We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esquinzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, 35626 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Esquinzo
Norfolk, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Just spent 7 nights at Monte Marina, it was so relaxing. Everyone was so friendly staff were very helpful. Already booked to go back. Such nice touch rose and wine made you feel very welcom.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stavanger
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed her at Monte Marina apartments earlier, and have been very satisfied. This time however, we cannot say the same. Last time, we stayed in the upper floor with a sea view, this time we wanted to try the ground floor because of the price. We got the apartment in the corner of the area with the bus stop right outside. Not much sun reached the terrass and we were very cold during the stay at 14 days. We like the self catering, but in the kitchen only one cooking plate was working properly. In those 14 days we did not have hot enough water to do the dishes, we heated water on the cookingplate. The shower was almost to cold for showering, however our last day we did get a nice shower. The equipment in the kitchen are ok and so was the blanket in the bed. Nice and warm. The apartment was clean when we arrived, but in 14 days one cleaning is not enough. We could change our towels by putting them outside our door and get rid of the garbage the same way. The apartments are tired and need an upgrade, but I don't think we will go back again. There should not be that difference in two different apartments!!

Room Tip: I really would have chosen a room in the upper floor, most of all the one with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Brit
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Having been to the Monte Marina on three previous occasions, we decided that we were overdue another visit to stay with Frau Susanna. We like the peace & quiet, plus the flexibility of self catering. Note that you really need a car here, or be dependent on taxis and the service bus

We did the whole booking via Peng travel, who sorted it all with no hassle.

Flights. Were via Thompsons / First choice. Check in at Manchester was the fastest that I have ever encountered, top marks to Thompsons. The aeroplane however, was a different matter. This was the most cramped aircraft that I have ever flown in. I am not tall, but my knees where crushed against the seat in front, & I got a lower back massage care of the guy’s knees behind me. This was an Airbus 320 I think, the Boeing 737-800 coming home had far more leg room.

Car hire was supplied by Cicar. I would recommend them without hesitation. We got a brand new car (35km on the clock) with none of the usual scams that seem to prevail in the car rental business.

Monte Marina consists of a block of self catering apartments around a central pool area. The complex is gated. Our apartment was on the upper floor & seemed to have a slightly better spec to what I remember. This might be due to the fact that it could be expanded to accommodate six people. It came equipped with a full size fridge / freezer, oven with four ring hob, coffee maker & kettle. My only complaint would be that as well as a sea view, it overlooked the road so one could engage in mutual inspection with old ladies on the local service bus. We asked for a microwave, which was delivered same day & rented the safe for the week. Note that you will have to pay a cash deposit on beach towels, & the TV remote. I would not have thought that the clientele of mostly middle aged Germans would be in the habit of purloining either, but there you go!

The pool area is very quiet & well kept, & but I get the feeling that most people hit the beach, & only use the pool as a backup for very windy days. Indeed, if the place was full, & everyone used the pool, it would be a bit crowded. The pool also has a sauna which operates from 15:00hr – 20:00hr. The beach is great but the sand / rock ratio changes with the time of year. We tended to head South to where the sun beds start near the beach cafe, & hire two beds & a parasol at €9.00 / day. The beach is about 50 - 50 textile / naturists here, with converts as the week progresses.

There is a really nice restaurant called Marabu behind the complex, very popular with the Germans & you would not know it was there unless someone tips you off. There is a small Spa shop nearby for basics, but you will need to shop in Moro Jable / Jandia if you intend to fully cook for yourself.

Reception, check in / checkout, internet & any other stuff such as beach towel exchange is done from the sister Marina Playa textile hotel across the road. This is not open 24/7 so check the opening hours. As for not ringing the reception bell as mentioned by a previous reviewer, I rang it once, but I think I got away with it!

Room Tip: If you are really keen on privacy, avoid the 2nd floor rooms at the end of the complex 49 / 50
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavanger
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed there February 2011 and go back again February 2012. Wish we could have been there more often, but it's a difficult journey from our home town. The German staff are the best, the apartments clean and very nice. A singel rose in a vase, a bottle of wine makes you feel rather welcome. Thank you, I'll look forward to February 2012.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in second floor with a view to the sea, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Not long back from a break at MM naturist apartments which we enjoyed. The apartment we had was spacious and spotlessly clean. It was relatively well appointed but a little tired and dated.
We took advantage of the extra equipment on offer which was free but required a deposit, refunded on departure. I wouldn't bother with the TV/Satelite again as the picture quality was poor and English language programmes were restricted to watered down news broadcasts. The hotel offer beach towels at 1 Euro per change which we took full advatage of.
There are approximately 50 apartments based around a lovely pool. I would suspect that the sunbeds in this area would be at a premium as there was no restriction on bed hogging. "Towels" were in abundance during the first week but more relaxed during the second week of our stay.
The beach is about 10 minutes away, down a path from the hotel. It is about 15 minutes back but there is a bar at the top of the climb! The beach is lovely and sunbathers happily mix.
Eating out was a bit of an issue as there seemed to be little to entice you into the two hotels. There is a fabulous restaurant just around the corner from MM on the road into the village, we didn't find it until our last night!
Careful when you ring the bell on the reception desk...if Fraulien Fawlty is busy she can be quite rude.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The apartments were beautifully clean and well appointed - everything 2 people could want. The pool complex and gardens were superb and the staff were very welcoming and attentive without being obtrusive. The whole naturist aspect was what we had gone for and we were not disappointed, apart from lack of naturists on the beach - apparently this resort in July and August is mainly filled with Spanish families and the clothing optional beach is full of people who opt to wear clothes. It made the few naturists who 'dared to bare' feel quite uncomfortable.
This is nothing to do with the hotel and the apartments but I feel that anyone wanting this sort of holiday should know to avoid feeling out of place.
The naturist complex was a haven and a small oasis of calm and very peaceful - the mix of English, German and Italian visitors made for a very relaxed friendly place to spend time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Monte Marina is a naturist apartment complex with about 50 self catering apartments clustered round a good sized salt water pool and spa. There is also a free sauna.
Across a small road is the parent Marina Playa Hotel, for textiles, with its own pool area. You can choose breakfast or half board options, and the restaurant in the hotel provides simple, but very good quality food, tailored for the mainly German clientelle. It has a mix of Spanish and German flavours, and I didn't have a bad meal there during my stay.
You have to cover up when you go outside the Monte Marina complex, or to the hotel, but the sandy beach is clothes optional for mile after mile, particularly to the north towards Play de Sotavento, (a 90 minute walk along the beach!) which is incredible. The sea is warm all year round, the windsurfing and sailing fantastic (because it is often windy.)
Esquinzo village is very quiet, with a good chemist, a small Spar supermarket, a souvenier shop, a couple of restaurants and a bar. If you want shopping, nightlife, tapas bars, local market, etc. you have to go to modern Jandia or more traditional Morro Jable to the south. You can walk down the beach for about 45 minutes, or get the half hourly bus service from right outside the hotel. (Very reliable and cheap.)
The hotel and naturist apartment complex are both comfortable, very clean, very well run and provide a good standard of accommodation. They are not 4/5 star hotel quality, but for a quiet relaxing beach holiday in a very friendly, comfortable family run hotel complex, I can strongly recommend either naturist apartments or the main textile hotel. The owner and staff will do their utmost to meet your needs.
If you choose to stay at the hotel, you will encounter nudity on the beach and it is not really for children. They will get bored. So will you, unless you bring a good book or two. (They actually have quite a selection at the hotel in English and German that other guests (including me) have left there.) I am going back again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Marina

Address: 8, 35626 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Esquinzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Esquinzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Marina 3*
Also Known As:
Monte Marina Hotel Marabu
Monte Marina Fuerteventura, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monte Marina to your Saves list