We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover but smallish Bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Saint Leger, 10200 Dolancourt, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolancourt
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great Stopover but smallish Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The reception ,Restaurant, ambience and swimming Pool and Grounds are very good.

The hotel is based around an old Water Mill and there are large windows in the Restaurant that overlook the small river and the Waterwheel.

The staff are friendly and helpfull and one feels comfortable with the surroundings and the whole experience.

Our only negative comment would be that the Double bed was lacking in width. I think it was a 140cm bed whereas the normal width would be a 160cm or many Hotels have 2 singles zipped together to form a King size Bed.

The quality of the food in the Restaurant was very good and the prices were in line with expectations.

Certainly a place we would return to and even the racket from the TGV on the adjacent railway would not deter us !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    13
    15
    3
See reviews for
13
84
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Lovely hotel, the room was very clean, the bathroom was also very clean and modern, good shower. The room we were in (Number 4) was more than acceptable, ok the decor was not to our taste but otherwise lovely. The staff could not be more helpful. Food was "ok". Yes there is a high speed rail link nearby but this really was not an intusion and not something we noticed. I noticed someone commented on the amount of steps to the reception, yes there are steps, but not many. So would I stay there again - Definately.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Great location for overnight stop through France for UK bound travellers. Nice gardens, clean rooms and a great restaurant overlooking the mill wheel. Food good, slightly over fussy in presentation, but good menu.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed two nights whilst on motoring holiday in France and found it a very relaxing stay. The room was clean with a well equipped bathroom. Our only complaint was the rather scruffy balcony which let down the exterior of the hotel, although we did have a nice view of the garden . We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant overlooking the old waterwheel which was in good working order. Unlike previous reviewers we found the food to be very good and the service from the young staff was both friendly and efficient.
It is perfectly true that a railway line runs behind the hotel but in our two days stay the trains were very infrequent and did not constitute a problem. We were more concerned about the proximity of 'Nigloland' (a minature version of Disneyland), but this did close down at 10pm each evening! The hotel was very good value for money and we would recommend it .

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — The balcony
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

Stopped here for one night on way back to Calais having consulted the Chateau & Hotels of France Guide. The Moulin is in a rural area and a long detour off the motorway but we found it without problem. As another reviewer has commented, the reception area is reached by climbing several steps which is not easy when carting a heavy suitcase. We arrived shortly after 16:00 and are car was the only one in the rather dusty car park.
Reception is a small desk area and we were checked in with no welcome or offer of assistance. Our room was a long way from reception and reached by negotiating several flights of stairs. The room was basic and the window was a metal framed single glass unit with a door opening onto a small balcony with dirty plastic chairs and table. The room though basic was clean and tidy. We dined along with several other travellers that evening and the food was very average served with little charm or attention. Breakfast the following morning was really basic even for a country inn. Oh and did I mention the hotel is close to a high speed rail line with trains trroughout the night. Not recommended
at any price.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The food and lack of ambiance.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We spent one night here. There are many steps up to the reception, which is not mentioned in their publicity. This is important as I need sticks to walk and my husband was also using a cane at the time as he had hurt his knee. No help was offered with our suitcases and we were simply pointed to our room. No welcome at all!
The room was fine, well-decorated and comfortable, if rather small.
We thought dinner, the 30 euro Menu Terroir, was overpriced and not awfully good, although the strawberry soup was delicious. Again, no warmth in the welcome:it was strictly a busines transaction.
Breakfast was alright but my hot chocolate was barely warm and the powder was largely undissolved in the bottom of the cup (no pot brought). No word spoken by the waitress.
No interest shown when I complained as I paid the bill and the only help we got with taking our luggage down was from another guest.
We shall not return!

  • Liked — Pleasant decoration of the room
  • Disliked — Total lack of service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion

Address: 5 Rue Saint Leger, 10200 Dolancourt, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Aube > Dolancourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolancourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around 40 kilometres from Troyes, this former eighteenth-century water mill, which has been entirely renovated, welcomes you to its authentic and relaxing setting. Use the “Aqualis” space at your leisure and your pace; enjoy the hydro massage bath, the Finnish spruce sauna and the multi-experience shower in order to awaken your senses. The dining room overlooks the river where the water wheel, which still works, is a real attraction. The rooms are all comfortably equipped and have private balconies that open up onto the wooded park of Landion. In winter, gather with your friends or family in the convivial atmosphere around the fireplace in the lounge bar; in summer, the riverside terrace or the garden and its heated swimming-pool provide places to relax in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel*** Restaurant Le Moulin Du Landion Hotel Dolancourt
Moulin Du Landion Dolancourt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.