We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Cheetah experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamanjab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge at Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park
Kamanjab, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“BEST Cheetah experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Tollie and Roeleen are cattle farmers turned cheetah lovers. Not only does their Lodge offer great accommodation, food and even a pool of sorts, but you will have the most intimate encounter with cheetahs you can imagine. The individual thatch huts are private and roomy. The meals are family style done by Roeleen herself. Tollie will tell you about the cheetahs they raised from cubs. Staying here is an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Huts are great and far apart so you feel totally alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geetbets
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

At first sight, the campsite of Otjitotongwe Cheeta Farm is a total disenchantment. We are the only guests and there is no trace of lodges or even ablution blocks. The first what we find is a total scruffy bush bar which is clearly already closed for some years. Adjoining it is a shower and a toilet full of insects. In fact, we have a strong urge to move on and find something else. Fortunately, after some searching, we find a sanitary block that is clean and functioning, and just later even a second one. Not far away are also the lodges and the central building. Everything is empty however, but they give a well-cared-for impression. During the tourist season it will give another impression but now it feels somewhat forlorn.
The campsite itself gives a rather messy and unattended impression with that total abandoned bush bar and car wrecks left behind here and there.
Both ablution blocks however are ok.
The sites have a water tap but no electricity.
The cheetah visit was nice. The tame animals living near the owner’s house can be caressed and observe how the wild ones are fed is impressive. It is a pity that they live in a small and fenced area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

whenever I did come to Nambia ( 5 times by now), I have been to Otjitotongwe- I never made any bad experience there- only with loud and noisy guests that don't respect other people!
By the time Tolli and Roelleen become like parents to me and I always feel like coming home.
Although a farm takes a hell of work to keep up, they still have the time to keep care for the cheetahs- I want everybody to remember, that cheetahs are killed by most of the farmers and that even big organisations gave up their rehabilitation programs by now!!!!
The rooms are " practicle" and always clean, which I didn't find always in some BIG Lodges.
The food is wonderful " farm food" freshly cooked everyday.
If somebody complains: people are not friendly at this place.....a smile gets a smile! Marietta

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Although enclosing cheetahs is a bit controversial our impression was that this family were genuine in their love and concern for the animal. They have 3 pets - ones that would not have survived in the wild that live with them and which you can play with incl. a cub. This is a real highlight for kids. Then there is the adventure which involves going in the back of a pick up with chunks of donkey meat that gets fed to a dozen 'wild' cheetahs in a huge enclosure, seeing them emerge from the grass with an orange glint in their eyes and then leaping in the air for the meat is quite a sight! The rooms are basic but good and a wonderfully creative restaurant has been 'carved' out of local wood where excellent food is served. highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Albeit late, here's my review of Otjitotongwe from October 2007. Arriving at the Cheetah farm the feeling is remote and relaxed. We parked our vehicle and rang a bell. The main house is in a small compound and we could see the tame Cheetah laying in the shade along with a couple of very butch looking dogs.
We were greeted buy a chap that took us to the bar and told us all the info re meal times, bar opening hours amenities etc and what time the Cheetah tour would start.
Then we were shown to our bungalow, which was clean and tidy, If its luxury you are after, this is NOT the place for you! The rooms have excellent hot water showers, but there is no electricity. The furnishings are basic and dated but perfectly adequate and clean and safe. These rooms may have been decorated by this time of course.
The farm is run by the Nel family. Tollie and Roeleen, husband and wife. Who were great hosts.They are perfectly approachable and happy to give info on the surrounding area and activities available. The meals are brought down from the main house, and I believe that Roeleen prepares the food, with the help of a maid maybe? he he he. Anyway the food is great and there's plenty of it, served in a buffet self service style.
Before the evening meal, the Cheetah tour starts, everyone climbs onto the back of a very battered looking open backed truck/van and off you go back to the main farm house. We are told certain do's and dont's when inside the compound and interacting with the Cheetah, i can't remember for sure, but think you might have to sign a waiver form of some kind. We were in a group of about ten or twelve and taken in through the gates. One the three Cheetahs started to meander over and everyone is able to pet them and take pics, Then we were lead to the back of the house to a neatly manicured and very green lawn, where the Cheetah's and group of people all relaxed and the experience was super extra fabulous. They purr like Jet engines and behave just like over grown domestic cats, but dont be fooled!! These are big cats equipped with teeth and claws, and when luncheon arrived, in the shape of a large chunk of Kudu (Antelope)meat , the cats instantly showed there true strength and ability as they raced across the lawn towards the food. If you dont believe the wilder side of these puss cats, check out the scars on the dogs back! We were able to get loads of photos and had a great, unhurried time stroking the cats and enjoying the experience. If this aint enough, then can I just say, that the Cheetah were'nt the only good viewing, Roeleen and Tollies two tanned, muscular buff, Adonis like sons, were laying in the dusty ground, clad in miniscule shorts and covered in engine oil "fixing" something mechanical. This, of course, was probably just luck on our part on that day lol.
Then its all aboard the truck again for a quick libation at the bush bar, then off to feed the rescued, but NOT tame Cheetah, I think they had near to twenty of these beauties. As we drove through this massive compound the Cheetah's grouped together and started to follow us rather menacingly. Soon enough the vehicle comes to a stop and you feel very close to these wild creatures and quite intimidated
The driver and passenger, that we now notice are the two sons, get out of the cab and remove a large metal dustbin from the back of the truck. They then start to hurl massive banquet sized chunks of freshly slaughtered Donkey towards the cats, who are very close now, maybe just 10 feet away, fur teeth and claws are flying all over and very shortly all the meat has been thrown and all the cats are feeding on their claim. It certainly gave my camera a work out. May I just say that the sons are of course armed............With a STICK!!!! LOL
All back to the restaurant where dinner is served and for us at least, and early night.
The next morning at breakfast we asked Roeleen about a Himba village that we could visit and photograph etc, she then phoned Andrea and Volker, who have a farm with a Himba village on it that tourists can visit. We set off and it took us about an hour to drive to the farm, it wasnt so far in miles but took a while because not all the roads are tarmac, like most of Namibia. Andrea greeted us and was a very friendly indeed! She made us coffee and chatted very frankly to us about the Himba people and various other subjects and her views and opinions about how tourists have the wrong approach to visiting these people, ie bringing gifts toys paper pens etc, She says that, to support these people, we should buy the stuff they sell and not give stuff that they have no use for in there traditional lives. And never to give money to take photos. So, thoroughly enlightened, we take the two minute walk up to the village. It looks pretty convincing and the women and children look resplendent in traditional clothes with their skin glowing red, from the ochre they rub into it, and the amazing hair designs of long sausages of hair encased in the red paste used to colour the skin. We took loads of photos, and these are my fave pics i took in Namibia, such photogenic people. It is explained that you can take as many photos as you like and not to ask individuals for permission, its accepted and expected.
i would say that the Cheetah farm is a real highlight of our holiday, and a fraction of the cost of Africat, i also loved the Himba village and would recommend it if time allows.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge at Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park

Address: Kamanjab, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Kamanjab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty lodging in Kamanjab
Also Known As:
Lodge At Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park Hotel Kamanjab
Lodge At Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park Namibia/Kamanjab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lodge at Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park to your Saves list