We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular on the terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Treyne

Chateau de la Treyne
Chateau de la Treyne, 46200 Lacave, France
33 5 65 27 60 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Lacave
Price range: $54 - $112
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
Good for: Special occasions
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“spectacular on the terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The terrace was great. food was wonderful, but if you stay and eat there for more than one night, menu is limited.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The very best you can eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This restaurant was so good, I just loved everything I ate both nights without a doubt. My husband and I moaned through our meals and just laughed at how much we were enjoying the pleasure of food!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
616 reviews 616 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“the food is a good as you can get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

everything was fresh, cooked to perfection and the ambiance was just awesome - wish I could live here

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stunning location and amazing food although at a price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We wanted a special meal for our honeymoon and this seemed like an amazing location with the terrace overlooking the dordogne river. We had the "chef's lunch", which still felt quite pricey at 48 euros but this is a Michelin starred restaurant! An amuse bouche of chilled asparagus soup was a lovely start to the meal. We were offered a choice of breads before every course - and these were some of the best breads we had in France. The starter was langoustines with a mushroom sauce and pea puree - it was incredible! The main of chicken with Foie Gras and fondant potato was very good - although perhaps lacking in vegetables. Dessert of a lemon meringue pie was the highlight - this was no ordinary lemon meringue - the pastry was the best we have ever had and the whole dish was stunning to look at and eat. We got some nice little treats with our coffee and tea - but at 4.50 euros each we would have expected this! Wine was lovely.
Service got off to a poor start as we were left with our menus waiting to make any sort of order for drinks or food for over 15 minutes as the waiters served others around us who had arrived after we did! However, they did apologise and improved vastly by the end of the meal, with a friendly and good humoured approach.
We would definitely return and would love to go for the more sophisticated tasting menus although we may have to start saving up now for that!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way....cocktails on the terrace...world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the minute you arrive the views and service encourage you to relax and await a gastronomic delight.....!!!
Every course is perfect...and the setting above the river is something that does not have a price.
Try the cheese board....and coffee is perfect.
Service is good and efficient yet relaxed and not stuffy.....the head waiting does a fine job to make you feel at home.
A great evening ...it's not inexpensive but not overpriced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de la Treyne also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Treyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.