We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Week at Costa Calero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Calero to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Calero
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Happy Week at Costa Calero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel clean, spacious, welcoming. Comfortable clean room with bath and shower and an efficient and quiet air conditioning system! Staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Food plentiful with a good variety available. Waiters and serving staff extremely quick and observant of diners' needs, and service always comes with a smile. . Dining room large and well lit with comfortable seating and a variety of tables. The upstairs piano bar is not spacious, but seating is available in the adjacent lobby. Excellent swimming pools and a splendid spa, Roman style with steam room, sauna, gradation of pools and a main pool extending into the open air. Many jacuzzis inside and out. Location good. The volcanic scenery is stunning, local footpaths along the clifftops easily accessible and a courtesy bus runs 6km to the nearest large resort should you tire of the peaceful marina 5 mins from the hotel.

Room Tip: family rooms on ground floor; Better views 2nd floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing such a great and detailed review about Costa Calero!

We are very pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your vacations and that you are highly recommending it.

On the behalf of all our staff, we are looking forward to your next visit here and we assure you that we are not going to disappoint you!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Gloucestershir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    603
    152
    37
    9
See reviews for
515
1,064
51
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 9th visit to this hotel and I have to say it is every bit as good as it was 9years ago.
The hotel was originally managed under the ibeorstar group but has since returned back to the hotel ownership.
The hotel is going through a process of upgrading its rooms which makes them fresh and modern with flat screen televisions and excellent channels.
The food is very good with a different variety of show cooking every night and also theme nights.
The entertainment staff do a splendid job you can take part or not in a variety of games ect,and at night you have a different act every evening.
We were fully inclusive well worth it.
Would recommend this hotel if you wish a quiet comfortable rest,do not look for swinging discos ect.
The only problem we had was the weather very overcast and a very cold wind not the hotels fault.

In conclusion if you wish a very restfully holiday in lovely surroundings with pleasant staff clean rooms,super food ,excellent wine,and spirits this is the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to have had you here with us and for the ninth time! Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review about your stay in Costa Calero and for pointing out the numerous advantages of the hotel.

So lovely to hear that you still like the hotel so much even after nine years, we are continuously upgrading and renovating. The consistency is very important to us and it is our duty to keep our high standards of service, as you have seen yourself.

On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to your 10th visit here!

Greetings from Puerto Calero!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just return from a most relaxing week in Hotel Costa Calero, taking part of the various activities, visits to the spa with steam room, sauna etc. etc. The all inclusive package is great, you can go on day trips and a pack lunch will be provided by giving notice the evening before.The room and surrounding is very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful, we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: If you are an Internet fanatic ask for a room where the reception is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed with us for your holidays! Very nice to hear that you have liked it so much.

You have done the most reasonable choice taking the All Inclusive package. So lovely that you have been able to indulge yourself in our Spa and Thalasso center, it is a must-do while staying here!

On behalf of all Costa Calero team, thank you for the gesture to write this nice review!

We are looking forward to seeing you here again soon!

Greetings to Ballycastle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Still here having a marvellous time, service, food, room, amenities 1st Class...
The staff are friendly and take an interest in you finding conversation and helping those who wish to try a little Spanish (me for instance).
Sharing my birthday with valentines day the hotel placed Cava and fruit in our room with a birthday wish, what a lovely surprise.
Top Marks to the team and again Thank You
We will return

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your birthday and Saint Valentine’s day, it means a lot to us. We are very glad to have made your double celebration unforgettable and special.

Very nice of you for having taken your time to write this lovely review! On the behalf of all our staff and animation team, thank you for the kind words, this will inspire us even more in our efforts to satisfy our guests.

Looking forward to your next visit here and we are hoping it will be soon!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Sheffield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel room, staff, food very good. It all went wrong every evening after dinner. There are not enough seats in the upstairs piano bar. If you try to use the downstairs entertainment bar it is dominated by 'The Team' entertaining the children. If you don't mind children racing round the tables chasing balloons etc until 9.30pm then it's OK for you. Then they play a video on a large screen and play music which does not relate to the video. The shows when they started were the worst we have seen in the last 8 years of holidays. Good place for families with young children,bad for others.

Room Tip: just pray you are not next to very young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for spending your vacations in our hotel and for taking your time to write this review.

We are very happy to hear that you liked our staff, rooms and food. We are very sorry that the entertainment was not of your liking, we usually receive only nice commentaries regarding to it.

There are live performances in the Piano bar four times per week, and our animation team works very hard while performing in their adorable improvised shows, which are tributes to famous movies, music stars, musicals, etc. We also have professional acts by guest-performers. Of course, it is our duty to keep everybody entertained and that includes our little guests as well.

Despite all, we do hope that you are going to visit Costa Calero again!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Newcastle upon Tyne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at this hotel and overall were very pleased, the place was extremely clean and the restaurant and bar staff were very good indeed, working very hard and always offering a smile. The food was also very good we have fresh salmon, mussells, prawns, roast joints every night including suckling pig, the lunch restaurant was outside and reminded me of a canteen and the lunchtime choices were a little more limited. The location is superb with only a 5 minute walk to the marina with its impressive boats and very nice selection of bars and restaurants. The overall impression l got that the hotels caters for the over 60s, and people on cycling holidays as its main clientel, everything had finished and was closing up by 11.00pm, which although it did not bother us, it may well bother others, and l could see nothing suitable for teenagers at all. I felt the entertainment was very average indeed, with the local reps doing mime shows about 3 days a week, there is a lovely piano bar but this had no entertainment for 3 of the nights, perhaps this is just because of the time of the year and may improve at another time. We were happy as we just went to relax and it fitted the bill. For the same price though (and we go in september in 30 degrees), we go every year to the Gloria Verde in Belek, Turkey and there is no comparison, that is 5 star all the way. There was nothing bad enough to actually complain about but equally nothing to shout about either, not sure if we would go back or not.

Room Tip: We paid an extra 84 euros and the majority of the view was the top of a palm tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy that you have chosen our hotel to spend your vacations and that you have taken your time to write this review.

So nice that you have had a pleasant time staying with us despite the few concerns that you are mentioning. We can assure you that we have guests of all ages and we provide quality entertainment for all of them. Costa Calero offers numerous sports, relaxation and game facilities and many opportunities for fun activities inside and outside the hotel. We also have complimentary shuttle to nearby Puerto del Carmen which is suitable for party lovers.

Once again, thank you for writing your opinion here and we remain in hope that you are going to visit us again after all!

Greetings to Banbury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from our fifth visit to this lovely hotel. It speaks volumes for the hotel that many people keep returning, and many people who have not visited before say they will definitely return. Everywhere is immaculately clean, the gardens are beautiful, and the staff without exception are friendly, helpful and efficient. We always find the other guests to be charming and friendly and the atmosphere of the hotel reflects this. Whilst we were there in January 2013 the weather was amazing which, of course, made our holiday even more enjoyable, with cloudless blue skies and sunshine day after day, although nobody can guarantee the weather! It seems churlish to grumble, because we have had such a lovely time, but the hot food would be much nicer if it was kept hotter. Like another reviewer, I don't want to moan, but it does need mentioning. There are microwave ovens to heat your food, but it's not the same. The choice of food is great, especially breakfast.

For people with mobility problems, the hotel has some adapted rooms with level-access showers (check by email direct with the hotel or via your travel agent whether you are booked into a suitable room), and plenty of ramps for access, as well as automatic-opening doors. The only place you can't really access in a wheelchair is the upper level of the piano bar, as the ramp is too steep, but there are lots of seats in the lower area and there is waiter service for drinks. There is also waiter service for drinks in the show-bar. It is worth mentioning that because the hotel is large, you would be well advised to ask for a room close to the public areas if you have walking difficulties as some of the rooms are quite far away. Also, be very careful if you visit the spa if you are not so steady on your legs, as the floors are quite slippery particularly when your feet are wet. Not a problem around the pools, as the surfaces are non-slip. Another point worth mentioning if you are a wheelchair user or not so good on your legs is the steep slope to the Marina.

The piano bar furniture has just been refurbished with more comfortable and nicer seating. Entertainment was good, and the animation team are so enthusiastic and friendly without being pushy. We particularly enjoyed the pianist who entertained in the piano bar and the magician show.

Want to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for spending your vacation here at Hotel Costa Calero for the fifth time! We highly appreciate the fact that you have taken your time to write this marvellous review about your experience here.

You are right, having so many repetitive guests speaks for itself and it is the best attestation for the quality of service we provide. We are very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful time here and that you have been lucky with the weather as well, even though at the Canaries it is difficult not to have good weather!

Once again, very nice of you to give such a detailed description of your stay with compliments for the staff and service and useful tips to the rest of the guests.

Looking forward to your 6th visit in hotel Costa Calero!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern thalassotherapy centre providing treatments under medical supervision, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Calero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.