We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times gone by - but full of charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau D'Ayres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau D'Ayres to your Saves list
Chateau D'Ayres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayres, 48150 Meyrueis, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Meyrueis
Normandy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Times gone by - but full of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I can only endorse the views of other travellers that this chateau is a little in the past. This in itself is not a bad thing and it's faded grandeur is delightful. The rooms are a little tired and the bathrooms small for this rating but spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. We visited at a cold time of year and although the heating in the bedrooms was perfectly adequate the heating and open fires in the receptions rooms could not cope with minus temperatures outside. The owners and staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. We had good dinners both nights and the breakfasts were excellent. A tad overpriced for the star rating in winter but I am sure in summer it would be an ideal quiet haven,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    64
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
106
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting the Cevennes area with friends (as part of a larger tour in France).Sadly, the attractiveness of the hotel (particularly the grand stone stairway) did not compensate for the inadequacy of the service. The restaurant service was prize-winningly poor. On our first night, we got an amuse bouche within about 10 mins of rocking up and the wine was delivered pretty promptly (though it took the waitress 4 requests and 15 minutes to actually provide a glass!). Then we waited an hour for the starters and the mains still hadn't showed up over an hour after that. When they arrived the mains were inedible - the duck was dried up and saltly and the lamb (ordered a point) was raw. The place was pretty busy and we suspect that, being a Monday, too busy for the kitchen staff. We doubt there was an actual chef on duty and the waiting staff all seemed to be amateurs. Other guests were also waiting a long time but we seemed to be faring worse than most of them

The boss (we think, le patron) showed up when we demanded to see the maitre'd and was apologetic but offered no explanation or real compensation.. When we and our friends went to settle our bills a day or so later, we were amazed to find they wanted to charge the full price of that meal. When challenged, the staff said 'but you had a glass of champagne!". It's true that we had accepted an offer of a free glass of bubbly the following evening but no-one could sensibly believe that this was compensation for the debacle the night before.

Breakfast was better but getting any service for anything depended on you being able to track down a member of staff. There was no bar so getting a drink was particularly challenging made more so by the large number of small sitting rooms which comprised most of the public area.

For our second evening, we went down into Meyrueis (10 minute walk) where there were several hotels and restaurants in one of which, a logis, we had a very good meal served efficiently and with good humour in a convivial, if much less glamorous, atmosphere.

So, a very attractive building with well appointed bedrooms. Very nice grounds with a pool (for lounging around though, not really big enough to swim in). It is set in a beautiful area - well worth a visit. Hotel was a bit too far out of the town for comfort and the route up to it was narrow and windey.

We might have caught them on an off-day but if I went back to the area, I'd stay in one of the Logis

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for one night on the way to Provence. Yes, the rooms could use a bit of a update but overall I enjoyed my stay. My room was fairly large with a large bed, table and chairs and plenty of "walking around" room. The bathroom was older but fully functional. Everything was clean. We ate dinner seated outdoors, so yes there is still al fresco dining. The food was quite good and there was a decent choice of wine. Agree that some of the young servers could use more experience but we had no real issues with them. The chef/owner was very friendly and welcoming. I would return to this chateau if I were in the area again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Elegant and imposing chateau with comfortable rooms and goodm car parking. The food is good but brush up on the French language as English is spoken only most reluctantly. A 15 minute stroll into the town is worthwhile as there is a wide choice of reasonably priced restaurants as a change from the overly formal but at times quite amateurish service at dinner. For example, our young waitress had no idea how to open a bottle of wine and clearly had never been instructed on the etiquette of serving wine - she simply popped opened the cork and filled up the glasses. It was also unforgiveable for her to stand over my partner waiting to take his plate while he finished his last few mouthfuls.

I would probably go back to stay if I was in the area - the staff training might be complete by then!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We last stayed here for three nights in mid June. Good things are the location and the swimming pool, though that had a broken pool light and showed neglect.
Sadly the hotel has deteriorated since our last visit in 2004. Our Grand Confort room had a shabby toilet and broken shower. A previous joy had been the alfresco dining and although it still features in the promotional literature it has stopped.
The dining experience is unacceptable. We were assigned a corner table with a piped music speaker by one’s ear and a spotlight in one’s face. A cable stretched across the chair space, and the table lamp was badly scorched.
On all three nights the food was unacceptable at this price level. One main course dish was a tasteless white fish described as “crumble”. Another night a dish described as lamb with chestnut purée had very tough gristly lamb and a purée tasting like a mouthful of flour (€51 menu).
The €32 wines were very rough. Our kir aperitifs were served warm. Two wine glasses were badly chipped as was an entrée dish.
The dining room atmosphere was sombre with little in the way of lightness, brightness or enthusiasm from staff.
Breakfast is reasonable but grossly over-priced – mass market orange juice, no fruit salad, coffee machine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The Chateau is situated in a beautiful region of France.On our arrival it was obvious that it had long passed it's old grandeur.
However it was delightful as it has an appeal that envelopes you as you wander through the reception rooms and the gardens.The bedroom was large and needed refurbishment as did the bathroom.The staff were obliging and most helpful.
The dining room was a surprise as it had an ambience and the food was excellent.The wine list although small had some good wines available.It is waiting to be totally refurbished to bring it up to 4 or 5 star standard.Perhaps the charm will be lost-I hope not and will remember it fondly.
Donald Boden

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

On arrival, first impressions are of a slightly dilapidated building, which has 'seen better days' ; the grounds of the chateau are heavily wooded and arriving on a wet day did not help.
Our room (Millefleur) which was on the second floor, although supposedly a superior room,iwas quite cosy but rather disappointing; the bathroom was small with a midget sized bath.
The lounges were furnished with shabby chic period furniture, a photograph on the mantlepiece, of General de Gaulle visiting the chateau harkened back to its more illustrious days. That being said the lounges were comfortable and we were pleased to have facilities available, (table football, table tennis and a large television lounge with welcoming log fire), to pass the time while it was raining.
The dining room with its vast stone fireplace was very dramatic, with splendid candelabra enhancing the atmosphere. The food was excellent and wines reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and gave the impression of having originally been 'servant acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau D'Ayres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Ayres

Address: Ayres, 48150 Meyrueis, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Lozere > Meyrueis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Meyrueis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Ayres 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau D'Ayres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau D'Ayres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.