We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel but watch as room classifications have changed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Calero to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Calero
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel but watch as room classifications have changed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We've been going to the Costa Calero since the year after it opened, once or twice a year.
The staff, including bar, restaurant, cleaners, animation team etc are still fantastic - loads have worked there as long we we've been going! Reception are another story but that's for later.
We stayed this time 13th to 20th December to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. We got very lucky with the weather and relaxed ready for Christmas. It was my first time traveling outside of school holidays, it was so quiet - no issues with sunbeds could even have got them next to the main pool at 11am if we had wanted, which was a lovely change from the summer.
Note: The hotel have changed the classification of the rooms from winter 2012 season, standard/garden rooms are now the ones overlooking the street and any room, from patio doors, which looks onto the pool area is now classed sea view.
So onto my problem with reception we had booked garden view rooms (same as in the summer) which then was one of the rooms on ground floor overlooking the pool area. At check in one of the very nice reception gentlemen had offered to move us on the Sunday to sea view rooms for free (I had offered and would have been happy to pay) however his female colleague made it clear she was not happy with this.
On the Sunday when I returned it was the same female receptionist who was on the desk and she decided it wasn't possible. Now it could have been true but she was completely unbelievable - it came across as she just didn't want to do it. I was quite shocked at her attitude as don't expect such poor level of customer service. Surely if something had changed a note or a call to our rooms would have been appropriate? Anyway we got the rooms we had booked so not a huge deal.
However I'll consider before booking again as maybe, given the hotel's popularity, customer service is no longer a priority. It's a shame as the rest of the staff are such a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

We are so flattered to hear that you have been such a “loyal” visitor of our hotel for so many years! Repetitive guests like you are the highest recognition of our hard work and efforts to provide best service at all times.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for the celebration of your daughter’s 21 birthday, we are honoured to have been hosted such a special family occasion.

As you have seen for yourself you have chosen a very pleasant time of year to have your winter get-away here with us in Lanzarote, the beautiful “Island of Eternal Spring”.

We appreciate the recognition to our staff and service excellency, although it is a big surprise to hear about the problem you have encountered during your stay. We are going to look for the reasons of the inconvenience caused, but we are sure that it has been produced by some kind of misunderstanding or bad circumstances. We are very sorry that you have not been communicated for the impossibility to be moved, but maybe Reception was waiting till the last moment, trying its best to arrange it.
We are really hoping that this small annoying detail will not hold you back from your long tradition of being a guest of our hotel.

We are grateful that you have taken your time to write this review and we are looking forward to your next visit to Costa Calero!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Glasgow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    602
    150
    35
    9
See reviews for
515
1,060
51
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Returned from a 16 night break in the Hotel Costa Calero last week. The location is quiet and the clientel generally mature in years. Saga go there. Its OK for young children as the animation team are very good but teens may get a bit bored. Not that much for them but the pools and nothing outside the hotel. All the staff were great, really friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious and well presented. We had a high floor room in the main building and we thought this was the best place to be. If you get room 534 you wont go far wrong. Ground floor rooms would be fine for families with younger children as the terraces extend onto quite a private grassed area. The food was very good with plenty of choice. There are always some issues with the hot food sometimes not being hot enough but this is unavoidable when buffet style mass catering is the order of the day. It just takes a bit of common sense, if you see a half empty tray of food thats not steaming its not going to be hot is it ? So either wait for fresh or bang it in the micro wave. All inclusive is a must here as the drinks are mainly good brands and the lunches are lovely. Night time entertainment is pretty good with pro. turns on most nights. Lanzarote is a small island so its easy to get about and a car, even if its only for a few days is a must as there is lots to see and it can all be got to within an hour max. There are also very few cars about so its an ideal place to drive if your a bit nervous about driving on " on the wrong side of the road " otherwise the buse service seems OK. The number of people who were return vistors ( there were loads ) is testament to the quality. We will return and be happy to recommend to anyone who wants a quiet holiday in a good hotel.

Room Tip: High floor main building for us. If you want a bit more outside space ground floor with terrace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for taking your time to write this nice detailed review for our hotel.

Puerto Calero is indeed a quite location, but it can be fun for all ages. It is a sports marina town and there are shops and bars located at the port, just a few minutes downhill from the hotel. Also the hotel itself offers multiple entertainments for all, teenagers included. There is a magnificent Spa and Thalasso centre, 4 pools located in the vast gardens, gym, animation programme with aerobic lessons, for the adventure lovers – scuba diving centre, all kinds of sports: volleyball, table tennis, air rifle shooting, arch shooting, billiard, bicycle renting, etc. We also provide a courtesy shuttle to and from nearby Puerto del Carmen where you can find the Shopping Centre Biosfera, an enormous golden sand beach and lively night life all week long. And as you are mentioning everything on the island is within an hour ride, so you can venture your way through it, either with rent-a-car or using the bus service.

All in all, our hotel is in a great location, just 3 miles away from the noise of Puerto del Carmen and at the same time allowing our guests to have a quality rest in the hotel’s paradise surroundings.

Thank you for highlighting the benefits of our excellent All Inclusive package, it is indeed the best option for the stay here.

We are very grateful and proud to know that you as well are going to include yourself in the long list of our repetitive guests and we are looking forward to welcome you here again soon!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Colwyn Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
289 hotel reviews
Reviews in 238 cities Reviews in 238 cities
566 helpful votes 566 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We're here for Xmas, and there are many good points as pointed out by previous reviewers.

If you want a lively holiday or a location where there is plenty of alternative entertainment, don't stay here, as the clientele are primarily 50+, and there is nothing much going on in the Marina just down the hill.

The food is a decent four star standard, but not five star - choice is very good, but some of it gets lukewarm quickly, and although we've been here five days, I've only seen prawns once.

The Piano Bar has worn upholstery and the owners really should upgrade this as it looks shabby, and in the four nights we have gone in there, there has only been one night when they had entertainment (a saxophonist) on. Strange really, as you'd expect music in a piano bar?

The rooms are four star, - only one basin, no separate shower cubicle and no lighting above the bath. Beds are twin pushed together, and the pillows aren't very comfortable. If you get a sea view, it's lovely, but I wouldn't be keen on a garden view (low level).

On the plus side, the wi-fi is free and has a strong signal in the bedrooms. The staff were very pleasant, and the place is kept ultra clean. The kids entertainers work their socks off, but the "Variety" show in the main theatre was pretty dismal - miming to backing tracks and uninspiring.

The Marina has a few restaurants and expensive shops but the climb back to the hotel is very steep and wouldn't suit anyone with walking difficulties.

Bar drinks are extensive and you need to ask if you want the branded ones included in the All-Inc package.

Puerto Del Carmen is around three miles away and they run a free bus.

Overall, I'd recommend it but there are a few drawbacks which wouldn't suit everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Costa Calero to spend your Christmas! We are lucky to have had you here during the most wonderful time of year.

We highly appreciate the gesture to have taken your time to write this detailed review. We will take into consideration both your positive commentaries as well as the critiques, which will help us improve our service.

We would like to inform you that the upholstery of the Piano bar is being taken care of and will be completely changed by the end of the week. We are constantly renovating and improving the hotel in order to keep our guests happy and do not permit ourselves to lower our standards.

We assure you that there is live music in the Piano bar at least four times a week – normally a sax or a piano performer, and now in Christmas time we have live programs every night.

The hotel offers plenty of entertainment for all ages, as well as sports activities and spa and wellness packages. One could not get bored even only by staying within hotel premises, but besides that, everything in the island is easily and quickly reachable by car or bus.

Both lower situated rooms with garden view as well as the sea-view ones have their enchantment and advantages and it depends on individual needs which one you would prefer.

We are lucky to hear that all in all you have had a pleasant stay here, once again, thank you for sharing your opinion about the hotel and we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Rochdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great britian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2012 for 2wks...There was 21 of us went to celebrate the Wedding of my neice Hayley to Krys...we all had a fantastic time..it was a party of all age groups..from 3yrs to 70yrs!!!!and everyone had a ball :) Everything about the Hotel was good..Food..Drink..Entertainment..Rooms..Pools..Service..no complaints whatsoever :) The childrens club was very good...they could go twice a day to give the parents a rest :) and the childrens entertainers deserve a medal...they also worked through the evening aswell :).....Just 5mins down the road is a Lovely Marina with bars&shops...Just one tiny little complaint!!!!it was hard to get a sunbed if you had a lie-in...Towels were on sunbeds early in the morning..but peole did,nt seem to go on them till later in the day!!!!All in all an Amazing time..and we all hope to go back for a reunion in afew years..... :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

WOW! What a great review! Thank you very much!

It is wonderful that you have celebrated your niece’s wedding precisely in our hotel. It is an honour for us to have been able to make such an important family gathering an unforgettable experience for you.

Our hotel is indeed very suitable for such happenings and it provides quality entertainment for all ages.

As regarding to sun beds, we are not able to prevent some guests of putting their towels on them in order to reserve them and we are very sorry about that. But we assure you that they are enough sun beds in the pool areas for all our guests.

On behalf of al our staff, thank you once again for the kind words and we are looking forward to see you and your family again soon!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Great Britain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel staff, pools and food are excellent.
I was not happy with the Receptionist when booking in as we requested 2 rooms (as we were two couples) together and they put us in two seperate rooms in rooms far away from the main building and it rained for four days making it difficult to walk to the Hotel.
The disadvantage was the shops etc were down a steep hill and it was difficult to walk back to the hotel.
Also you need to book all inclusive due to the hotel being in a remote spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in or close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing our hotel for spending your holiday. We are very happy to hear that you have had a good stay here besides the inconveniences caused by the rain. It is not normal to rain as much here in November, this year we have had a precedent, normally you can rarely see rain that lasts more than a few minutes in Lanzarote.
All inclusive option indeed is the best one to book because it is a marvellous possibility to enjoy your vacation without preoccupation for places to go to eat or drink, as it is all served in our marvellous restaurants and bars all day long, fresh and delicious and with something for every taste.
As concerning the steep hill, it is a bit of a challenge, but it is only as much as 50m and there are taxis waiting downhill that are more than happy to give tired tourists a lift.

We are looking forward to have you back in the hotel soon!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Saint Helens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Another visit in the bag and it was just as good as the others. We feel the food had improved from our last visit, it does get a bit repetative but choose wisely and you won't get bored.
The Xmas decorations were lovely, especially the nativity scene outside the dining room, you have to look closely as there are so many little scenes, magical.
There was a good mix of guests, people are very friendly at this hotel, most folks happy and willing to communicate in any language.
Will return again, sooner than later.
Thanks to all the staff, you are worth your weight in gold, you always go the extra mile to make our holidays good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the lovely review, we are happy to hear that you have had a great time here with us. It is very flattering for us to welcome repetitive guests as you, since there is no greater evidence that we have managed to make your stay here enjoyable.

So nice to hear that you have liked our Christmas decorations, we put special care to every little detail in order to bring the festivity spirit to the hotel. It is indeed so interesting and unusual to have Christmas while you are in the tropical Canary climate!

On the behalf of all the staff, we are really touched by your kind words about us.

We are looking forward to your next visits!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Cheshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you want to get away from it all, put your feet up, let someone else do all the hard work and not fly long haul to do so it's hard not to recommend the Costa Calero. My wife and I stayed all inclusive for 10 days at the beginning of November and loved it. The hotel is located just up the hill from Puerto Calero marina with views out over to the dunes in northern Fuerteventura. The hotel is clean with lots of space and never felt busy although we were assured that all rooms were full. The rooms are a good size and most if not all look out towards the sea. We were in 506 which had great views of the pools and the sea. The complex has several pools and lots of space to lie in the sun. We never struggled to get a lounger at any time of the day. The pools are quite cold in November so not many venture in. The highlight of the stay has to be the food. The quality and choice whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner was great and you won't find that you struggle due to repetetive dishes. Some of the fresh meat served at dinner was excellent and we had some great duck and salmon served by the chef. All this is excellenty washed down with a great choice of wines by the bottle all seved to the table. Drinks from the bar are also very good with a wide range of branded spirits included. Even the house spirits served at the pool bar are far better than most other hotels. All in all a fantastic visit and we hope to return in the future. A good tip is not to get a shuttle or bus transfer from the airport. 20 euros in a taxi will get you to the hotel in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in our hotel and to write such a detailed and useful review about it.

We are more than happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay in Costa Calero.

We highly appreciate the fact that you have highlighted some of the strongest points to choose hotel Costa Calero for your once-in-a-lifetime-vacation. We indeed are very proud of the exotic surroundings of the property which include the spectacular and lush gardens and the numerous large swimming pools equipped with sun beds for everybody. We put special effort and detail in elaborating our cuisine and we always try to offer to our guests diverse meals for every taste and to serve them quality drinks.

Thank you once again for the kind words, we are looking forward to your next visit!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Lancashire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern thalassotherapy centre providing treatments under medical supervision, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Calero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.