We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Logis de France, another great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie Schwendi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostellerie Schwendi to your Saves list
Hostellerie Schwendi
2 Place Schwendi, 68240 Kientzheim, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kientzheim
Kildare
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another Logis de France, another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked into the restaurant as part of a group of 8. The Patron really sets a great tone and the place is a marvel. Fantastic menus, wonderful service, magnificent cooking, would have been interesting to stay in the hotel too

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    50
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
100
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

EASY LOCATION
If you are looking for a hotel near a big town but not directly in it, the location of Schwendi is good. It's less than 10min drive from Colmar and located in the heart of the Alsace wine route. It's location in Kientzheim is central and in the very picturesque old town.

WARM WELCOME
Our one night spent at Hostellerie Schwendi was very pleasant. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and allowed to view the different sized rooms they had available. The rooms were very neat, comfortable and charmingly decorated and we opted for a larger room. The check-in was quick despite the hotel being relatively busy.

CHARMING ROOM
Our room with its fairly generous balcony overlooking the small gated parking area and the square in front of the hotel, was decorated with a distinctive Alsace flavour. The room was clean, everything was in good order and the space provided was good value for money.
We had the use of a flat screen tv(channels in French & German mainly), a mini fridge (no mini bar), safe and aircon, all of which is standard. Wifi was available at no extra charge, the signal was medium strength/acceptable in our room. I guess a hostellerie is a cross between a hotel and a B&B because there is no room service but rooms are serviced daily like in any hotel.
Our room was somewhat overlooked by one neighbour as the lay-out of that section of the hotel is sort of around a courtyard. Despite the hotel being busy (a motoring race in a neighbouring village brought lots of people and traffic), the area remained quiet without much noise.


SUPERIOR CUISINE
The best part of this hotel was the unexpectledly superb menu. It was marked as a 3 star hotel / hostellerie but while eating I thought I was at a 4-5 star establishment. We had succulent scallops, terrific rabbit terrine for starters. The mains were a marvellous delight; great guinea fowl and stuffed quail representing the quintessence of poulty cuisine. We took a 'pause digestive' and strolled around the village before taking dessert. We thought that we had had the best part of our menu, but changed our minds when came our desserts. We both had a parfait with pear and honey and we were in dessert heaven. We occasionally eat 5-star and at the Schwendi table I could not tell the difference between 3 and 5 star.

SERVICE
From the moment we rolled up in the parking, we were greeted with wide smiles and friendly attitudes. Every single member of staff we came across were most welcoming, helpful and accommodating. Five start service!

CHECK OUT
Breakfast
Even though check-out is at 11h00, we checked out a little before noon with no hassle. Check-out was efficient and done with the usual friendliness. Upon leaving we decided to buy a variety of Alsace wines from the hotel as they have their own 'cave'/cellar. They packed it up securely to fit in our motorbike's saddle bags.

CONCLUSION
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a "Charme" room and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a very good size and the bathroom was very good. We chose demi-pension which is excellent value and the quality and variety of food is first class. The only downside is that the restaurant is closed on Wednesdays so we joined the exodus to the other restaurant in the village which is also of high quality. Car parking is plentiful but is typically French in that spaces are tight and you need to be prepared to undertake plenty of manoeuvres if you are one of the early departures. This was our first stay in Alsace but we are sure that we will be back and back at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are pleasant but the main reason to stay here is the restaurant (which of course can be enjoyed even if you don´t stay there).

Food and service was excellent. Do not miss their Foi Gras dishes, their home made terrine and their fried fresh. Both generous and excellent. The rest, fish and quail for main dish followed by two different but equally fine desserts were also very nice.
The wine list is worth mentioning. The restaurant has its own vineyard so for white wine the only choice is very good alsatian wines from their own vineyard. This might sound limited but why should you "cross the river to fetch water". The house wines are "open" so you can get 25 or 50 cl. if you dont want a full bottle. This gives you the possibility to try more than one wine.
The only alsatian red is Pinot Noir which honestly is not of the same quality as the whites. Avoid it and drink instead a good Riesling with the meat. If you insist upon red wine they have a small selection of "real reds" from other french regions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked this so we could go wine-hunting in the Riquewihr area while returning from Tuscany, and having driven 500 miles - and done the wine buying - we were shattered. We had the basic room, not bigbut spotless and well presented. Big double bed with (oh joy!) two single quilts, as we have at home, pure cotton duvet covers and a pair of big soft pillows each. So no fighting over the duvet. We both slept really well, and we hadn't done so in Tuscany. Lovely wooden furniture and fabulous curtains - windows overlooked the square. The chandelier and bedsight lights were delightful and matching. The ensuite, with hair dryer was good. It didn't have the high quality fittings of the bedroom but was clean, and I like those short baths which are enclosed by a glass panel and door so that you have the choice of shower/bath/both.
We were warmly welcomed at the little reception which is in the restaurant.
Talking of the restaurant, we ate there that night. It was very busy and that gave a great atmosphere. We had an excellent traditional Alsace meal. The owner, whose son is the chef, was cheerful and obliging, and understanding when i asked for my spaetzle to be served without butter (for health reasons, I wasn't being fussy!). The restaurant serves their own wine so we chose the 2011 Riesling and enjoyed it enough to buy some to take home (at normal prices). Our bill for the meal/room came to 158 Euros and represented very good value. The room was 82 E of that figure which at that exchange rate came to just over £67, putting it in Premier Inn territory back in the UK, but a much more rewarding experience.
The location, in the little town/village of Kienzheim - think Riquewihr but smaller and without the tourists and the commercialisation - is quiet and convenient. The place itself, with all the floral displays and old houses, is enchanting.
Do go to Riquewihr, by the way, it is worth it as it is beautiful, just full of tourists. We didn't have our bokes with us, but there is good cycling in the area, from gentle rides between villages to Tour de France stuff...Alsace wine is superb - we stocked up (again) on wonderful Chateau de Riquewihr les Murailles which is so fabulously minerally it's like licking granite, and on the very Riesling produced by Monsieur Hueber on the road into Riquewihr.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wraxall, UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I agree, this is a good, steady hotel. Friendly people, clean, etc., but not brilliant, just good.
When you arrive, you find that Reception is in the restaurant. Our room was above the front door, and that was fine. It was large, but the bathroom was miniscule, though clean.
Dinner is fine, but not amazing - we ate nicely one night across the road.
There are good vineyard walks from this tidy, uncommercialised village, and plenty to see in other villages on the wine route. Personally, we'd skip Colmar next time and concentrate on pretty villages.
Yes, the wartime history is huge. We visited a Maginot line bunker and learnt about shocking happenings 1944-45.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

First of all, let me say that I spent hours looking online for a hotel in one of the small Alsatian villages along the Route Vin. After much deliberation, I settled on the Schwendi in Kientzheim, mainly because of the trip advisor reviews and also the feedback from the hotel when I made online enquiries. Trip advisor reviews were pretty accurate; also the timely and considerate replies to my online questions were influential in my decision making. The hotel is not super special, but cleanliness is next to godliness in my book, and you could just about eat off the floors in this establishment. We booked 2 rooms; one for my husband and me, and the other for our 24 yr old daughter. Both rooms were very comfortable with well functioning bathrooms. There are no frills, the very basics. I needed a real hairdryer, not the hanging wall type that whispers out a little heat. Not available. If you depend on a decent hairdryer for satisfactory grooming, bring your own. No phones or clocks in the room, but a good, flat screened TV with no English speaking channels. Beds and linens very comfortable and changed daily. The hotel has great curb appeal because of the quiet and charming village where it's situated. It was lovely to sit outside at the small cafe tables and have a glass of the Schwendi's own house wine. The vineyards run right up to the back of the village so imagine the quality of the wine. The history of this tiny village is fascinating. From the Middle Ages right through to WWII (our US infantry helped the French resistance take this part of Alsace back from the Germans - think Audie Murphy), the town has incorporated it's long heritage in subtle memorials on old walls, gates, and inside the village chapel. The Alsatians are an enduring, hardy people. They don't wear their histories on their sleeves; rather they seem to have the attitude of "just get going and move on with the task at hand." We had a marvelous dinner at the Schwendi the night of our arrival. The chef is the husband of the woman who handily manages the hotel. This is traditional Alsatian cooking at it's best accompanied with that wonderful local wine. The restaurant ambience is utterly charming, with the exposed old stone walls and timber supports. Very well done. The location in terms of exploring the Alsace region and visiting Strasbourg is perfect. Kaysersberg is the next town over and within a 10 minute walk through the vineyards. That town is just as picturesque with a couple of great restaurants as well. The Schwendi is easy on your pocketbook. Extremely good value for the overall product. I have already recommended this establishment to friends and family.

Room Tip: A room in the recently built addition would be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie Schwendi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Schwendi

Address: 2 Place Schwendi, 68240 Kientzheim, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Kientzheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kientzheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schillé-Gisie family will call you hearty Welcome in their Hotel Restaurant. In a traditional and quiet, wine producing medieval Village in the Heart of Alsace, the Hostellerie Schwendi and his typical style will charming you. This all renovated house is from the XVIIIe siecle, but keeps stones and beams that makes the Charm of this Country. A creative cuisine with good taste, served in our very pleasant restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostellerie Schwendi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Schwendi Kientzheim, France - Alsace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie Schwendi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.