was impossible to cancel now. When we returned to our room to shower—there once again was no hot water. Of course we complained loudly at this point and still there was no hot water. Finally after much ado we got ONE hot shower.

Papagayo is in the middle of no where, so you really can’t leave—although I am sure we would have left at this point if possible. When it was time to checkout we asked about getting a ride back to the Quito and the innkeeper said he would take up to Quito for $25 a person (I was still not feeling well, so this seemed like a good option). After several hours of waiting for him to take us back to Quito we got into his car which was packed with other travelers who he was also charging $25 a person. Then once we were packed in—his wet stinky dog jumped on top of us into the car.

Overall I would avoid Papagayo…unless you like being cold, having poor service and overpriced food.

  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria-PapaGayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria-PapaGayo

Address: Panamericana sur km 26 | Cotopaxi Area, Machachi 34999, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Machachi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Machachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria-PapaGayo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This colonial hosteria accommodation near the volcano Cotopaxi does not only offer magnificent views of the untouched countryside, but also gives you the possibility to experience the culture of the Andes local communities. Whether you just want to relax or to explore the landscape actively, our Hosteria is the best place to start. At the altitude of 3200m you can comfortably acclimatize and prepare yourself for the climbing of Cotopaxi, Ilinizas o Chimborazo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hosteria-PapaGayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostería Papagayo Cotopaxi
Hosteria-PapaGayo Ecuador/Machachi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria-PapaGayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.