We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is OK but NEVER stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonnabel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bonnabel to your Saves list
Hotel Bonnabel
Hotel Bonnabel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bonnabel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Col du Lautaret, O5220 Le Monetier-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel is OK but NEVER stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here with a party of 16 for New Year 2012/13. This is a large hotel with lots of space for a large party. The rooms were clean and very average for a 4 star hotel. The food was OK. The Irish daughter-in-law is very friendly and helpful. My holiday was ruined but the fact that we stupidly accepted the free shuttle down to the ski station. The owner drove like a maniac, overtaking numerous vehicles on blind bends. We asked him to slow down but he was obviously angry at the request and sped up and drove even more recklessly. We were all seriously in fear of our lives. He risked the lives of my 2 young daughters, my 2 friends, their 13 year old son and myself not to mention the numerous cars on the road. This man is a maniac and should not be allowed to operate a vehicle. I would give this hotel zero stars if I could as you can not put a value on a persons' life!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this hotel on a trip down the route des Alpes. We had a large room, with a big bathroom, with a really nice view. The hotel was quiet and a good base for hiking in the area. And the Irish daughter-in-law of the owner was really helpful and a definite asset. That was the good part.
The bad part: the furniture and decoration in the rooms (as well as in the other parts of the hotel) was dated and cheap. The swimming pool and spa area are also dated and smell heavily of chlorine. The restaurant is mediocre, verging on bad. And the owner of the hotel was grumpy and not very friendly.
Overall, I would say if you don't mind paying 4-star prices for a 3-star hotel, and you like being in an isolated beautiful spot, it is a good place to stay. Otherwise, drive on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010 via mobile

Neige.. Hot chocolat.. Nice staff.. Swimming beside metres of white snow and blue sky.. Amazing !!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010 via mobile

This hotel had everything friendly welcoming staff, beautiful food, and a great atmosphere. Our room was fantastic over looking the mountains in the summer and the fabulous views of the snow in the winter that we don't get here in Ireland. We have so far staid twice once last summer and once last winter. We enjoyed so much that were heading back in June and we can't wait!!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Rooms smaller and not nearly as nice as photos; you would expect great views - not the case - some rooms actually have no view at all and look into another part of the building. Decoration seems to be from late 70's - not 4 star quality but you do have the 4 star price ! The worst is the attitude of the personnel. As this is only hotel at the pass, they have developed a very poor attitude and could care less if your are a guest or not. Worse experience at reception I've ever had.
It would be better to stay away from this expensive, industrial, 70's style spot. Seek out the villages in the area that have smaller, friendlier places that are better value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bonnabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonnabel

Address: Col du Lautaret, O5220 Le Monetier-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Le Monetier-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Le Monetier-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonnabel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bonnabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonnabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.