We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Lanzarote to your Saves list
Hesperia Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Was rather nervous about visiting because of all the negative reviews but fortunately didn't experience the problems these guests seemed to encounter. There were always plenty of sun beds and space around the pool, and service was consistently good. Have no complaints at all about the staff. Food in the main buffet restaurant was also good and the room was clean and comfortable enough. We were a bit disappointed that the pontoon wasn't available, as entering and exiting the sea from the stony beach was not easy, particularly when the sea was a bit choppy. All inclusive choice of drinks was good, though it would be nice to have some of the minibar included in the AI - particularly soft drinks. We ended up smuggling glass bottles of water out of the restaurant on more than one occasion in the morning as a result. Wifi was so slow and kept timing out so was effectively unusable. The location of the hotel is great - 10 minutes walk to the rather swish harbour of Puerto Calero, an hours walk to Puerto del Carmen and in the other direction, about 40 minutes to the delightful Quemada. We would definitely return despite the few niggles with the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    662
    289
    104
    52
See reviews for
431
1,101
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a week at the hotel and it was great apart from 2 things... Firstly the waiting staff were inefficient and kept forgetting drinks orders which is quite frustrating when all you asked for is coffee at breakfast and other than drinks the only job they have is clearing away and setting up! Had to ask again after 10 mins at least half of the week. That's just a little niggle but the main complaint is that we didn't realise that the hideous stench we had when the balcony door was open was from the sceptic tank that was under the decking of the private beach just below. They emptied it the day before we left so felt it was too late to complain and had just thought it was strong smell of sulphur from the thermal water. It caused lots of flies around the balcony which was another reason for keeping doors shut whilst there. So, apart from not wanting to be anywhere near rooms 365, 465, etc I would happily recommend the hotel otherwise. I might add that these rooms seem to be the kids rooms which are great rooms internally but seems a bit out of order to have children near poo! :-/

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went here in October half term. I would have cancelled the trip if I could have done as all the negative feedback on trip adviser put me off. We couldn't so we went. I emailed the hotel before we went and I have to say they were very helpful.
The hotel is clean and spacious. Sun beds this was my worst fear. The hotel have invested in some new ones and there were strict notices around asking people not to reserve them. People didn't and it was fantastic. There were free sun beds available all day in one location or another.

The staff were all lovely and all worked really hard. The dining area was my only gripe as they didn't have enough staff on to do the cooking and someone was cooking fish then meat and then something else. My husband went down with food poisoning on day 2 and had it for a further 7 days. He lost nearly a stone in weight and when we returned to our GP in the UK he said it was serious. I went to the chemist in Lanzarote as we had run out of immodium and she said it was the 5th case that day and it was her last pack!!!! The chemist told me to tell the hotel. I told the head waiter who couldn't have given a dam! When we checked out I mentioned it and the receptionist was really apologetic and couldn't do enough for me asking if I would like to keep my room until we went. It was nice to feel someone cared as the head waiter clearly didn't. Chloe is a real asset to the reception team.

Overall the hotel is good value for money. I think they need to get the food sorted out but on the whole it was good and plenty to choose from. The wine was good too and you could have a bottle on the table not mess around with glasses.

We didn't go to the entertainment as its not our scene.

Would I go back yes I would.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the hotel and extremely disappointing. The hotel was overcrowded which meant that even at 8.00am in the morning out of season, you were having to queue for breakfast. It was impossible to find a sunbed even very early in the morning as they were already reserved with towels. The quality of the food was very poor and there were a few days that we missed breakfast, as could not be doing with the hassle of queuing and then not enjoying the food. We were staying in a superior suite however had to be moved as the jacuzzi bath was not working and it was very noisy. The change to all inclusive in the last 12 months has spoilt the hotel in our opinion. We had to hire a car to get away from the hotel, as could not relax due to not being able to find a sunbed. The holiday improved once we got away and spent three days at some beautiful beaches. We will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at the hesperia 4 years ago and it hasn't changed. Unfortunately this meant the bedroom was looking a bit tired and was in need of painting and updating to a more modern look. It would not put me off though as it was spotless clean and very comfortable. If you are not all inclusive then there are no facilities in the room to make a hot drink which was a little frustrating but we weren't expecting it as we had read the room itinerary. The rest of the hotel was elegant and clean with a very relaxing atmosphere both in the vast open reception or by one of the pools. We had bed & breakfast and we could not fault the breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. We wanted to unwind and relax and that is what we got from this hotel. We have visited other resorts on the island but calero is by for the most sophisticated. If you want to enjoy good food and drink watching the boats in a quaint harbour then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you like an early night then ask not to be put within the reception/bar, rooms 800-812. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

5 day romantic break, perfect! Fantastic breakfast, nice restaurants in harbour, good starting point for exploring the island. Large beds in the room, spacious rooms, nice swimming facilities. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We travelled to this hotel at the end of October. Two families for a half term break. We had emailed the hotel in the weeks running up to our arrival to ask for room next door to one another, they e mailed back to say they saw no problem with this if there was availability. When we checked in we asked again, the staff acknowledged this and said our request was received and was fine - yet our rooms were not next door!
We did have an brilliant week here though and I would recommend this hotel to families looking for a peaceful holiday!
We stayed on an all inclusive basis. Not as straight forward as in many other AI hotels so be careful, not everything on offer is all inclusive all of the time. Some food and drinks have additional costs and you need to be quite specific on what you need.
The food in the main restaurant is of a good/great standard. Great fresh fish and cooked to order meats. The restaurant is light and airy with plenty of outdoor space, service is good and the wines on the AI list are of a decent standard.
Our rooms were at the side of the hotel with a view to the sea, they were spacious, modern and exceptionally well designed. Plenty of room for a family of three in these larger family rooms. There are plenty of swimming pools and sun beds to chose from none of them too far from a bar!
Families are well catered for but nothing is too over the top (games, reps etc).

There is a great, short walk from the hotel to the marina at Puerto Calero.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely. Rooms not attached to the main building or peripheral to the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.