We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Montemar Apartamentos

Save Saved
You added Hi! Montemar Apartamentos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Kilimanjaro, 15, 07849 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As a group of 3 girls we had a lovely time staying at this hotel. The room was clean and very spacious and had a huge balcony with nice views across the complex and the hills in the distant. The food was tasty and there was a good variety of options at meal times. We were all inclusive and it was great to have our meals made for us everyday. The entertainers, saskia and neus, did a great job, they were so friendly and welcoming and worked long shifts to provide activities for people at the hotel. For the first few days we weren't really interested in doing the activities ourselves but really apprieciated their ability to keep all the children occupied, allowing us adults some quiet relaxation time. we especially enjoyed playing waterpolo and taking part in the man vs woman contest in the evening! Javi the bar man was also extreamly pleasant, and made some great sangria for us!
overall we got a great value holiday and had an class time here and have absolutly no complaints!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, we were lucky in room A1, not too many stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    73
    65
    38
    35
See reviews for
123
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We took our 4 kids aged 10 yrs , 9 yrs 2 yrs & 1 yr.. We arrived at the hotel at 4am. The staff and the security guard on night shift were all lovely. Helped us to carry our bags to our room. Requested 2 cot beds for our little ones and we got them with no problems.Even though when I booked the holiday i requested ground floor apartment but we were still put in H apartments which were still hard with the steps as we had 2 pushchairs. It was not easy going up and down the stairs. We were on All inclusive. The food was lovely , well cooked but a lot so greasy. Lots of varieties and different food to choose on everyday. Only managed to go for breakfast once on the last day which was like every breakfast that you get from anywhere else but i,m glad i did not woke up everyday for it. Good food for kids as well which is a bonus. Not a lot of choices on desserts so it was ice-cream , jelly or fruits every lunch or dinner. But to be honest the food was Not bad at all. The staff were lovely but when you are eating they are watching you so they can get the plates off the table.Feels like they are trying to rush you out of the dining. On bedding I had to ask for bedding and towels to be changed. Cleaner only came once. The rooms are good sizes but the furniture is very out dated and desperate to be replaced. The balcony is a very good size and very nice views. The shower is very very small. They definitely needs to do something about it. I could not wait to come home for a nice scrub.The outside appearance is not very clean. The cleaners seems to ignore the rubbish everywhere. The pool is lovely , big & clean. Lifeguard on duty everyday from 10am-6pm which is good. Entertainment for kids is very good. Thanks to the 2 ladies they work so hard to keep the kids happy by doing different games & entertainments. Our kids enjoyed every bit of it & made new friends. Most of the staff & receptionist are not very good on their English. might be better off using sign language. We checked inn at 4am on Thursday but we had to check out on Wednesday at 11 am which I think is not fair especially when you have little ones and a flight which is at 11-35pm.I had to pay €35 to keep our bags and kids in the room than staying outside until we left around 9pm.About Cala Llonga town. It is not far away from the hotel. It is Only 5 minutes walk going but coming back its on a hill so it takes a little bit longer. Ibiza main town centre is about 15 minutes away. Cost €15 with a taxi. We would not go back to the hotel because of the steps and lastly if you use a buggy , wheelchair or have bad knees this is not a place for you. Overall not bad at all.

Room Tip: Ground floors are too noisey during the day because of the music from the bar and entertainments. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have spent a pleasant week at this complex. We were self catering and had a two bed apartment. As we were self catering we did not really sample the food we did however eat breakfast a couple of times as it was only 6 euros per person. The breakfast was like any other buffet breakfast you would get abroad with a selection of European breakfast with a selection of cold meats, cheese and breads, also there was a hot selection too but the bacon is not English bacon but personally I don't go on holiday and expect all English produce. The pool was lovely and big and our apartment was perfectly adequate for our needs, I know people moan about the décor but you are on holiday and not living in the room or apartment! In my opinion if you don't pay the earth for a holiday don't expect the earth when you get there, the only complaint about the apartments is they don't have air con, but we just slept with the windows open. I think we were lucky about the steps up to our apartment as they were not that many. This hotel is built into the mountain so that is why there are steps. The walk into Cala Llonga is only 5 minutes down the road and the resort is a lovely little bay. There are buses Santa Elauria and a ferry to Es Cana. As we were self catering we out all the time we were only in the complex during the day as we went out every evening. The staff in the resort seemed friendly and all in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hi! Montemar

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with an open mind due to all the good and bad reviews. As 2 families holidaying together we phoned twice to request rooms next to each other and was told yes we would be. However, upon arrival we was told 1, that was no longer possible, and 2, only one room was ready so 1 family had to wait 3 hours until theirs was. We were both given rooms right at the top (m block and l block), 110 steps!!! We are both quite fit families but did find this a real struggle everyday, especially with a buggy.
The rooms are very basic. Balconies are nice and big. Water ran out twice so be quick when showering!! Towels only got changed once and apartments only got cleaned once. In need of a serious update but it's only for a week or so, so you make do.
Pool is fantastic, kids lived in it!! Although it is very deep and even in the shallower end it still came up to my armpits! Baby pool is ok for younger children. Kept clean and tidy although last couple of days we did find plastic cups in the pool that someone obviously couldnt be bothered to put in the bin. The entertainers were ok, but really did work hard at trying to get people and kids involved, so hats of to the 2 girls. Our kids liked them!
The hotel itself is situated at the top of a hill, about a 10 minute walk away from the beach. So going is fine as its downhill but coming back!!! But to be honest we didn't mind it in the evening after stuffing ourselves with dinner!!
Cala llonga is absolutely beautiful. The beach is fantastic and perfect for children, with a play area too. A gentle slope in to the sea, so quite safe for little ones. Be aware of jellyfish though, they all came in to the shore on a cloudy day and my little one got stung 3 times. The lifeguard was brilliant though, cleaning the sting, and as soon as she realized, the jellyfish flag went up. A few restaurants to choose from (flippers was lovely!) and enough shops to have a browse in the evening. While we were there they had a week of fiestas, including fireworks, beach activities, dancing, and a party on the beach one night, which the kids loved with all the music and lights on the beach in the dark!!
Overall it was a lovely holiday, the weather was gorgeous, loved cala llonga but wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I am not a moaner , I'm aware this is a 3 star complex , and I'm happy to stay in basic accommodation but overall this place should be at best 2 star but deserves 1 star !

We were lucky enough to be in block A so not too many steps but my son his girlfriend and 10 month old baby's apartment was right next to sewage that smelt disgusting morning noon and night!

The cleaners are dam right lazy , we had to ask for a change of towels by day 4 because they hadn't been changed , the apartment was cleaned once during our weeks stay and by cleaned I mean they empty the bin and mop the floor with a stinking mop! No bed linen change!

The staff are ok but are not helpful , we asked about go karting and they didn't know where it was!!! Good job they have a small wi fi area!

We went self catering but paid for breakfast and tea once ! Average edible food but not great ! Be aware that if you are SC you don't get an oven just a 2 ring hob and microwave! The local supermarkets are ok for basics but we paid 12 euro each way to go to a bigger one in Santa eluliA which was cheaper !

The pool area is lovely and tbf clean but the entertainment is dire almost non existent except for a couple of girls that entertain the little ones day and night

As I write this , I am sat in the wifi area and cannot wait to get on that plane at 3.05 am tomorrow morning! We arrived early hours Saturday morning yet we had to be out of the room at 11am today , we asked for late check out due to having a ten month old baby with us which they told us on Monday would be fine, but went down to pay 35 euro to keep room only to be told no rooms available !

Cala longa itself is ok, the beach is nice but the town is very small and not a great deal of shops !! Oh and the walk back up is a killer but we were aware of this prior to holiday

Overall not the best, please believe the negative reviews because they are true, this is a honest review , I am not fussy, I knew we would not get 5 star for 3 star prices but I Would NOT recommend this place to anyone and certainly wouldn't come back! Tbf it was made worse by poor weather on some days but even in glorious sunshine we wanted to be elsewhere !

Hey ho here's to booking next years holiday in the Greek isles with a minimum 4 star rating !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked this as we were taking a 12 year old. We got an apartment right at the very top of the complex.....80 steps! We were ok with this but do be aware of this if you are not happy climbing steps!! The complex is in a Pleasant location and looks ok. The staff seemed friendly enough but the information they provided stating the bed linen is changed once and towels 3 times a week was wrong!! They didn't change the bedding at all! The apartment could have been cleaner too! we were aware it wasn't a 4/5star and you get what you pay for.. But did expect it to be properly cleaned!..The pool area was clean as was the pool but DON'T go if you are a couple....too noisy !! Food was .....average....

The complex is walking distance to a lovely beach and cala llonga is lovely..so all in all we had a good holiday but we wouldn't go back to the Montmar again....even with children....sorry!!

Room Tip: If you don't like steps ask for a block lower down but beware of noise from pool area where ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRAWLEY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well if you have young children youll be fine here... lifeguard 10-6, entertainer in the evenings and crap pop music blaring out the speakers all day and all night.
However if you are a young couple I wouldnt recommened it because of the above comments. Drove us nuts! We have kids but didnt have them with us so its not like we hate them but it was like a constant Nickelodian channel.

Breakfast was a good english buffet style but very greasy so stuck to the croissants and boiled eggs.
They made a pack lunch for guests that had paid all inc and were out for the day.
I asked for a towel and the receptionists said no!
Rooms are dated and tireed.
TV channels are all spanish or german rubbish - no music or radio at all.
There was actual blood on the base of the bed - not on the sheets or anything.
Room cleaned every other day.
Generally friendly staff.
Generally a clean hotel - I saw no ants or cockroaches etc. But then we wernt there all that often!
It is up a hill, but after eating and drinking all that rubbish I was gratefull for the effort that was needed to get back!
Security guard at night.
Dont beliee what the receptionists tell you about the buses - she lies!
Area info:
You need a bus to get to Ibiza (Evissa) Town or San Antonio. About 3euros each and about 45 mins BUT coming home at 2am is a bit more tricky - taxi is approx 15-20 euros each way and San Antonio about 30 euros.
The beach is lovely here. Get a boat over to furmentura island - seriously worth it - and rent a bike to get about there.
Restaurants - defo get to EL DESSO - mexicn fusion restaurant at the end of the street round the corner from the bus stop. Great chilled music and atmosphere - no plastic chairs!
Defo go to RESTAURANT SOS - great for Pella
Defo go to FRANKIES for breakfast

Room Tip: They have good double glazing - we were by the pool and still managed a siesta in peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hi! Montemar Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Montemar Apartamentos

Address: C/ Kilimanjaro, 15, 07849 Cala Llonga, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Cala Llonga
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty lodging in Cala Llonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Montemar Apartamentos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic island, white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, romantic sunrises, these are the memories we will take home from this magnificent place. Located on a hill, surrounded by hundred-year old pine trees and a beautiful view of the mountains give the complex an especially relaxing atmosphere. This beautiful holiday complex is located in Cala Llonga, Ibiza, and is 500 metres from a beautiful sandy beach. 29 studio-apartments, 22 one-bedroom apartment and 63 two-bedroom apartments. All with balcony or terrace, equipped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adults pool y another independent pool for children, tennis with extra charge, entertainment program for adults and children with evening shows.I ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hi! Montemar Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos Hotel Cala Llonga
Montemar Ibiza
Apartments Montemar
Hi! Montemar Apartamentos Cala Llonga, Ibiza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Montemar Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.