We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Treyne

Save Saved
You added Chateau de la Treyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chateau de la Treyne
Relais&Chateaux | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lacave
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It is highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you want to indulge one day in a special castle situated on a high cliff overlooking the Dordogne, this is the place for you.
the rooms are decorated and special
The hotel has a gourmet restaurant with a chef prepares delicious food
The castle is surrounded by gardens with fountains, Toads croaking, flowers and we enjoyed walking around
The hotel also has a private forest where you can go and reach another castle belonging to them a half hour walking
Stunning floral arrangements are picked from the garden and at the
Breakfast is very good
Nice team
The castle is located in a Agricultural area near GROTTE DE LACAVE and half hour from Rocamandor
In short: a real experience, not cheap at all but Affordable

Glad if I helped someone to decide

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with other people. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again. stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    22
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
116
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so fortunate to be able to book a room on short notice, and it has been the unexpected highlight of our visit to France. Nothing we say here can adequately convey how wonderful every aspect of this special place is, from the beautiful grounds, impeccable service, staff that are helpful and welcoming, and food that is simply amazing. The owner took the time at dinner to visit with guests, making us feel right at home. At dinner (which is not to be missed if you stay here), the staff used a mix of humor and helpfulness to allow us to fully enjoy the wonderful cuisine and wine. For anyone from the US that dreams of a chance to enjoy the beauty, food, and history of France, a stay at Chateau de la Treyne is a must. We look forward to someday returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and kind review. Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de la Treyne. I will not forget to share your kind comments with all my team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just spent one night here while travelling around the Dordogne region and this hotel is definitely worth checking out if you are looking to stay in a storybook French Chateau. As soon as you pull into the magnificent driveway, lined either side with huge yellow tulips, you know you are in for something special.
The greeting and service from the front of house staff was first class. After being shown to our spacious room, complete with 4 poster bed, chaise lounge and complimentary water and snacks, we were invited on to the terrace overlooking the river for an aperitif.
The views over the river and the valley are stunning and after a drink we were brought into the ancient dining room for a dinner that we will not soon forget.
After dinner we were led into the drawing room where we enjoyed coffee and petit fours in front of the large open fire which perfectly finished off a truly memorable evening.
I am loathe to complain about anything in this hotel as I enjoyed it so much but if I really was being fussy then the lack of a proper shower in the bathroom was a minor issue. They just had a hand shower with nowhere to attach it to the wall so you have to hold it over your head.
Apart from that this place is really special and if you are looking to treat yourself or a loved one to a fairytale french experience then you can't go far wrong here.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have showers. Some just have a bath and handheld shower attachment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful comment. We have 16 rooms, in 5 rooms we only have bathtub and in 11 rooms we have bathtub and seperate shower. We always sent confirmation to our guests and we confirm if it is bathroom with bathtub or bathroom with bathtub and shower. If there is any problem for you, please let us know for your next stay, and we try to change the room for you. Thank you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have spent 5 magnificent days at Chateau de la Treyne in the Dordogne Valley. From the moment we entered the Chateau, the service was exquisite! We were taken care of as if we were guests in someone's home for the week. Coralie began helping us, even before our visit. She arranged tickets for us to Lasceaux II caves. We received expert advise on sites to visit, complete with very detailed directions. Our every request was met with a smile and graciousness. We have stayed in many fine Relais Chateaux, but Treyne was certainly one of the best. We would not hesitate to recommend this elegant Chateau and the wonderful staff to anyone who wishes to visit the Dordogne region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment. It is always a pleasure to see when guests enjoyed their stay in our house. Coralie was delighted to read that you appreciated her help. Hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rignac, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I live in a small and simple farming village near Rocamadour. In summer, I rent out my stone cottage and tell my guests that if they really want a magical and very special experience, to treat themselves to a meal at La Treyne. I have now been several times. A cousin had his 60th birthday dinner there and other friends celebrated their marriage. Even though I roll up in my 2CV, I am greeted like royalty. It's friendly and welcoming and not at all stuffy. Lunch is less expensive, but a glass of champagne with a platter of exquisite hors d'oeuvres on the terrace overlooking the Dordogne, warmed by the golden rays of the setting sun, cannot be surpassed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment. Sometimes clients arrived by canoe and of course we make no difference between them and other guests. So 2CV is fine and a lot of fun. Thank you for sending us clients from your home. Of course guests can just take lunch (first menu is at 48 Euros) or dinner, without staying at the hotel. We are always happy to share our passion for this unique place. Hope to see you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Remy de Provence
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a special treat to ourselves after a busy season running a B&B in Provence. We booked the Cardinal room at the top of the tower which was magical with its ancient timbered ceiling and birds-eye view of the formal garden and river. The restaurant surpassed all our high expectations; the staff and service was everything one would expect. We cannot think of a more fabulous place to stay in the Dordogne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comment ! We are always very happy to see when our clients enjoyed. Yhe "Cardinal" room is in the top of the tower from the XIV century, I like this small room very much too, the view is amazing ! Thank you very much and hope to welcome you again ! stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hana maui
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Gorgeous location, great service , fabulous food, stunning architecture. A magical, unforgettable
Hotel in one of the loveliest parts of France. My room was called soleil levant and was large and comfortable with an exquisitly painted vaulted ceiling and a view of the garden. This hotel is in an old castle perched above the river. It has been renovated with every modern convenience while retaining its historical integrity and charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for nice comment. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at Chateau de la Treyne. Hope to see you for another stay. Best regards. stephanie gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac
Address: Relais&Chateaux | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lacave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Treyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.