We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 rue de la Liberation, 72540 Loue, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loue
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel-Restaurant Ricordeau again last month on our way to south-west France. It was a lovely way to start the holiday with a nice quiet room and super food. Its becoming a bit of a habit-long may it continue !!

Room Tip: They have a nice outdoor swimming pool if you fancy a dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
58
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for a night en route from the Alps to Roscoff. The hotel is in Loue not far from the A81 near Le Mans. It is a lovely building and looks quite grand at first sight. The staff were welcoming and we were quickly settled into our rooms for a quick turnaround before dinner. The rooms were large, well-decorated and comfortable. Although I had a moment of nostalgia for the floral wallpaper that dominated a few decades ago, including on the ceiling in one rather bizarre place.

The restaurant is a beautiful room, spacious and elegant. I went for the house cocktail, which was delicious and all came with a generous plate of tasty nibbles including oysters. There was another 'free ' course of delicious soup. For mains we went for local chicken - I twigged where I had seen the town's name before, I think it is the centre of free-range poultry-farming - and dorade. The food was really good, as was the wine.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with lots of choice of breads, cakes, fruit, meats and cheese. The range of homemade jams was vast too.

So an excellent choice. My first idea was to go into a larger city, stay in a cheap chain and find a good restaurant. However, the Ricordeau was a much better option in terms of price, value and convenience. Somehow the cheaper chains never seem to be as cheap as I think they should be to compensate for a view of the motorway or whatever. Will return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern, Luzern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding and it was the right decision! Amazingly beautiful garden as if it was created for an aperitif and photo shot, a charming restaurant with delicious food and great service, comfortable rooms for guests, all these made us to choose this hotel. Moreover, in addition to the one described, we got a huge help in organizing of our celebration from the hotel directors Anne-Cécile and Ludovic Deschamps. We were helped in developing a personal menu that met all our food preferences, and has overcome our expectations. Organization and service of our event was to provide the highest level, so we could only enjoy the atmosphere, created by the hotel personnel to meet customer needs, such as providing a cot and a baby chair and developing vegetarian menu for some guests. I note that all of our needs were met with enthusiasm and were embodied in the best possible way. So we had a wedding of which we could only dream and we were able to avoid any hassle, which were carefully taken by the hotel directors. Very important is to mention that the price we have paid was reasonable, compare to some other offers we met, before we have found this hotel. And the joy we have experienced is priceless! I express my gratitude to Anne-Cécile and Ludovic Deschamps and all staff of the hotel for the holiday, which they arranged for us on our wedding day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

On 31st August our touring group of British cyclists (22) arrived in Loue for a 5-day stay. We held our official group dinner at Hotel Ricordeau where a few members of the group where staying. We enjoyed a delightful evening which started with aperitif in the garden and continued with dinner in the private Empire dining room. Mme Deschamps had suggested a gourmet menu which was delicious and a good representation of a classic French dinner. Alterations to the menu because of medical dietary requirements of two cyclists were accepted and dishes adjusted without fuss. The efficient service ensured the success of the evening which was truly enjoyed by all. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the welcoming and charming Mr. & Mme Deschamps, the owners, who are efficiently managing this peaceful haven.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled from Calais at 8am on a journey that first started in WW1. My wifes great uncle died in France in 1916. We went to Brigade HQ in Brecon and found where he was buried, it turned out he died in the Somme. We went to France and after driving for 2 hours eventually found the grave. By 5pm we were both tired as we still had to travel to the Vendee, we found ourselves in a little village called Loue. This lovely little village had a privately owned Chateau. Our hosts booked this restaurant for us.
This used to have a michellan star or two. We had a wonderful meal, each course was explained to us by the waiter. We both had the Menu Decouverte for E39.
If you ever come across this sleepy hamlet of France please visit there.
They explained Loue was famous for free range eggs, chickens and ducks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry,England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

After a fraught and exhausting 330 mile journey from SW France this hotel was exactly want our family needed. We took two en suite rooms which were large and very comfortable. The extensive garden at the rear of the hotel is an absolute delight, a peaceful, secluded haven with a beautiful array of plants and shrubs. At the bottom of the garden the Vegre River flows lazily by, we watched a delightful display of Swallows skimming the water from the wooden bridge that spans the river here. There is a very clean swimming pool for those wanting a more active type of relaxation. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a luxurious evening meal on the garden terrace. We only had a one night stay here and we were sad to be leaving this lovely place so soon.Check out was normally by noon but when I explained to the manager that my 82 y.o. father was still quite fatigued by the previous days journey he let him rest in his room for as long as required, we eventually checked out at 3.30pm. We were so taken with this place that we fully intend to visit for a longer stay next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribudeschamps, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the very nice message you left.
We printed it for the whole staff to read it.
It is very important for them to be motivated by clients satisfaction.

It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we are happy you relaxed before leaving.

Looking forward to receiving you next year!

Sincères salutations,
Anne-cécile et Ludovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

After a long journey we received a warm welcome. The hotel and grounds were lovely and very comfortable. We had also a great dinner in the restaurant, although we'd been hoping the bistro may be open for something less formal. However we didn't make breakfast due to needing more sleep, and there was no where in Loue open to sit down and eat before 12pm, which was a shame. We did have coffee in the bar next door however and a lovely cake from the patisserie. Overall a good stay and a real shame it wasn't warm enough to use the pool.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the garden & pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau

Address: 13 rue de la Liberation, 72540 Loue, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Loue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House is conviently located between Paris and Brittany, in the Nothern Loire Valley. Formerly a 19th century coach house, it offers spacious and confortable rooms in a charming atmosphere with nature as a backdrop. The restaurant is famed in the region for generations. Step into this guest extablishment infused with history and featuring hospitality at its finest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau France/Loue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.