We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montemar Review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Montemar Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hi! Montemar Apartamentos to your Saves list
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Kilimanjaro, 15, 07849 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Montemar Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have just returned from the Montemar and although we had a great 10 days away, there were a few problems. The hotel was overbooked and we had to spend the first night at an apartment in Cala Llonga which was tiny and very noisy.

There were a few ants but they weren't really a problem.

The lack of air conditioning was more of a problem for us - our fault as we knew when we booked it that there wasn't any. However, we had a very hot week! The ceiling fan wasn't very effective but we bought a fan for 16 euros which cured the problem a bit.

The only other downside was the rules at the pool. No lilos, inflatables were allowed which was a little disappointing. However, it was good to have a life guard to keep the children safe.

The rooms were cleaned every other day, with clean towels and the beds were changed once in the ten days which was fine.

We were given an apartment in A Block at the Montemar which was great. Not too many steps to climb and we could see the bench near Reception where many of the children congregated. Our son is 8 and was really pleased to have some independence but we could see him from our balcony.

The entertainment staff were brilliant with both the adults and children. They were short staffed and worked really hard but were always friendly and cheerful. The African Footprints show was fantastic!!

We had a good time, but not sure we'd go back - mainly because of the lack of A/C and the no inflatables in the pool rule.

  • Liked — Entertainment staff
  • Disliked — Pool rules and possibility of hundreds of steps to climb, depending which apartment you are allocated.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    84
    72
    40
    36
See reviews for
138
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

just got back last night from the montemar apts. i felt i had to let the people know what to expect. after reading previous reviews about damp, ants, creepy crawlies, bad cleaning etc...i was pleasantly suprised by the apartments, we travelled with our 3 youngest (9,11,15) and had no problem checking in (just as well the lad showed us the location of the apartment, block I incidentally, because the map he gave me was poor !), the apartments are set up a bloody big hill and it is a big set of apartments, however the residents do respect others and their seems to be a bit of mutual respect flying around, which is good.entertainment is a bit 'butlins', but at least they try and it is okay (listen out for the dutch guys english at times it is so funny, i always thought the 70's pop group were called 'village people not willage people, at times it gets a bit like the monty python sketch asking to 'free rodney !' -i'm sure people wind him up on purpose). cleaning isn't great, but if you see a cleaner just ask . now the bad part, the hill/s are too steep, you are knackered by the time youv'e reached the top- get a taxi 3-4 euro max. but the montemar is worth a visit, just save 4 euros a day up to get back.

  • Liked — the pool was superb and very easy feel to the place.
  • Disliked — the hill/s on the way back up to the montemar were far too steep, get a taxi !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Helens
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

The review written by FUNINTHESUN42 pretty much sums up Montemar apartments. We stayed in block M which was up 150 steps!! The apartment was tiny and the smell was unbearable. The shower didn't work properly and the toilet didn't flush. However we were lucky and didn't see any ants. Although we did hear about them from other peolple staying in the Montemar. Reading the other reviews it sounds like it depends on which block of apartments you stay in as to the quality of the room. Along with 3 other couples we opted for the 120 euroes to move hotels!! Money well spent...We moved to the Coral Beach hotel in Escana which was like pure luxury compared to the montemar and we had a fantastic time.

  • Liked — pool area- clean and large pool area
  • Disliked — the apartmentt
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Appts quite spacious, set in beautiful scenery, not suitable for the less mobile. We were not all inc. and found the drinks at the pool bar expensive. Enquired about all inc. and found the deal offered was not as good as previous hols of the same rating. It is best to hire a car and found that this worked out not that much more than the transfer fee for all of us for the week to get around the island. Saying that Cala Llonga was one of the best beaches for cleanliness and services. Eating out in the resort is very reasonable and the food good. We recommend the Cala Llonga Beach Rest. - Scampi was lovely and the staff very welcoming. The next town Santa Eul. great to eat out ,lots of restaurants and choice, good value too.Only a few minutes away by car/bus. Wouldn't hurry back to the Montemar but instead try newer appts closer to the resort. Found the bathroom and kitchen tired and dated. Saying that it met our needs. Ants not a problem in the higher apparts.

  • Liked — the scenery/views
  • Disliked — cleanliness, dated appts, prices at the bar
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

after reading the reviews about montemar in ibiza we didnt really know what to expect. but when we got there we were checked in straight away and the rooms we got were massive we stayed there for 14 nights all inclusive and all of us loved it. the entertainers were brilliant with the adults and children if you go you must start talking to them as there ace. the only bad point about the holiday were the hills but they wasnt that bad when you'd done it once then it got easier. i would defenalty go to the montemar again and r thinking about going nxt year. so if your looking for a fun holiday ignore the bad reviews we did.

  • Liked — the entertainers, the bar staff and rooms were huge
  • Disliked — walking down and up a hill (steep roads)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I read the reviews on here before going , heres my thoughts on the montemar apartments.
BAD POINTS
1. the hill, to say its steep is an understatement, one street is called everest, the other kilimanjaro, says it all really. This is not just a little hilly, this is serious out of breath walking.

2. the ants, yes there are ants and to be expected as your in the middle of a pine forest, a can of ant killer does the job. So come prepared or get a can at the reception desk.If you have a phobia of creepy crawlies dont go as they are everywhere

3. the apartments are only cleaned once a week, my block ( block T) stank of damp and had damp patches on the walls, the smell caught your throat as you walked in, keep your windows open when you in the apartment and the smell goes down a little.

4. no air conditoning in room T5, only a ceiling fan that didnt work properly.

5. Towels changed twice a week if your lucky, not nice. Reception give you towels if you ask, I did and got every day.

6. Stairs to apartments, if you have walking difficulties ask for a room near the pool as the rest are scattered around the complex up and down vast amount of stairs.

7. Sheets are changed once a week, if your there for a week then its tough, no clean sheets.

8. No Snacks after 9.30pm.

9. Watch out for jelly fish at the beach, these are bright red ( more like a burgundy colour) If you stung the lifeguards at the beach have ointment, take vinegar with you , dont let the jellys put you off, the beach is stunning gin clear water and shallow and safe.
10. The sauna and Jacuzzi are broken ( i dont think so , I think they cant be bothered opening it)

11. All entertainment stops at 11.30pm, no drinks after 12 midnight. you can go to cala llonga but the hill puts you off. solution get a taxi only 4 euros, Ibiza town is 20 min away, the buses stop at 8pm cost of a bus is 1 euro 80 cents, a taxi is 25 euro.

12, If you dont like the ants or the smelly rooms it cost 120 euros per person for a transfer to another hotel, a few did this as a lot just couldnt cope with the smell or ants.Some rooms though were smell free, and some didnt have ants(they were lucky)






good points

1. Large Pool with lifeguard on duty.
2. Entertainment satisfactory, the animation team do there best and also bring in shows three times a week. Not Las Vegas but watchable
3. The bar well stocked, including diet drinks and fresh fruit drinks for non drinkers, also fresh coffee and tea always available.
4. The bar staff are really freindly and efficient but be carefull the measures are huge.Javi , Tamara and the two brothers were simply a joy, always smiling an nothing too much trouble.
5.The animation team make the effort to get all involved in silly holiday games, which are fun, we didnt participate but we got a giggle at others.
6.nice and quiet of your looking for relaxation, not for singles or couples looking for a mad ibiza holiday.
7. cala llonga itself is a small resort, with limited shops, mostly selling holiday gifts, there is a tabaconist so you can get your cheap cigs and a couple of supermarkets.The beach is stunning, sunbeds and sunshade brollys cost just 4 euros a day for hire, surrounding the beach are supermarkets , bars and restaurants, very quiet beach, drop off/pick up point for boat trips. A pier is available for fishing, perch like fish easy to catch with bread, the big boys need to be caught with shrimp.

MY TIPS
Cala llonga is stunning id go back tomorrow but not to the montemar, the location was just not suitable for me , nor was the living conditons, despite that I had a good holiday ( thanks to the staff and other holiday makers, who were great fun)and cant grumble really, If you go self catering you can upgrade to half board for 16 euros per day on arrival at reception, all inclusive upgrade costs just 29 euro per day , this must be booked on arrival, well worth it as food and drink is not cheap in this area of ibiza. lunch at the hotel restaurant is 11 euros and dinner is the same, half price for kids, this does not include soft drinks. No checks were made in the restaurant and many self catering folks just used it, and why not, you could actually just walk in the resturant sit down have a meal and walk out, but trust me if your in cala llonga and want a free meal, you have to walk everest to get it!!!! In all a good cheap break, just a shame about the state of the apartments and the creepy crawlies, but your in a forest in a hot climate so its to be expected.The rep told us the cleanest hotel in cala llonga was a hotel called the imperial, ant free and fresh towels and sheets daily.

  • Liked — pool, entertainment, bar, fresh gound coffee, peace and quiet
  • Disliked — location, stairs, hills, unclean apartments, ants, dampness in apartments
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Having a week off work and fancying a nice relaxing break by myself, i decided to stay at the montemar apartment purely as Thomas cook were offering a great deal.

After i booked the holiday, my email confirmation came through advising that new apetments werebeing built next door and there may be some noise (no need to worry about it,they are practically finished and i didnt hear a thing)


Flight:

I flew with Thomas Cook on Wednesday morning, The great thing about the short flight was EVERYnseat had extra leg room, so i could stretch out and have a small sleep.

On arrival at ibiza airport my luggage was delivered very quick (i popped to the bathroom, when i went to the luggage reclaim it was there waiting)

Bus transfer to the resort was quick(about 30 mins).

i was the only person staying at the resort which concerned me at first as, Had i made the right decission?


Check in was easy, i was issued a map on how to find my apartment. i was staying in G09 which was just around the corner from the pool and bar area.

room:

The rom had a small dining table, a breakfast bar, and small self catering kitchen (i was all inclusive so didnt check out all the cooking equipment).
i was thankful for the fridge so i could keep a botle of water chilled etc.

The TV has CNN and eurosport as the only english speaking channels (German MTVsometimes had english programs).

My room had 2 twin beds which were quite comfortable, above the bed is a fan hich could be controlled by a dial next to the bed, my window overlooked the hills and the tennis courts.

The bathroom was clean, and the shower was very powerful (make sure you get the shower curtain positioned correctly or you will soak the entire room!

I had no issues with dirty water,bad smells or ants as some others have mentioned, water was always hot and towels were changed regularly.

Food:
As mentioned in previous posts, you get what you paid for, i paid £330 for a week All inclusive for myself which was the cheapest last minute deal i found!

Breakfast from 830-1030, cold meats etc, then the "traditional english breakfast" of sausage,bacon, beans etc
cereals and pastries

Lunch from 13-15
A varied selection of salads, rice pasta meat and fish.

Dinner 19-2130
Again a varied selection, every night i had an enjoyable meal.

i think if you are there for 2 weeks, you will get a bot bored with the food, but when i go away for 2 weeks i tend to explore and eat out quite a bit anyway!

The bar is served from 1030 til midnight, the bar staff are very friendly and all speak good english.
One of them inparticular will flirt with all the ladies - you will see who i mean when you get there!
the spirtis are local spirits and take a whle to get used to - after a few days you get used to them!

entertainment:
the animation team were GREAT, they are all quite new to the hotel and justbegining to bond together and get their acts sorted.

Nadine, victoria, Vikson, Burray and Ida all work really hard to keep the kids and adults entertained.

the games available include pistol shooting, archery, darts, ping pong, pool etc.

if you win you get a diploma and when you get5 you get a gold medal (its amazing how much you end up craving a medal after you get your first diploma!!!!)

evenig entertainment consists of Booms disco for the kids which is for 1/2 hr getting the kids on stage to play games and dance to some sons, There is the Booms dance which 'i am now expert at!

then you have bingo tickets on sale for 2 euro each. dependong on sales prize is about 414 euro a line an 60 euro for a house.

they issue the diplomas in "Hi news" then there is the eveing entertainement,

Shows included African footprint (4 african goys doing acrobatics - very good!)

a magician (not bad, but can drag a bit - more for the kids)

Fake That - a take that tribut band that got us ll up dancing

On my last night they dod a men Versus Women competition, and i am please to say under my captainship the men won!

I would absoloutely reccomend the hotel, the majority of the crowd were from the
UK, with a misture of french, german, swedish, norwegians and a few spanish.

if you have mobility difficulties as the hotel is high on a hill, and some of the rooms are up some stairs you need to consider if you are going to want to do the beach etc. Ididnt leave the hotel (other than to go to th elocal spar 100 metres away)

if you just want to chill by the pool this is ideal.

Feel free to ask any questions, hope this all makes sense.



Martin

:)

  • Liked — The animation team were amazing, i met so many other fantastic people!
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Montemar Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Montemar Apartamentos

Address: C/ Kilimanjaro, 15, 07849 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Cala Llonga
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cala Llonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Montemar Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic island, white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, romantic sunrises, these are the memories we will take home from this magnificent place. Located on a hill, surrounded by hundred-year old pine trees and a beautiful view of the mountains give the complex an especially relaxing atmosphere. This beautiful holiday complex is located in Cala Llonga, Ibiza, and is 500 metres from a beautiful sandy beach. 29 studio-apartments, 22 one-bedroom apartment and 63 two-bedroom apartments. All with balcony or terrace, equipped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adults pool y another independent pool for children, tennis with extra charge, entertainment program for adults and children with evening shows.I ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hi! Montemar Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos Hotel Cala Llonga
Montemar Ibiza
Apartments Montemar
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos Cala Llonga, Ibiza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Montemar Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.