We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Calero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Puerto Calero
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Costa Calero in October. We didn't get the sea view room we had booked and paid for and when we asked for change the reception informed us the hotel was full. We had a ground floor room and it was a nice size but a little dark and dingey at times. The room was very clean and the maid service was excellent. Most of the staff we encountered were very plesant. I agree with the other reviews that comment on the bar opening times and the fact that there is only one bar open most of the time with only two staff on. The pools were nice and we never struggled to get a sun bed. The food had alot of variety but was really bland. It needed a bit more flavour and got repetitive towards the end of the week. It was good that on the AI you could get a bottle of wine for your table. I admit the hotel was full of the older generation but so what! They were great company and were up dancing later and longet then most of us!! The main reason why I wouldn't reture to this hotel is the lunch time eating arrangements it was full of birds flying about and cats begging. At one stage the birds were pooing on the table next to us it feels like a service station eating area not a 4*hotel. If you do not like cats then do not stay here because they are all over. Asleep in the foyer, in the bars and resting at whatever furniture or area they like. My chikdren enjoyed the disco and the kids club staff were friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Would advise asking for floor 3 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor. We highly appreciate that.

We are very happy to hear that you all in all had a pleasant stay with your family in our hotel. Regarding your room, we want to apologise for this inconvenience and hope for your understanding as we were fully booked and there were no other rooms free. We are very sorry for that and we still hope you could enjoy your other room.

Kind regards from Lanzarote to Yorkshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,088
    554
    131
    32
    7
See reviews for
443
957
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Another good review of this hotel - thanks to the staff who are simply FAB - from the animation team to the waiters, waitresses and reception staff - they made it a great holiday - Lots of good food and a choice of branded drinks that cannot be beaten (even a wine menu as part of the all inclusive)
Yes - the food can be repeditive but there are lots of choices - so it is down to you to mix up the options.
My ONLY complaint is the lunch time outdoor "restaurant" which is really a cafeteria -normally on a 4 or 5* all inclusive lunch in a good. peaceful, unrushed restaurant is a highlight of the day ( see the Costa Adeje Tenerife to see how it should be done) - lunchtime was a hot, noisy affair with the flys, the cats and the odd bird to keep you company - why don't you open the main restaurant for lunch with maybe a "theme" menu - italian for example - easy to cater for with reduced options for the guests who would appreciate a more sedate lunchtime meal.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building 4th or 5th floor and book a sea view in advance with your bookiing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for expressing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that our staff made it a great holiday for you and that you enjoyed our food and drinks. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

We would be very pleased if you would visit again. Kind regards to Glasgow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent a week here all inclusive in October, the hotel has the potential to be exceptional but unfortunately just misses the mark.

On the plus side the hotel is large, well equipment and in an excellent state of repair. The all inclusive drink options are exceptional and better than some Caribbean resorts with premium spirits being available Jack Daniels, Southern Comfort etc.
The grounds are well maintained and the hotel location is great for a relaxed walk to the port for boat trips, fishing and the like.

However it just misses the mark on a couple of points, firstly the rooms are a bit small (well ours was) and the beds are only slightly harder than the Marble flooring, resulting in trips to the Chiropractor upon return costing more than the original holiday.

The hotel only has one bar open during the day time and on occasions this can be staffed by as few as one person (two appears the typical number), so as you can appreciate the queue can get substantial during the day, and this was staying off peak.
Additionally this problem is duplicated by the piano bar which is also understaffed resulting in large waits to get a drink.

The food hall was also half closed in the evening and the selection was somewhat limited, however this hotel is not alone with this problem as all all-inclusive resorts I have stayed at (with the exception of Couples Swept away in Jamaica) appear to struggle with maintaining a good food selection (I imagine this is due to catering on a tight budget).

The hotel appears has a bit of a "Cat" problem, locals feed the animals (bowls are present in the hotel grounds), which results in the gardens grounds being a bit of a "Litter Tray" with a lot of fly's present and on occasions cat sick could be seen in the grounds.

However despite these items I would still recommend this hotel as the area is exceptional, the port just down the road lovely and the drink choices very good, however just be aware that there will be long waits and some little gripes to put up with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from the Costa Calero and have to say that we were generally disappointed.
Food bland and to be compared with school dinners.
Location isolated.
Impossible to get a sunbed unless you are up at 7am every morning.
Five weddings hosted during out two weeks. Some of which went on until 5am. Hotel apologetic but not helpful when you have had no sleep!
Very popular with Saga regulars which tells it's own story!
Give it a miss!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Another great week at this hotel to celebrate my birthday.We first visited the same time last year and promised ourselves to return.
I again emailed the hotel to order some flowers & chocolates on arrival and requested the same room we had previously occupied. All was done without any bother. Also to our surprise we met some friends from last year that made our holiday all the greater.
The staff, food & room were as expected to a high standard.This year however we were aware of the odd Wedding (2 during our week) that did go on into the early hours.
This time we hired a car for 2 days which I would highly recommend as you can get from one end of the island to the other in 1.5 hours. Do visit all the Cesar Manrique sites especially his Foundation & Jameos Del Agua -amazing. We also used the local bus to visit Playa Blanca about 30 minutes away. Do note that the bus starts at "Matagorda" the far end of Puerto Del Carmen and takes some 40 minutes to reach Puero Calero not 15 minutes which the lady on reception stated.
ENJOY

Room Tip: Email hotel and request room overlooking Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor and especially for recommending our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you returned to our hotel and that you enjoyed the company of our other guests and our staff. It is nice to hear that you all in all had a pleasant stay in our resort and we would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again.

Kind regards from sunny Lanzarote to Henfield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

just arrived back from the costa calero hotel 18th..had a very relaxing holiday.good food hot drinks and branded names. service and cleandiness of the rooms and hotel was 100%. entertainment every evening. and for children during the day and night times...getting a sunbed anytime during the day was not a problem.lots of choice of menu self service. a large hotel with a large heart.

Room Tip: we asked for a room on the 5th floor, but ended up with room 450 on the 4th floor.. great view and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for expressing your opinion and especially for recommending our hotel to other people.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed your holiday. We would be very happy to welcome you to our hotel again.

Kind regards from Lanzarote to Newcastle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Returned on the 7th October. Had a very relaxing time. Hotel had everything we wanted. Good food and hot, drinks branded names and as much as you required. Room was on 5th floor No. 550 sea view very nice, clean and modern looked as if it had been refurbished, flat screen television. Although large hotel, layout of pools in tiers so was never over crowded and plenty of beds with sunbathing areas. Lunch in outside restaurant busy but you could have snacks at pool bar as an alternative. Mainly couples but it was school term time. Harbour nice walk down but not so good walking back in heat, few shops and bars/restaurants there. Puerta del Carmen 15mins away by bus/taxi if you want more lively time. All areas kept very clean, staff very helpful and pleasant.Well worth going all inclusive. Would recommend for couples.

Room Tip: Higher floors for sea view 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor and especially for recommending our resort.

We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing time in our hotel Costa Calero. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and the company of our staff.

We would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again. Kind regards from Lanzarote to London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern thalassotherapy centre providing treatments under medical supervision, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Calero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.