We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular and a true beauty. Highly recommend that you check out this gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau des Briottieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau des Briottieres to your Saves list
Chateau des Briottieres
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route Marigne, 49330 Champigne, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Champigne B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Spectacular and a true beauty. Highly recommend that you check out this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As you drive onto the grounds of the Chateau des Briottieres, you will be blown away by the view of the grounds and the chateau. It's truly beautiful and is in such great condition - retaining it's classical beauty and charm.

The chateau belongs to Francois and his wife, passed down through the family over a number of generations. It is their family home - opened to guests to enjoy as well. As a result, this shows in their attitude towards their guests - a great pride of the place and a family welcome.

We were personally greeted by Francois at our arrival who then showed us to our room. Francois is really humble and gentle and for those not speaking French - his English is very good!

The interior is grand and the furnishings are all very quaint and representative of the history of the place. Our room was in the main building on the second floor. Other guests were in the greenhouse or other small buildings. Our room was large and spacious and the interior and furniture were fitting of the countryside.

Francois hosted us for dinner which was a delight. He is a great host and his mandate is to interact with his guests and get to know you as he has welcomed you into his home. He does not pretend to be a fine dining restaurant but a family that provides home cooked meals - which were fresh, delicious and homely. The chateau is a real supporter of the local produce - which you'll see in the food and wine. It was a bit on the pricey side so take the opportunity to explore the area as well as dining in-house.

We were very lucky with the weather having come after many months of rain.

We felt very special during our stay - thank you Francois!

Notes -
Beds were comfortable and large
Turnover service is quick and thorough
No picnics - this means you are not able to bring food into the estate from outside. Breakfast and dinners are served by Francois and the family should you wish to eat there.
The grounds are vast and there are plenty of activities - tennis, table tennis, pool, soccer, trampoline, lounge rooms
If you're expecting a modern style hotel - this is not for you but you will be so surprised and pleased with what this place has on offer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    38
    14
    16
    13
See reviews for
41
146
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the south of France and stayed here for one night on our way to Bordeaux. As soon as we turned into the drive we were stunned by the traditional beauty of the chateau. It truly took my breath away. The owner, Francois, was there to meet us and was absolutely charming and could not have been more friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the lodge in the woods, which was magical. We loved it, as did our two small boys. We did not eat our evening meal at the chateau as it would have been too late for the boys, but the breakfast was great and the dining room was stunning. The grounds and pool were immaculately maintained and we only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be returning. How anyone can give this beautiful chateau hotel a bad review is beyond me. They obviously don't have a clue about traditional French style. It really is a little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My daughter wanted 'the cultural experience' of staying in a French chateau and to celebrate my 60th birthday. My daughter had bought me an expensive dress to wear in Paris for the occasion.
The adjoining rooms we were given included a double bed and twin bunks in the other ((hardly authentic)! The floor were creaky and cold and the room newly and hurriedly painted. We were not given a key to the room and could not lock it. The staff, guests or owner could walk in any time! In fact the owner did walk into the room without knocking or excusing his entry. Fortunately we were dressed!
There was no wifi in the room as advertised, do for the whole of our stay we were unable to use the Internet.
We were unaware that we had to eat at the chateau or dine elsewhere. We did dine the first night at €50 per person for 'a three course meal' which was barely worthy of being called a meal - then we bought a bottle of the cheapest wine at €28 which sold for €5 we later purchased!
The next day we decided not to dine in and bought takeaway pizza and wine to eat in the room. However the owner stopped us and said we were not permitted to bring food into the chateau and were required to eat the meals provided or dine out! This 'condition' was not something were we're aware of on booking ! The owner told us we could not eat this food on the premises. My daughter had to wake her baby and we ended up eating in the nearest village in a car park!
This experience soured our cultural experience and certainly made me think of the French Revolution and why it may have been necessary for the French people to rid themselves of the aristocracy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briottieres, Propriétaire at Chateau des Briottieres, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Google Translation
Madame,

Nous savions que nous allions avoir un article de votre part, tellement votre attitude et votre comportement ont été disproportionnées et désagréables à notre égard.
Le ton de votre lettre reflète votre état d'esprit, l'agressivité et le manque de savoir vivre dont vous avez fait preuve.


La chambre choisie par vous est sur Internet, il n y a aucun vice caché. La petite chambre contigue propose des lits superposés en bois, comme décrit sur le site. Vous disposez d'une salle de bains + une salle de douche + un WC séparé et de deux chambres.

Il est vrai que notre propriété date du XVIII et n'a pas été construite hier ... Mais nos chambres ont été entièrement renovées il y a trois ans, et repeintes...par des professionels..
Pour en venir au coeur du problème qui vous a choqué :
En France, dans tous les hotels, la nourriture ou les boissons venant de l'extérieur sont interdites. Et cela est marqué partout ...

Pour des raisons bien naturelles,: les chambres sont fragiles , tissus, moquettes etc.. et d'autre part il vous est proposé une restauration sur place.

Voici les faits /

Mon mari , quand il a vu votre fille rentrer dans le chateau avec une pile de pizzas, s'est en effet avancé vers elle, pour lui dire que nous n'acceptions pas sur la propriété et encore moins dans les chambres de diner venant de l'extérieur.
Cela trés courtoisement, et trés gentiment. Quant il s'est rendu compte que vous le preniez mal, il vous apporté un bouquet de fleurs...

Sur les clés dans les chambres : Nos chambres ont toutes des clés + un verrou intérieur.

Sur le prix des diners : nous vous offrons un apéritif, une entrée, un plat de résistance trés copieux, un dessert, une tisane ou un café...Et cela dans un décor qui n'est pas celui d' un self service... 50 bougies sont allumées tous les soirs dans le chateau au sein d'un parc immense, et tout cela pour un public trés confidentiel, puisque nous avons une moyenne de 15 à 2à hotes tous les soirs... Oui cela vaut 50 euros !

Le vin : Comme tous les restaurants du monde nous appliquons une multiplication normale par rapport au prix d'achat qui n'est pas celui que vous indiquez.

Nous sommes comme toujours navrés quand nous avons des commentaires comme les votres...
et sommes extrémement blessés qand ils relatent en plus une réalité totalement déformée.


Nous sommes d'autant plus désolés, que nous apprécions énormément la clientèle Australienne
qui est chaleureuse, amicale, détentue, amatrice de belles choses et de bonne compagnie.

Bien amicalement,
François et Hedwige de Valbray

--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was to be one of the highlights of our trip. My mother had recently turned 60 so her belated birthday dinner was to be a the Chateau. I stayed with my son, mother and daughter in 'Granny's Room'. At first all seemed well, we were greeted by Francois de Valbray minutes after we rang the bell- he was mowing. He showed us the two salons we had access to and drinks if we wished (which you write in a book and pay at checkout). He took us to 'Granny's' room. It is as it says. If your looking for luxury this is not luxury. Two single beds joined to make one. A joining room with bunk beds. The floor was so badly sloping I though it would cave in. It was very dusty and we all got hayfever- however it was quaint I guess.

Other reviewers commented Francois made them feel apart of the family- this seems odd and wasn't the case for us. We could rarely get in contact with Francios or his wife- let alone anyone. He was nice in a busy, forced way. He did pay a lot of attention and swooned around the other group staying- in which I found out why later.

Dinner was lovely and was magical. The problem we had was the price of €50 per person it was excessive for what it was, perhaps if it was €35 we would have gone again the next night. We had wine with dinner €28- we found this in a bottle shop in Agers for €5. This is where the disappointment and shock horror started and for any 'commoners' take note if you wish to stay:
You CANNOT bring or eat any other food onto the estate or your room. If you do not eat breakfast, lunch ( which they don't offer) and dinner at the Chateau you must eat somewhere else. This is referred to by Francios as 'pic-nic' and is mentioned on website although I didn't see it nor would it have really been understood as NO food whatsoever. I thought this was ridiculous.

The second night we found a pizza place ( the only place) in champaign and brought it back. My son was with the baby in the room as it was 8 pm and asleep. When Francios saw us he ran over wildly waving his arms and shouting as he got closer informed we could not bring the food onto the property or room, 'no pic- nic this is not a caravan park were you eat what you want wherever'. I asked him, ' should I wake my baby so we can eat this? And he replied, 'sorry but yes'. I was so mad and upset. I had to go upstairs wake my baby up and drive somewhere to eat on the side of the road. I was humiliated!

When we came back I really just wanted to leave- 'nice' Francios became nasty- I'm not sure if he was referring to us being the type who only stay at caravan parks but later I got the message that we were 'different' to his 'normal'guests?? Anyway there is no locks on the doors or maybe it is only granny's room? He just stormed in with some roses and a note saying he hopes I understand his position. I would have if I had known prior to booking because I wouldn't have booked. I would have booked at a cheaper chateau that offered more. There are many many more to choose from.

The next day at breakfast he came in to say goodbye as he was going to town. I raised the issue with him again about informing guests at booking or in the terms and conditions that you cannot eat other food on the property. He said he had never had problems with the usual type of guests that stayed who knew not to bring food in, he also said this was the same with all chateaus- I find hard to believe. He said that the chateau was a luxury house not place for picnics.

Whether it was a communication barrier I felt humiliated like we were not his 'usual' guest and we were 'trailer- park trash'. However my € 800 was good enough. I see atm the deals he has on the website are much cheaper and include breakfast and dinner etc in a nice room.

We never knew about horse riding even when I mentioned the horses. I did see the two other staff who were lovely and seemed warm and genuine, which eased the sting of my experience.

In conclusion this place is lovely, but there are others that have better deals and closer to the wineries, try Saumur. There book you can find with all the Chateaus in the area I will post a pic. I feel disenchanted with the experience, I doubt Francois would treat his family like that. I felt like a nuisance guest on their property. I felt as if I was looked down upon and where I come from rich or poor I would never make a guest feel so humiliated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Spain and we were very pleasantly surprised. The Chateau has a slightly run-down appearance from the outside, but the inside is wonderfully furnished. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are new, up to date (great shower), comfortable beds. The swimming pool was large and clean and the tennis court one of the best I've seen in a hotel. The family run the place as if you are a guest in their house rather than a customer in a hotel, so the feeling is very relaxed and they'll come and chat with you. The meal was a bit of a let down, yes it is french home cooking but it could have been more interesting considering the price €50 per person, but the breakfast really was basic and disappointing considering the price. Overall we enjoyed our night here, but a little more attention to the details would have made it really special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently stayed there for a couple days at Easter with my husband and parents. The property is enchanting, with grass, forest, and ponds. The rooms leave you feeling like a princess, large, beautifully decorated, with a huge bathtub. The salons, decorated in deep red, with antiques and a huge fireplace make you feel completely relaxed and at home. The food is amazing, with three courses. The host, makes you feel welcome and comfortable, sharing history with you, as you wish. All the little touches, add to the experience, especially the tons of candles in the dining room and lining the hallway.

If you have a chance to stay here, do it! I have stayed at several chateaus in France, and this is among the best!!!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riobamba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was such a special experience!!! The place is like something out of a novel (movie actually, it was the setting for “Impromptu” with Hugh Grant) when we arrived there was no one and we called and were told where the key was hidden… we were asked to walk in and make ourselves at home until the manager returned… it felt so cozy. Actually I remember the manager telling us to think of it less like a hotel and more like we were staying with some friends… it really felt like that! One thing we didn’t get to do but seemed like so much fun was riding a balloon (Montgolfier). Nearby things to do are visit Cointreau and the distillery and a castle and haras at Agners (la Loire is castle region so you can do a lot of castle visiting if you like)

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality... ask to see all available rooms since they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau des Briottieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Briottieres

Address: Route Marigne, 49330 Champigne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Champigne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Champigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Briottieres 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous,Peaceful,Romantic,Historical HideawayThis is not a hotel, it's the owner'sstunninghistorical home that has been in his family for more than 7 generations and you certainly get the feeling are you are staying in someone'shome.If you don't like unnecessary'overattention'your stay will be chilled out.The cushions, the antiques, the bathrooms , the towels, the bathroiom goodies, the curtains , the little touches are all tasteful and classy.It is so peaceful.The grounds are gracious with the prettiest swiiming pool in an old , walled garden.The tennis court is of a very high standard.It is an absolute gem of a place and youwill be stunned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau des Briottieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Briottieres Hotel Champigne
Chateau Des Briottieres France/Champigne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau des Briottieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.