We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aylos Bay Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akosombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aylos Bay Guest House
Save
You added Aylos Bay Guest House to your Saves list
Box 37 Akosombo, Akosombo, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Akosombo B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Fantastic value for a weekend away. Clean, well-looked after place and groubut nds with ability to swim in river. Be aware that not every room has a river view - only 3 do, the rest are in a self-contained garden block, nice enough just not looking over the river. The food was decent with breakfast included in the price - nice - and was a full breakfast. We would recommend the hotel. The onyl down side was arriving early and waiting for slow service until we could have access to our room..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
merosg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Aylos Bay has some very nice rooms overlooking the Volta River. It is a very peaceful place, and they rent out canoes to paddle on the river(can see lots of birds) and they also have a rope swing to swim into the clear river(very refreshing!) The rooms were clean, the waterfront ones provided a nice view and porch overlooking the river, and was rather spacious. It was a very nice room by Ghana standards, and the restaurant serves good food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I almost hate creating the review because I know several people who visit this resort regularly and would probably rather keep it to themselves, but...

I was in Ghana for several months and this was by far the best place I stayed. It should definitely be paired with a beach resort stay (a must do in Ghana) but was a great place to unwind and enjoy the scenery, food, and river activities.

A visit to the Krobo bead market (general market really) makes for a good outing, and there's the dam nearby, and Krobo mtn, but I was generally happy to just sit by the river and snack on appetizers and drink Club beer all day, with an occasional dip in the water (yes, it's VERY swimmable).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin Cou
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

I was enchanted by the environment there. It's quite romantic. Green everywhere. The garden restaurant has discrete little tables everywhere, that offer the chance for privacy or connection with other guests - it's your choice.
The rooms were nice and clean - not completely sterile, but clean, just right. We had a room by the water, and what a treat that was. A great view that we had to share with the ever present lizards of Ghana.
The lack of air conditioning was not an issue, since the climate there is quite temperate and there is plenty of ventilation available. In order for air conditioning to work there, the electricity would have to be reliable - it's not, not even that close to the dam.
The food was good. The owner herself, who is also a caterer, prepares and supervises the food daily - 15 hours a day.
The staff was friendly and well trained. They soo respected privacy.
I would return there in a heart beat and highly recommend this romantic little spot.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The accomodation is (for Ghana) almost cleanish, the food is ok, but the site is wonderfull. Situated in a waterfronted garden and they say you can swim there safely.
The staff is very friendly, the owners are also very nice and helpfull.
If you are staying there; take a trotro to Kpong and shop till you drop at `the queen mother`s ` they sell beads, earrings, necklaces, armbands, beautifull!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomé
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Living in Togo we have visited Aylos Bay Guest House several times to enjoy the main attraction: the chalets with terraces directly on the Volta River - and THAT location of hotel rooms IS excellent.

Problem with the Guest House is that it is slowly deteriorating as to equipment and service. This time around: A/C had still not been fixed. But not only that: This time not even a fan present. Bulbs had gone. Wooden boardwalk in an advanced state of decay - now outright dangerous, just to give a few examples.

The menu is long but the guest house seems to have less and less items available and the waitresses are constantly reminding you how much items cost - those they do have - i.e. there is an atmosphere of "money, money, here and now". Very unsympathetic.

The worst, however, this time: Our son forgot a pair of trousers in the room, that he only realized when home in Togo again. By calling the guest house the person answering simply hung up when we asked them to look for the trousers. Upon a second try an hour later they claimed never having seen the trousers.

So make sure you do not forget anything at the guest house.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akosombo hotels

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

Traveling in Ghana can be exhausting. Every several days you need to find a refuge where you can recharge. In Ghana, most of these places are backpacker havens along the coast. But on Lake Volta in Akosombo, Aylos Bay is the most serene little patch of hospitality in the nation.

35 Cedis gets you one of the three lakefront chalets -- clean, private, with an enormous bed...and your own private dock that extends onto Lake Volta where you can sit outside for hours in a deck chair and read or photograph passing canoes.

It's worth mentioning that the food at Aylos is some of the best we found in the country. Spicy joloff rice and savory fried chicken are among the highlights. Take your meal at one of the inviting tables in the garden or sit under the pavilion with the owners, drink Star, tease the resident cat, and watch strange Ghanaian sitcoms.

  • Liked — The location along Lake Volta
  • Disliked — Hot water would've been nice...but was a small price to pay.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aylos Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylos Bay Guest House

Address: Box 37 Akosombo, Akosombo, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Eastern Region > Akosombo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Akosombo
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Aylos Bay Guest House Hotel Akosombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aylos Bay Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.