We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in Fuertventura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esquinzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte Marina
Save
You added Monte Marina to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, 35626 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Newbury
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in Fuertventura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Monte Marina and we were very impressed. We have visited self catering places, naturist and non-naturist all over the world and for quiet relaxation this is one of the best. The complex has clean sheltered white buildings with beautiful gardens of bougainvillea, hibiscus, succulents and cactus.I don't think I have ever been to an apartment so well equipped with the basics: coffee machine, hairdryer, kettle - even a teapot! Additionally those items that sometimes have to be bought after you arrive were all there: washing up liquid, toilet rolls, liquid soap, dishcloths - the only thing missing for us was coffee filters.The pool was cold but my husband made good use of the sauna (which is included in the price)
The local Spar shop was well stocked and had everything we needed(including alcohol) for a 10 day stay. We didn't shop anywhere else.
The reception is in the local textile hotel. Susan was very welcoming and often visited the restaurant while we eating in the evening to make sure everything was going well, Reception sells postcards and stamps, and has a letter box for posting. There are two libraries for book exchanges so no need to leave the area.
The hotel restaurant with its sea view was good, a mixture of Canarian and German food - huge portions! We were pleased that the Spanish habit of eating late was not an option. Most customers had eaten by 9.00pm. The house wine - Portuguese was very good.
We also discovered a superb local restaurant - Marabu.This was more expensive but beautifully presented and we ate there three times. It was so popular you had to book!
The beach is sandy with a beach restaurant but the wind meant you needed to use some sort of windbreak.
Our only negative comment is about the hot water supply. Solar powered means that sometimes it was not hot enough (especially when local developments cut off the supply during the heat of the day). We ended up boiling water on the hob for washing up as we couldn't bear to waste water waiting for it to run hot.
We plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was my third visit to Monte Marina, so obviously there is a lot about the place that I have enjoyed, but I was aware of more problems during my fortnight here this time. As there is no heating in the apartments, they can get cold of an evening; an electric point was starting to come away from the wall; the plug in the washbasin didn't fit and so let the water out quite rapidly; water had to be run for a very long time before it began to heat up and, on occasions, it hardly heated up at all; the water pressure from the shower seemed low, so that it only came out in something slightly better than a trickle. (This might be due to sand in the shower head - when a technician came to sort out some of the problems mentioned, he greatly increased the flow from one of the taps by removing sand from it. He explained that sand can be a problem because the tap water all comes from the sea.) The Wi-Fi, for which, unlike in many hotels, you have to pay, was fairly unreliable, at one point not working at all for a day and a half. (Incidentally, if you're going to be on the internet a lot, it pays to ask for a voucher which, for 20 euros, will give you twenty hours. This is not usually offered unless you ask for it. The charge per hour is considerably higher than this if you only request an hour or two.) As regards TV, the only English language programmes you'll get are the BBC World Service and CNN. Most of the programmes are in German. I enjoyed watching several episodes of "Little Britain" and, as I have seen the series back in England, my A level German was sufficient to enable me to follow them. It wasn't too difficult to understand "Computer sagt nein!" for example.

There was one other problem which is obviously beyond the control of the management: the beach seemed to have got smaller! Not being a geologist/geographer/meteorologist, I'm not sure whether this was due to the time of year, global warming, erosion or some other factors, but the sea always seemed to come up too close to the rocks, leaving not a lot of sandy beach. On previous trips, I had been able to go on longish runs on the beach, but this proved impossible this time, as there were no good stretches of sand immediately near the accommodation.

This sounds rather negative, but it reflects my experience on this particular trip. Generally speaking, it would be fair to say that, if you want a quiet naturist holiday, this place may well suit you. Most of the customers are elderly Germans - indeed on the beach or in the restaurants you hardly hear any Spanish being spoken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Third visit this year and once again we were not disappointed, total bliss. If you are looking for night life this is not the place for you. Had half board in sister hotel and this could not be faulted.

An not imagine why anyone would not think that for just 24 euros for half board. One of the healthiest breakfasts you are likely to have and the three course evening Buffett is one of the best we have had, what is lacks in choice it more than makes up for in quality.

Staff in restaurant are very welcoming always have time to help nothing is too much trouble.

Really enjoyed third holiday already in the process of booking for next March, so this in our view this is the best naturist holiday apartment holiday

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Monte Marina naturist apartments in May and had mixed memories of the holiday. The flight out by Monarch was delayed by 45 minutes and turned into a flight from hell because of the screaming kids and distress caused to passengers. The seat pitch was cramped on the plane and we shall not fly Monarch again. On arrival at the apartments we had a warm welcome from Suzanne. Both she and her son were friendly and helpful and we appreciated their knowledge of the island as well as their command of English. Suzanne had put a bottle of wine in our room and given us accommodation by the pool on the ground floor which was convenient for access. The room (No.45) was clean and had plenty of storage space in the bedroom. The living room was spacious and well furnished. The absence of a shower curtain in the bathroom meant that the floor became flooded after use. It would have been nice to have a toaster in the kitchenette. It was a pity that the markings on the hotplate controls had worn off so you couldn’t tell what heat they were set on. The pool was excellent although the water was rather chilly so few people were using it. Towels could be obtained from reception for a deposit of 10€ each. There were not many guests so loungers were abundant with no towels put out to reserve places in the mornings. The pool surround was quiet and peaceful. Although the south of the island is popular with Germans, there were other English visitors in the apartments. We had one breakfast in the Marina Playa restaurant which was 9€ each and quite adequate. The nearby Spar was really good and provided us with all the food we needed for the holiday. For our evening meals, we tried both the neighbouring Hotel Marinella buffet and the Marina Playa restaurant. Both meals were satisfactory for 15€ per person. Our best and cheapest meals were at the sea front Chinese restaurant in Morro Jable, a few km away. A short walk/drive down the hill from the hotel to the beach revealed small igloos made of rocks which gave shelter from the wind. We had 4 days of discomfort from the wind which only eased on day 5. A holiday on Fuerteventura is not complete without a visit to the small villages in the central and western areas of the island. Ajuy on the west coast was a must-see with a walk round the promontory giving a good opportunity to appreciate the volcanic strata on the island. We drove back through Pajara where we had a superb Canarian meal at the restaurant by the church and then on to Betancuria, the old capital of the island. There we visited the small tropical garden by the church where there were film shows about the island included in the entry fee of 6€. The high point of the holiday was a visit to Oasis Park. This is a large tropical garden containing a zoo. The plants formed an outstanding collection and, amid the barren landscape that dominates the island, this was a paradise for the traveller. There was a decent restaurant with a simple menu. We followed our meal with a camel ride which was an interesting experience. There wasn’t much change from 100€ for the day but it was well worth it. The journey home was blighted once again by a delay of 1 hour, screaming kids, uncomfortable seats and knees squashed by the short pitch seating. Goodbye Monarch.

Room Tip: A room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteley
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Naturist Apartments
Arrived in Fuerteventura, collected car and started on nearly a 2hr journey to the resort. Stopped at a Spar supermarket to buy groceries, and then continued to resort. On arrival, about 1630hrs, the Reception was closed, rung the bell and was greeted with a ‘telling off’ for being late. A great start to our holiday. After all the paperwork had been completed we were directed to our apartment No.47. We had requested a pool view, we got one of sorts, the swimming pool support wall. The apartment was spacious, as we tend to spend ourselves. Nice bathroom c/w shower, lounge / dining area and balcony. Anyway we settled in and had a nice buffet meal across the road for 16 euros each.
Plenty of sun lounges around the pool, we always seemed to get one when we wanted. Late afternoon till the evening the sauna was on and everyone appeared, sometimes you had to squeeze in. The pool was freezing though.
One day our shower lever broke but was soon repaired. We would stay here again although the only gripe was there was hardly had any hot water. We used to go over to the sauna area to use the showers there, like other residents did. We did complain about this but just got a shrug of the shoulders.
Used the local ‘Safari’ bar in evening, host & hostess greeted everyone and remembered your drink from the previous evening but always made sure that’s what you wanted. Spent New Years Eve in the bar, very good.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms overlooking the bus stop, ask for the lower 40s numbered flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spent 8 days in apartment complex.
Overall pleased with atmosphere and the facility.
A lovely resort, but be prepared for it being very quiet, with little to do after dark. The saving grace is the fantastic Malibu restaurant diagonally behind the complex- super food and atmosphere. There is a small Spar very close by: overpriced with the most grumpy staff imaginable and a small bar that specialises in showing multiple football matches.
Our room (48) on the upper floor satisfied all exhibitionist tendencies with wonderful views for those at the bus stop on adjacent road onto our balcony. The standard of the room fit out and maintenance is adequate but a a long way from brilliant, No bidet in the bathroom was a surprise, no air-con could be an issue at some times of year. But that said the whole complex was clean and well presented.The limited reception hours in the hotel are a little chaotic, the hotel restaurant was a bit hit and miss but overall the staff we met were all very helpful and friendly, especially Frau Duffner.
The beach is great once your north of the towel occupied rock bunkers, and you can walk clothes free for at least 1hour north up the beach without any issue.
We hired a car and drove from the airport were glad we did to give flexibility to visit Moro Jable, but the bus does stop outside (my room-exhibitionist again!) every half hour till midnight. A little knowledge of German is also most useful.

Room Tip: Avoid small upper floor rooms with sea view = road view(both ways!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Just spent 7 nights at Monte Marina, it was so relaxing. Everyone was so friendly staff were very helpful. Already booked to go back. Such nice touch rose and wine made you feel very welcom.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Marina

Address: 8, 35626 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Esquinzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Monte Marina Hotel Marabu
Monte Marina Fuerteventura, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.