We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Calero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Puerto Calero
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights in this hotel and were so impressed that for the first time we would write a review on our stay.

Most of the reviews on here detail why this hotel is so good, however here are some points from our stay.

The Hotel itself was great as it was only 15 minutes (max) from the Airport. We would highly recommend that you get a private transfer like we did, yes it costs slightly more, however talking with some other guests they arrived over 2 hours from leaving the Airport after stopping all over the place. We did it in 12 minutes and were by the pool when the others arrived!

The Hotel is the cleanest we have stayed in, not once did we comment on anything being dirty, it was immaculate throughout.

The Pool areas were great, 4 pools to choose from, though as the other reviews point out this hotel does have a huge problem with towels being left out. There were also families that had 3-4 children that were at the Kids Club all day but had their towels on beds next to the pool all day not being used..

The Pool Bar was excellent and offered branded drinks all day (you need to ask for the Branded drink) and the measures were all large!

The grounds around the Hotel were immaculate and tidy throughout. The Staff were excellent friendly, polite, always helpful and an absolute credit to the Hotel. We commented so many times how every aspect of the running of the hotel seem to run like clockwork. Everyone had a job to do and it was done perfectly.

We had our daughter with us who was in the Pool most of the time, however did also use the Kids Club. She loved the time spent doing different activities and the Animation Team who run all the entertainments were great with the children.

The evening entertainment was 50/50 really. Some nights were good, some were cringe-worthy (see negatives below).

We have stayed in quite a few AI hotels before and some much more expensive and can honestly say none have had food as good as this hotel. There was masses of choice, it was varied nightly and everything was so fresh. I have read some comments on here about food being bland and not great? I can only assume it was very different to our experience and being a AI hotel of course there will be some things the same!

About 600m down a steep hill there is Porta Calero Marina. This is nice to go and have a drink and sit out watching the world go by or maybe have a break from the hotel and have a meal out, however that's about it. There are about 20 shops, most designer labels that were very very expensive, but it was a nice walk.

There is also a free bus to Porta Carmen. This again, was a nice day out and we bought some very very cheep drink to bring home. (Gordons Gin & Smerrnoff Vodka only £7 a litre!) There were quite a few shops and also shopping centres that were nice and we walked along the beach. Not the best beach in the world but a nice walk.

Ok. The only negatives / improvements that we encountered were:-

Nothing to do with the Hotel but there were lots of flies around the pool areas. Everyone commented including the staff that it is much higher than normal.

If you are allergic or do not like cats, this is not the hotel for you! There were quite a few cats walking about inside and out, one having pride of place on the sofa in the lobby most of the day, some around the pool and even a few walking about in the outside eating areas, There were by no means jumping up or anything, just walking about, but I could see how it may offend some people, especially if allergic.

I have already stated and many people previously have about the sunbeds. The only way I have seen this problem stopped before is all sunbeds are stripped of anything at 7am (say) and that then gives others a fighting chance. In this hotel there were people going out in the middle of the night to secure the same beds!

Our biggest negative about the stay by a mile would be the post entertainment after the evening show (11pm - 1am). Most nights there were well over 150 people for the evening show all of which in the mood for a few drinks and a boogie, The host would announce that there would be a disco and any requests should be made to the DJ behind the curtain and in their words " Any requests for any song can be made from any genre" until 1am.

At this point each night we went, requests were made and after 2 songs (the same each night) the video screen came down a DVD of Take That or Queen would be played as the DJ had gone!

It was a real shame as 10 minutes after the evening entertainment had finished the bar was practicably empty and there were more staff clearing tables than people drinking. We ended up going back to the room like the rest.... This was mentioned every day by different people around the pool and has been stated before on reviews and it should NOT be down to the Animation Team to arrange music after the very long day they work onsite.

There should be a proper DJ that actually does have varied music that can keep the evening going until the Bar closes.

All in all this was far the best AI we have stayed in and we will definitely be back at some point. The very fact lots of people that we spoke to were on there 4,5,6,7th visit speaks for itself..!

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 338. This was very close to Reception (50m) and on the same floor. If your just using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor and especially for highly recommending our hotel. We appreciate that very much.

We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel Costa Calero. We hope you will visit again and are looking forward to it. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

Kind regards from Lanzarote to Wakefield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    552
    131
    32
    7
See reviews for
440
955
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had a very enjoyable time at this hotel.We were in room 551 with a great view of the swimming pool and sea view including the harbour entrance. The hotel staff were very good and polite.The food at meal times was varied with a wide selection to suite all tastes.No probs getting sun beds.Weather very hot and sunny.We were all inclusive and able to order named brands every time(just ask for your favourite blend Gorgons,Bells,etc) without any fuss.You are able to hire pool towel at 10 euro a go and the full amount is refunded at the end of your stay.As well as hiring the room safe (5 euro refund).There is a very small market twice a week down the hill at the harbour area.There is also a boat taxi (10 euro return) to Puerto del Carmen if you fancy a change.The harbour area has a good range of restaurants if you are only B&B or half board. The hill is quite steep but the hotel is not far away(5 to 10 mins)there are doors at the bottom wall which let you in to the complex.If you do struggle with the hill there is ataxi rank at the harbour an they charge 2 euro to drop you off at the front door.The hotel itself is spotless as was our room.If you fancy a snack but not a buffet lunch you can order either tuna or chicken sandwiches or cheese and ham toasties from the poolside bar. Enjoy !!

Room Tip: E-mail in advance for level 5 (great views) we stayed in 551
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor and particularly for recommending our hotel to other people.

We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing break in our resort Costa Calero. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your room, our staff and our food selection. We hope that you will visit again and would be very pleased to welcome you to our hotel again. We hope you had a pleasant jouney back home.

Kind regards from Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After staying in many 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world, we picked this hotel for a relaxing break (2nd Septemeber, 11 nigths) with 4 other freinds.
As we pulled up we were all suprised how nice it was for the price we had paid, what a great start.
Pool area is fantastic, no problems getting sunbeds (we were a party of six and manged to get beds together for 11 days and we did not go down to the pool area till 9am onwards!!!). The pooll area is immaculate.

The food in the morning , afternoon and nightime is fantastic with loads of choice. You can not fault this hotel in anyway from the lovely piano bar to the entertainment at night, a bit cheesy, but hey they are not profesionals, they work very hard for their money!!

EXCEPT!!!

For me personally, this holiday could have been spoilt by one narrow minded barstaff manager who funnily enough is the only one who does not wear a name tag ( could be a reason for that ?).

Just before I rant on - I am a married 44 year old business man who enjoys a laugh with freinds and as a group we are very sociable, not the type to intrude on anyone or take advantage of free drinks on the all inclusive, I actually drank more coffee than beer, great with the little biscuits!!

I have a few tattoos, left arm sleeve and full back piece, these are traditional japanese art, and cost me a small fortune.
They way I was spoken to and stared at by this particular person In my opinion was very small minded, Amazing then that the spanish guy sat at the bar full of what I can only describe as a walking advert for a tattoo shop got served with a smile and always before us..

This is the year 2012 and people need to realise that people have tattoos for their own satisfaction, not to offend other people.
I complained to the Thompson rep who did nothing at all.

You will know who im talking about if you go to the hotel because he looks a bit like Buddy Holly. After saying all this by the last 2 days of our holiday he actually smiled at me.( maybe this was somthing to do with the fact another group of typical brits arrived in a large party and were very loud and abusive, to the staff. he shoudl realise we are not all the same.

BUT>>>>>>
All in all a fantastic holiday and would definately recommend it. The place its self if very quiet wth a couple minute walk down hill to a lovely harbour with a few bars and retaurants. Check out Cassablanca's great chill out bar. We tried the chinese one night and were most impressed with the food quality and the friendly staff. As we were all inclusive we ate mainly in the hotel and could not complain about the service or the food quality.

Quite easy to travel into Pueto del carmen for a change of scenery

Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor, especially for becoming so detailed and for highly recommending our hotel even with the annoyances.

Looking for reasons that were to justify this behaviour of our staff, we want to apologize formally for this act of discourtesy. We respectfully request to accept our apologies as we higly appreciate all of our guests. This will not happen again and therefore we would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again.

We are very happy to read that you still liked a few things about our hotel and that you enjoyed our pool area.

Again we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Kind regards from Lanzarote to Warrington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Costa Calero in October. We didn't get the sea view room we had booked and paid for and when we asked for change the reception informed us the hotel was full. We had a ground floor room and it was a nice size but a little dark and dingey at times. The room was very clean and the maid service was excellent. Most of the staff we encountered were very plesant. I agree with the other reviews that comment on the bar opening times and the fact that there is only one bar open most of the time with only two staff on. The pools were nice and we never struggled to get a sun bed. The food had alot of variety but was really bland. It needed a bit more flavour and got repetitive towards the end of the week. It was good that on the AI you could get a bottle of wine for your table. I admit the hotel was full of the older generation but so what! They were great company and were up dancing later and longet then most of us!! The main reason why I wouldn't reture to this hotel is the lunch time eating arrangements it was full of birds flying about and cats begging. At one stage the birds were pooing on the table next to us it feels like a service station eating area not a 4*hotel. If you do not like cats then do not stay here because they are all over. Asleep in the foyer, in the bars and resting at whatever furniture or area they like. My chikdren enjoyed the disco and the kids club staff were friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Would advise asking for floor 3 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor. We highly appreciate that.

We are very happy to hear that you all in all had a pleasant stay with your family in our hotel. Regarding your room, we want to apologise for this inconvenience and hope for your understanding as we were fully booked and there were no other rooms free. We are very sorry for that and we still hope you could enjoy your other room.

Kind regards from Lanzarote to Yorkshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Another good review of this hotel - thanks to the staff who are simply FAB - from the animation team to the waiters, waitresses and reception staff - they made it a great holiday - Lots of good food and a choice of branded drinks that cannot be beaten (even a wine menu as part of the all inclusive)
Yes - the food can be repeditive but there are lots of choices - so it is down to you to mix up the options.
My ONLY complaint is the lunch time outdoor "restaurant" which is really a cafeteria -normally on a 4 or 5* all inclusive lunch in a good. peaceful, unrushed restaurant is a highlight of the day ( see the Costa Adeje Tenerife to see how it should be done) - lunchtime was a hot, noisy affair with the flys, the cats and the odd bird to keep you company - why don't you open the main restaurant for lunch with maybe a "theme" menu - italian for example - easy to cater for with reduced options for the guests who would appreciate a more sedate lunchtime meal.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building 4th or 5th floor and book a sea view in advance with your bookiing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for expressing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that our staff made it a great holiday for you and that you enjoyed our food and drinks. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

We would be very pleased if you would visit again. Kind regards to Glasgow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent a week here all inclusive in October, the hotel has the potential to be exceptional but unfortunately just misses the mark.

On the plus side the hotel is large, well equipment and in an excellent state of repair. The all inclusive drink options are exceptional and better than some Caribbean resorts with premium spirits being available Jack Daniels, Southern Comfort etc.
The grounds are well maintained and the hotel location is great for a relaxed walk to the port for boat trips, fishing and the like.

However it just misses the mark on a couple of points, firstly the rooms are a bit small (well ours was) and the beds are only slightly harder than the Marble flooring, resulting in trips to the Chiropractor upon return costing more than the original holiday.

The hotel only has one bar open during the day time and on occasions this can be staffed by as few as one person (two appears the typical number), so as you can appreciate the queue can get substantial during the day, and this was staying off peak.
Additionally this problem is duplicated by the piano bar which is also understaffed resulting in large waits to get a drink.

The food hall was also half closed in the evening and the selection was somewhat limited, however this hotel is not alone with this problem as all all-inclusive resorts I have stayed at (with the exception of Couples Swept away in Jamaica) appear to struggle with maintaining a good food selection (I imagine this is due to catering on a tight budget).

The hotel appears has a bit of a "Cat" problem, locals feed the animals (bowls are present in the hotel grounds), which results in the gardens grounds being a bit of a "Litter Tray" with a lot of fly's present and on occasions cat sick could be seen in the grounds.

However despite these items I would still recommend this hotel as the area is exceptional, the port just down the road lovely and the drink choices very good, however just be aware that there will be long waits and some little gripes to put up with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from the Costa Calero and have to say that we were generally disappointed.
Food bland and to be compared with school dinners.
Location isolated.
Impossible to get a sunbed unless you are up at 7am every morning.
Five weddings hosted during out two weeks. Some of which went on until 5am. Hotel apologetic but not helpful when you have had no sleep!
Very popular with Saga regulars which tells it's own story!
Give it a miss!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern thalassotherapy centre providing treatments under medical supervision, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Calero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.