We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, with a great view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mkoani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel
PO Box 100, Mkoani po box 101, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mkoani B&B and Inns
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, with a great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is very close to the main port, which is super convenient. The staff was very, very helpful (one of their "concierges" was in the way a lot, but probably with good intentions) and the rooms are beautiful and large. The island is great, and this pace is a wonderful place to stay while you're in Pemba. We had great seafood (we got to order different things each night!) that they cooked right there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piestany, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice, safe place with spacious rooms and a spectacular 180 * sea view. Big breakfast are included in a price and for an extra charge you can get the most delicious meal in the area. Helpful and curious staff can give you some useful tips. Rooms are equipped with traditional beds from Zanzibar, just unfortunately the mosquito nets need a lot of patching.

Room Tip: Room #1 has the best view form all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

arrived on pemba at lunch time to be met by "prince" and the taxi driver we had booked via the hotel. good interesting 45min drive to Mkoani collected some lunch on the way. The hotel is basic but we knew what to expect, after a tour of the hote grounds we unpacked and settled in, lunch took about 2 hours to prepare but was delicious, we ate on a large "balcony" overlooking the sea and surrounding jungle. We enjoyed our stay here, "prince" and his "boys" could not do enough for us they took us out on a walking tour of the mangroves they were very knowlegable about the area. We also took the tour to the north of the island again everybody came good chance to see some of the villages. The hotel is not near any beach but for a short stay it`s great and the villagers are really pleased to see you, evrything here takes a long time so don`t be in a rush.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simrishamn, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night only.
The rooms are decent with Zanzibari beds and mostquito-nets.
The hotel are situated a short walk from the port in Mkoani upon a hill, seemingly situated above a small village which brings ambiance to the place.
The best think with the place are the wonderful employees (and trainees).
We went for a short snorkeling tour and we borroed equipment from the hotel (10US/person), which might seem expensive since we had, additionally, to arrange a boat due to the high tide, which made the cost risen further. But it was worth it, totatlly. The sorkelling itself was not extremly good but the whole event with walks trhough small villages and plantations and tour with a mono-boat out the reef and corals in the sunset was very nice.
The hotel can be recomended as a place to stay meanwhile on your tour de pemba - Which by the way - are the most facinating place i have visited. If going to the island - have patiance regarding time and space.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Tanzania to see wild animals in their own habitat which was very amazing then we went to the Island of Pemba.On the 15th of August we arrived at the small port of Makoani after a ferry trip from Zanzibar Old town we were greeted by prince the manager of the hotel and gave us a ride to the hotel.After a cup of tea we were shown our rooms,Ican't find the exact words,very nice and tidy the balcony is overlooking the vast ocean,the room has got a glass sliding doors that you can watch sun setting or stars at night while on your bed there is a ceiling fan and air condition as well however we couldn't use both as the weather was a bit cool.We had a nice hot water bath in the morning very refreshing,the food was very nice and cooked according to your recipe.The trip to Misali organised by Hotel Manager is a thing that will live in my memory,glass clear water and abundance of the species!!
The staffs were very friendly and ready to help every time, we enjoyed a lot

Room Tip: The first room from south has a panoramic view of the port and sea activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Their staff member picked us up from the ferry port and continued to be friendly, hospitable, and very helpful to us the remainder of our stay. Our room had an amazing view of the ocean and presented incredible sunsets each night. Although fairly expensive, the meals here were very well made, delicious, and we were able to learn much about the local spices through the staff teaching us techniques and recipes while they prepared the meals.

The excursions were very expensive, but when you are staying on an island as remote as Pemba, you need be a bit more understanding that these tours are not a dime a dozen. If you want inexpensive excursions that are full of other tourists, then stay in Zanzibar. But if you want very private and peaceful excursions, then be willing to spend a bit more. We did the island tour that took us up to the north part of the island and to Vumawimbi Beach which was one of the most incredible places I have ever seen in my lifetime. The excursion was very expensive, but with a memory like that I would never take back that decision. We also did the excursion to Misali Island, but unfortunately it rained very hard once we got there so we were unable to snorkel or see much of the island. The hotel staff was very understanding of our situation and gave us back half of our $ from it. They were very nice to work with and had our enjoyment as their top priority.

Our room was very basic but nice and tidy. The bathroom was a bit difficult to work with at times as far as water pressure, heat, and our light not working. We also had a little green frog that lived in our toilet, and although it startled us as first, we actually grew quite fond of him and would feel bad each time we had to use the toilet lol.

Each day our breakfasts were prepared and nicely set up and the food was delicious. Fresh fruit would also be given to us each morning I will never forget how much I love Pemba's mangoes. The hotel staff really made us feel very welcome and they put much effort into us and making sure that we felt at home and enjoyed out stay.

It's no five star hotel, but if you want a real Pemba experience that is rural and cultured, then this hotel is an absolutely lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We arrived in Mkoani after a dissapointing stint at Verani beach resort, but had no ferry on the day so had to spend the night somewhere. We met Ali who was extremely friendly and welcomed us with a very much appreciated offer of a cup of tea.
He also arranged a trip to Misali island to do snorkelling which was one of the main reasons we went to Pemba, and was absolutely brilliant. The food was fresh and tasty, but ofcourse fresh food takes time to cook....we were given a dorm for the night , very clean with ensuite bathroom and toilet.
In short highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel

Also Known As:
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel Pemba Island, Tanzania - Mkoani
Address: PO Box 100, Mkoani po box 101, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Mkoani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mkoani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History:The island of Pemba known as 'Al Jazeera Al Khadra' (the green island, in Arabic) is an island forming part of the Zanzibar archipelago, lying off the east coast of Africa in the Indian Ocean. It is situated about 50 kilometres to the north of the island of Zanzibar. In the 1960s Zanzibar was united with the former colony of Tanganyika to form Tanzania. It lies 50 kilometres east of mainland Tanzania. Together with Mafia Island (south of Zanzibar), they form the Spice Islands (not to be confused with Maluku Islands of Indonesia or Pemba island of Mozambique). In 1988, the estimated population was 265,000, with an area of 980 km². Attractionocean panorama is situated at jodenni Mkoani and is becoming well-known for its dive sites, with vertiginous drop-offs, untouched coral and very abundant marine life. The central town Mkoani is located on a hill with a view to the west on the bay and the tiny Misali island where the tides determine the view of sunsets and sunrise. the island is an eclusive site for snorkeling or mesmorising the wildlife such as tropical birds or marine insects. Why stay at Ocean Panorama? have you ever heard the saying paradise on earth? well this quatation lives up to its name at Ocean Panorama, you will not be dissapointed. We offer the best in East African cuisines with a wild range of spices and tropical fruits. " We wish you were here,you wish, you would never want to leave" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel to your Saves list