We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cast away, with home comforts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mkoani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel
PO Box 100, Mkoani po box 101, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mkoani B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cast away, with home comforts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

If you are the sporty type who enjoys snorkelling and would like to get away from it all during the 'winter chaos' - then this is place to be! We went in late December through to the new year.
The room (lodge) was spacious and clean. The food was fantastically delicious - all home cooked to order. The general manager/supervisor called Prince was extremely helpful and friendly and you could get almost anything you wanted by placing an order with him. Mr Ali the manager made a big effort to surprise us on New Year's eve - we had a barbecue of crab, squid, octopus and grilled tuna - lots of food, followed with local entertainment of dancing and singing. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
Whilst I can not fault the atmospheric views and the friendly staff at the Ocean Panorama, for me Pemba's down-side is that it lacks infrastructure and facilities in comparison to it's sister island Ugunja (Zanzibar)!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We had a disappointing stay here. The price of $50 is far too high considering the quality of the hotel. The 'trips' organised by Ali the manager are very expensive. You get the sense, he wants to make as much money from you as possible. Our rooms were very basic, and are not worth $50. They are $20 at best. In addition, they charge for food but again the prices are very high, especially considering the quality of the offering, was pretty basic. Mohammed the owner and his wife, were lovely but I didn't find Ali particularly friendly, welcoming or hospitable. In addition, following our first nights sleep I awoke after a few hrs with a burning sensation all over my skin. This lasted for well over 2 days or so and was incredibly painful. Speaking to a doctor on my return, it was suggested that this was most likely due to the substances used to wash the bed linen. Given this, I thought it was particularly unjust they offered no discount at all, which was remarkable given out of my 3 days there, 2 were spent in considerable pain.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mkoani hotels

london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I went to Pemba Island for 3 nights on my own. I was worried as a single female traveller going to this remote island but Mohamed the manager and Ali the owner made me feel very welcome, safe and looked after me well throughout my stay. They picked me up from the airport, catered according to what I had asked for in the morning and organised day trips which I would enjoy.

The hotel was lovely and clean with a great view. The rooms are simple but adequate for what you pay. The staff are helpful. The hotel is very quiet as is the island. However the hotel is next door to Jondeni guest house so you can pop across there to meet people .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolzano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

you can`t see anywhere such a wonderful sunset! the food is great and who doesn`t wish to stay alone a whole day on a small island with white beaches and do the best snorchelling in his life? we enjoyed it very much *asante*

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I do not think this review can do justice to the Ocean Panorama. Suffice it to say that I was so captivated by the allure of this establishment that I promised its management that I will return later in the year for a much longer stay. Its simplicity belies its charm which is enhanced by the panoramic view of the Indian Ocean. If you have a book to write or if you simply want to get away from it all this is where you should go. The hotel — no, 'hotel' is the wrong word — this 'home from home' is set in quiet, idyllic surroundings overlooking the sea.

The staff was pleasant and polite to a fault. The Manager, Mr Muhammed Salim, who everyone calls 'Teacher', and his wife Bi Khadija made us feel very much at home. They were very accommodating in providing all that we needed from the moment they collected us from Chake Chake airport up until our departure. At meal times, they made sure that the fare — always local — was extensive and elaborate.

An added bonus to the Ocean Panorama — a truly hidden gem — is that it is within walking distance of Mkoani Port, so if you arrive by boat you can just walk to your 'home-by-the-sea'.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I was in Mkoani on business and stayed 2 nights at Ocean Panorama. The view is lovely, the food is simple but terrific (try the crab, clams, and grilled tuna fish!), and the whole place is very quiet. During a free moment, enjoyed walking down through the mangroves and wading in the sea at low tide with local kids, finding starfish, crabs, etc. The rooms are simple, but clean. With the screen door open at night and ceiling fan on, the temps were fine for sleeping. It is a 20 minute walk into town and a 10 minute walk to the port. The hotel can also give you a lift for a small fee as there are few taxis in Mkoani.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

i love it there, peaceful quiet so relaxed fresh air, the food is beautiful, traditional and self preserve, well depending your relation with the chef's otherwise anything prefered can be coocked on your recipes, nowhere else you can get these services. freindly staffs, excellent socialization with the staffs, i felt like i was at my own world for the period i was staying there, they provide good adventures such as fishing at a glass clear water of indian ocean, evening walking, wow like walking around the garden of aden..
Thanks to Mr Mohamed Salum (owner, Manager) what a panorama work of nature you developed there,,,,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel

Address: PO Box 100, Mkoani po box 101, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Mkoani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mkoani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History:The island of Pemba known as 'Al Jazeera Al Khadra' (the green island, in Arabic) is an island forming part of the Zanzibar archipelago, lying off the east coast of Africa in the Indian Ocean. It is situated about 50 kilometres to the north of the island of Zanzibar. In the 1960s Zanzibar was united with the former colony of Tanganyika to form Tanzania. It lies 50 kilometres east of mainland Tanzania. Together with Mafia Island (south of Zanzibar), they form the Spice Islands (not to be confused with Maluku Islands of Indonesia or Pemba island of Mozambique). In 1988, the estimated population was 265,000, with an area of 980 km². Attractionocean panorama is situated at jodenni Mkoani and is becoming well-known for its dive sites, with vertiginous drop-offs, untouched coral and very abundant marine life. The central town Mkoani is located on a hill with a view to the west on the bay and the tiny Misali island where the tides determine the view of sunsets and sunrise. the island is an eclusive site for snorkeling or mesmorising the wildlife such as tropical birds or marine insects. Why stay at Ocean Panorama? have you ever heard the saying paradise on earth? well this quatation lives up to its name at Ocean Panorama, you will not be dissapointed. We offer the best in East African cuisines with a wild range of spices and tropical fruits. " We wish you were here,you wish, you would never want to leave" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel Pemba Island, Tanzania - Mkoani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel to your Saves list